We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decidedly Average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Ranked #23 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed 10 March 2010

Surely the best thing about this hotel is its location, right next to the Polynesian spa and within easy walking distance of restaurants, shops and information services. The hotel itself wasn't what we expected for the money we paid-the room was ok but nothing special (the tv was pretty old and took up a lot of room!), clean at least. The bathroom was a little below par and could have done with modernising. Decent selection at breakfast although service was a little frosty. It's a shame I can't give it a completely neutral score overall, as this is how we rated it.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wolsten1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,326)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,126 - 1,132 of 1,326 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2010

I attended a conference in Rotorua last week and many of the delegates stayed at the Millennium Hotel in Rotorua. We paid $180NZ per night.

Location was fine. Within a 10 min walk of eat street, the Convention Centre and the Energy Events Centre.

The rooms were fine - a blend of the 60s when it was built and modern duvets, lighting, lounge chairs. Personally, they did not reflect $180 a night. I would have been happier to pay around $120. However, they were clean with the usual amenities. The hotel is huge so it could be quite a walk to your room.

What let it down was the lack of hot water and water pressure. There was one occasion when the water went cold during the shower and never got warm again. It was about 5.15pm. Then again the next morning at 9am, there was no hot water at all. Not even in the basin to wash my face. My colleagues - all in diff parts of the hotel experience the same at different points in our stay. When there was hot water, the shower pressure was minimal. For $180 a night, I expect hot water when I turn the shower on!

The restaurant is handy but overpriced especially for breakfast. The bar is also dear @ $8.50 for a Corona which we got later in town for $7.00 a bottle.

Most people had to park out on the road - not sure about security for the cars? However, mine was ok for the 3 nights it was out on a side road.

I have seen inside the Novotel and the Ibis and would stay there, over the Millennium anytime.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kiwi_karyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2010

I stayed here for 2 days, average hotel, food average, rooms average (small bathroom) and tiny balcony. Word of warning:- I turned up to the restaurant in a pair of jeans and plain top, this resulted in me being banished to the side section of the restaurant; only the people who made an effort in their appearance ready for dining were lavished upon. However, the rooms were clean and the staff were friendly and professional. If you like a glass or two of beer - beware the beer is luke warm (this happened on three ocassions).
I have to mention Caroline the waitress (Irish student), she was professional, friendly and extremely efficient, she knew her stuff, ask for her to wait on your table. The other waiting staff (old man) was snooty.

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sazzas2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2010

Great location next to the lake but remember if you have a problem with Sulphur fumes, it is quite strong here. Hotel seems to be populated by packaged tours. Had a fantastic massage onsite. Ate lunch at the bar which was nice but had dinner out everynight.. nicer to walk around town. Wireless Internet use was pricey but I'm use to it being free... that was annoying. The phone lines also went down one night so we had drama reserving our next hotel.. that too was annoying. Don't like called on mobile which bounces from australia back to NZ at big $ when it should be a local call.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottdamion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2010

My room was a decent size, and quite comfortable for a business traveller with a desk to set up my computer. Didn't try the restaurant as had dinner in town but the location is great to just wander into town to the many restaurants in what they now call Eat Street.
Staff were very friendly and accomodating - rooms were clean, and bed was comfortable. Nothing spectacular, but then also nothing to complain about - it was a pretty standard Millennium chain hotel.

Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
Thank TravelWizMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2010

Hotel is just ok. Rooms are small and a bit tired. Must get used to the sulphur smells that can permeate heavily at times.

Concierge was very helpful and people at the desk were generally very nice and helpful as well.

Buffet breakfast --fair. Restaurant refused to seat us at 8:30pm because they were giving a private party to a NZ band playing in town that night and due to be back at the hotel by 10:30pm. Could not understand the logic in not serving us two hours early...

Hotel was just OK.

Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank earladybon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2010

We spent one night here and found the room excellent value for money. The room looked out onto a courtyard area and was extremely comfortable.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chardSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
736 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
246 reviews
0.3 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#26 of 92 in Rotorua
819 reviews
0.8 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#10 of 92 in Rotorua
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Hotel Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Hotel Rotorua

Address: Corner Eruera & Hinemaru Streets, Rotorua 3040, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#18 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#21 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £90 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Millennium Hotel Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Qualmark rated 4.5 star Resort Hotel with unique architectural design, located across from Polynesian Spa, near shores of Lake Rotorua, government gardens & commercial center. Fantastic facilities including gymnasium, inhouse Dayspa, The Spa, for Beauty & Massage, 2 free hot pools and a private for-hire Spa pool, saunas, 15metre heated swimming pool, Bar Zazu, Restaurant Nikau, Magically Maori Hangi & Concert, Rotorua's only Executive Club Floor with hosted Club Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Millennium Hotel Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rotorua Millennium Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing