We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for exploring Rotorua”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Ranked #19 of 91 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed 11 April 2011

This hotel was in a great location for going out and exploring Rotorua. Parking on site was free and the room was clean and comfortable. Also, we purchased their $80 combo deal from reception that gave us a Maori cultural evening, ride on the SkyRide gondola and luge pass, 30 minute thermal spa and discounts to the hotel restaurant and bar.

Room Tip: Lakeview Rm: definitely worth paying the bit xtra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skubascott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,628)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,188 - 2,194 of 2,628 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2011

You can't beat the Novotel for location; it's right by the pedestrianised area with loads of places to eat and opposite a park and the lake. However, location isn't enough. The rooms are looking really tired now, and our mattress was virtually V shaped. The pillows sank away to nothing too. Worryingly, electrical appliances were well overdue for their test (June and August 2010). Possibly the most telling thing of all was the lack of Feedback cards in the room. We requested that this be emailed to us, but this hasn't happened. We'll be looking at B+Bs for our next weekend away.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpotDot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Accor traveller
Auckland
1
Reviewed 10 April 2011

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Accor traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 8 April 2011

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorna B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Accor traveller
Napier
1
Reviewed 7 April 2011

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Accor traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
FMcKenzie, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2011

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 7 April 2011

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jack39k
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
Auckland
1
Reviewed 7 April 2011

We had a great stay at Novatel Rotorua. The staff were friendly and helpful and had a sense of humour, we felt very comfortable. The food at the buffet dinner and breakfast had a good selection and was fresh, well presented and tasty. The bonus of having a indoor pool and spa meant the children were happy. The location is close to the lake and overlooks the park so a pleasant outlook, which ever room you get. The room we had was a little small for 2 adults and two children but as it was only one night it was ok. Only grump was the shower pressure. A relaxing and fun weekend in Rotorua.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 91 in Rotorua
787 reviews
0.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
2 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#16 of 91 in Rotorua
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Prince's Gate Hotel
Prince's Gate Hotel
#23 of 91 in Rotorua
863 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 91 in Rotorua
291 reviews
1.2 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#10 of 91 in Rotorua
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Rotorua Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Rotorua Lakeside

Address: Lake End Tutanekai Street, Rotorua 3215, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#17 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#22 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#32 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £95 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Rotorua Lakeside 4.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside is ideally situated near the shores of lake Rotorua and withing meters of the CBD and restaurant sector.. The hotel has 199 modern, spacious accommodation rooms, some with stunning lake views, including 11 suites and the prestigious Royal suite. All bedrooms have either a king or two double beds, en-suite with shower over bath, mini bars and safes. Guests also have access to our fully equipped gym, indoor heated pool and geothermal plunge pools. Atlas cafe and restaurant is open all year round, serving guests and visitors from the extensive buffet and ala-carte dining. Our Hotel bar Clarke's is the perfect place to relax and enjoy a drink fireside or catch up with friends over a shared platter on our outdoor courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Novotel Rotorua Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside Hotel Rotorua
Accor Rotorua Lakeside
Rotorua Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing