We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok hotel - staff member let it down.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Ranked #19 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Auckland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ok hotel - staff member let it down.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

We arrived late at night and there had obviously been a clerical error. Our rooms were side by side as expected, however the name on my room was incorrect. Wanting to confirm that this was my room and that I was not taking someone elses before altering details, the attendant appeared irritated and said "that's not your name? Then you have no room tonight"

This was exceptionally rude, unjustified and unexpected from an Accor hotel. No resolution, assistance or further questions were asked until a manager was brought in, at which point further snide remarks were made. Once I finally got in the room - it was clean, and as you'd expect from Accor.

This was not an experience I should have had to deal with...it is unfortunate the first impression on a late night set the tone of the stay. Should it happen again, Accor will no longer be a hotel of choice for me, or anyone in our company.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank engineerJ87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMcKenzie, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Dear Guest

It is always our aim to meet and exceed guest’s expectations, and I wish to express that I was very disappointed to read that we let you down and sincerely apologise for this.

Thank you for your feedback and I certainly hope we have an opportunity to welcome you back to the Novotel Rotorua Lakeside.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    740
    1,040
    451
    125
    36
See reviews for
686
1,079
114
254
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Nelson Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

*In Rotorua CBD
*Reasonable size rooms
*Good food
*Good Service

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GRAHAM P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMcKenzie, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at the Novotel Rotorua Lakeside.
I would further like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your last visit to Rotorua.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

We absolutely loved staying at Novotel Rotorua as the location was most ideal for us. Your on the lake front as well as in the city centre close to all main resturants as well local shopping. The hotel staff were amazing and helpful, the room was perfect for us and we enjoyed our stay so much. We would definately recommend this hotel to our friends and family

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMcKenzie, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.
I am so glad we had an opportunity to host your stay in Rotorua.
It is always our aim to meet and exceed guest’s expectations and I’m glad we succeeded.
Your appreciation of our service and location is very pleasing to read.

We know your recommendation, too, will help guide other travellers who enjoy the same.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
1.4 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#33 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
0.1 mi away
Regent of Rotorua
Regent of Rotorua
#8 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Rotorua Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Rotorua Lakeside

Property: Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Address: Lake End Tutanekai Street, Rotorua 3215, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#17 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#25 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#33 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Rotorua Lakeside 4.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside is ideally situated near the shores of lake Rotorua and withing meters of the CBD and restaurant sector.. The hotel has 199 modern, spacious accommodation rooms, some with stunning lake views, including 11 suites and the prestigious Royal suite. All bedrooms have either a king or two double beds, en-suite with shower over bath, mini bars and safes. Guests also have access to our fully equipped gym, indoor heated pool and geothermal plunge pools. Atlas cafe and restaurant is open all year round, serving guests and visitors from the extensive buffet and ala-carte dining. Our Hotel bar Clarke's is the perfect place to relax and enjoy a drink fireside or catch up with friends over a shared platter on our outdoor courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Rotorua Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside Hotel Rotorua
Accor Rotorua Lakeside
Rotorua Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing