We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Rotorua Lakeside

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Ranked #18 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

Stayed over new year, great location & next to the lake where most of the action was happening. Also next to eats street so plenty of places to eat. Room was a good size & clean, though deccor in room and hotel a little tired. We got the room above the air conditioning extract from the pool area so a little noisy. Lots of free parking avalible which is always a bonus. Nice bar downstairs with a outside area & a happy hour. Good swimming pool, hot pools and sauna. Overall good experiance and value for money but I probably wouldnt stay there again.

Room Tip: Go for a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fairey_queen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMcKenzie, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
Thank you for your review and tips for other travellers. I shall ask the engineering team to look at the pool extractor issue, as I have not seen this mentioned previously, and have popped this note on-file to avoid the same room should you chose to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    734
    1,028
    442
    122
    35
See reviews for
671
1,067
114
253
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

I stayed at the Novotel Rotorua Lakeside while on a business trip earlier this month. There were about half a dozen people checking in at the end of the day (about 6pm) and the check-in staff were efficient and courteous, taking about 5 minutes to work their way through the queue before I was served.

I was given a room on the 5th floor, a corner room with a view of the city and the glimpse of the lake, (if you stretched far enough). The room was well presented, clean and featured a large King-size bed, along with pull-out sofa bed. Upon arrival in the room, I went to read the in-room book about the hotel, services and facilities, but was unable to find it. Finally it occurred to me that it might be through the TV like some other hotels, which was exactly the case - The Novotel's entertainment system features TV, Pay-Per-View movies, as well as information about the hotel along with its messaging system, and a personalised welcome.

The sleep was extremely comfortable, and I enjoyed a good night's sleep. A great feature of the hotel is that it features a thermally-heated pool, albeit a little small, along with 2 hot pool/jacuzzi's, at 37 and 38 degrees, which seemed very popular with the other guests as well. The only issue I had with the room was its lack of power points, with only one spare point near the desk and 2 power points near the tea/coffee making area and minibar.

The hotel's location is excellent, being minutes away from many great local eateries and restaurants, there is no problem finding a bite to eat here - Also nearby is a pizza hut restaurant, which is becoming quite a rarity in New Zealand, be sure to give it a go if you loved it when you were a kid! Next door is also the Matariki Hangi and Maori Cultural Performance, where those visiting Rotorua can experience a bit of a Maori culture and try a hang - A traditional Maori way of cooking food in a earth oven, a must try at least once in New Zealand!

The hotel restaurant/cafe offers an excellent breakfast, with a wide selection of continental options including cereals, breads and jams/spreads, a wide selection of pastries, juices, yoghurts, fresh fruit, cold meats as well as hot options from bacon to scrambled eggs, sausages, hash browns and grilled tomatoes. There is also a range of international options available including congee and noodles, and an onsite chef to cook other items such as omelettes, etc and staff are on hand to serve fresh coffee and tea.

Checkout was quick and easy and ensured that I was on my way within minutes. I would highly recommend this hotel to nearly all travellers, as it provides a good base for those spending time while visiting Rotorua.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi_Globetrotter7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMcKenzie, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
Dear Kiwi-Globetrotter,

Thank you for your considered review. I note your comments regards the on-screen compendium - we have now moved the notification to a more noticeable location, as this seemed to be a recurring theme.

We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuttack
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

this hotel is located in such a place that the market is very near to it.Good resturants are very near to it.The rooms are very clean and equipped with modern amenities.The receptionist staffs and also the other staffs are very cordial.The breakfast buffet is a nice one with fresh fruit juice.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mani-1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMcKenzie, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
Thank you for your kind review - with 6 juice and quite a selection of teas - including Indian specialty tea, there should be something for everyone!

Thank you
Fraser McKenzie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

Really this is a best located hotel,just a walking distance from the lake.I enjoyed my stay here.The rooms are large in size and well equiped with modern amenities The breakfast buffet is a nice one with fresh fruit juice supplied.The staffs are very cooperative.The swimming pool of the hotel is very attractive.I am in a mood to visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rabindra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMcKenzie, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
Thank you for such a great and concise review.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

Really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. Got a good price on the Accor Super Sale and wasnt dissapointed. I would even pay full price to stay here. Great location to restaurants, bars, huge park across the street (Sunday markets) and a great kids play ground. Would stay here again. I hate noise, however didnt hear anything from our room. (We were on the 3rd floor)

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avagraceisace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMcKenzie, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
Wow - what a recommendation - thank you so much. The team really enjoy reading the Trip Advisor comments, and many have noted this one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
1.5 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#20 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#28 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Rotorua Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Rotorua Lakeside

Property: Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Address: Lake End Tutanekai Street, Rotorua 3215, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#16 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#25 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#33 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Rotorua Lakeside 4.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside is ideally situated near the shores of lake Rotorua and withing meters of the CBD and restaurant sector.. The hotel has 199 modern, spacious accommodation rooms, some with stunning lake views, including 11 suites and the prestigious Royal suite. All bedrooms have either a king or two double beds, en-suite with shower over bath, mini bars and safes. Guests also have access to our fully equipped gym, indoor heated pool and geothermal plunge pools. Atlas cafe and restaurant is open all year round, serving guests and visitors from the extensive buffet and ala-carte dining. Our Hotel bar Clarke's is the perfect place to relax and enjoy a drink fireside or catch up with friends over a shared platter on our outdoor courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Novotel Rotorua Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside Hotel Rotorua
Accor Rotorua Lakeside
Rotorua Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing