We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location with great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Ranked #19 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed 27 April 2013

We had a pleasant stay. The hotel is located right by the lake with great views from the room. The is a nice playground to take our kids to. Hotel provides complementary spa, sauna, and swimming pool, which we really enjoyed.

Lastly Kerry did a wonderful job on providing a back massage. Would definitely recommend it.

The changing room at the spa does need some renovation though...

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank jackieweng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol M, Guest Relations at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2013

Thank you very much for your great feedback.

Novotel Rotorua Lakeside is in an unbeatable location and pleased to read that you enjoyed the view from your room.

How wonderful you and your family found time to relax and enjoy our InBalance Spa.

Thanks again and warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,561)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,430 - 1,436 of 2,561 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2013

We (2adults + 2 kids) stayed for six nights. Check-in was easy & quick. Plenty of free parking (although we noticed the car park was pretty full on the Saturday night). Our room had two double beds which were very comfortable. Hotel has a couple of pillow choices (quick delivery to the room if you want a special type). Plenty of room for our luggage without it being in our way. Good sized bathroom with a shower over the bath. Great air-con, handy bar fridge, excellent variety of tea/coffee/hot chocolate. Room was very clean. Great view from our room overlooking the courtyard to the lake. We wanted to check out the hotel info which is usually in a book in the room but couldn't find it - reception advised us all the info is on the TV (which it was). Pool & spa were lovely & the kids enjoyed a swim before dinner most nights. Free wifi in the reception area - there are two computers to access or you can use your own. One thing that really stood out was the friendliness & helpfulness of every single staff member we encountered. Each time we passed through the reception area we were greeted with a hello or how was your day. We had dinner at the restaurant (Asian buffet) & it was excellent. The hotel is across the road from the dining area of the Rotorua CBD which was really handy (walking distance to the shops too). Our stay here was excellent & we'd definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blueysmrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol M, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2013

I have to agree Novotel Rotorua has a perfect location!

Thank you for your detailed and positive review.

It is so pleasing to read our families too enjoy our Hotel and facilities.

Thanks for highlighting our friendly staff, excellent dinner and comfortable beds.

We are looking forward to welcoming you and your family again.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

My wife and I stayed at this excellent property while on tour in Rotorua. Situated Lakeside, it was also adjacent to much of the downtown area. Easy way to anywhere that we wanted to visit. Beautiful room, excellent amenities, comfortable bed and comfortable room. We stayed here as part of a tour of the Rotorua area; unfortunately, the weather was mostly rain, rain and/or rain. However, we were very comfortable in the hotel but did venture out between showers for food and beverages at several of the adjacent restaurants.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank photoguy66degrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol M, Guest Relations at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2013

Thank you for sharing your excellent review!

Yes, I do recall a rather wet April.
Very pleased to read you were comfortable in your room and that you enjoyed our amenities.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Me and my Partner stayed in Novotel Rotorua for one night after travelling. The room allocated 341 was apparently one of the most saught after for the executive queen suite. It suited our needs however with no windows the aircon was the only source of air. The aircon to be honest is non existent and loud at night. the only way to receive a nice cool room is to leave one room card in the power source in the room and have only one key with you when you leave. The bed is one of the comfiest i have ever slept in apart from the Sofitel MyBed. We ate in the restaurant for dinner and breakfast. Full compliments to the dinner service team , especially David- the food and beverage supervisor and the chefs. Food was outstanding and David is an exceptional, valuable ambassador for novotel rotorua. The impression of this service and food left us eager for the same experience the following morning. However, upon arrival we were not aware that there was no breakfast menu cooked by chefs eg eggs benedict etc. Breakfast consists of continetal and cooked breakfast. you choose which you would like out of the two.. the cooked options although a good range, not worth $30. i would expect and be happy to pay $30 for a cooked menu breakfast such as a big breakfast/ menu itemed but not for a buffet. waiters seemed like they were unaware that most tables were missing mise en place or not ensuring that tables were set accordingly. overall i suggest you have breakfast in a cafe nearby the hotel for a better value and price. The spa was absolutely the stand out for the hotel and makes up for the breakfast. the two therapists were exceptional and both my partner and i felt rejuventated and relaxed. Highly reccommend this spa for massages etc. Cant thank them enough for the service and massages provided.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the lake- worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwigirl9319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMcKenzie, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2013

Thank you for your review and great comments regarding the dinner restaurant and the Inbalance Day Spa, I am certain the attendants will read this and feel great! We have just employed a new Restaurant and Bar Manager, and expect to see a great turnaround in the breakfast service in the very short term.

Thank you
Fraser McKenzie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

My husband and I stayed here in February whilst on a 4 week holiday to New Zealand. This hotel has a fabulous location right by Lake Rotorua and adjacent to the Maori concert hall. We paid the extra to have a larger room and lake view, well worth it. The room was well appointed and immaculately clean. Free internet access in the lobby was a bonus. Whilst breakfast in the restaurant appeared to be expensive the food was of excellent quality and variety with a chef preparing eggs/omelettes for you on request where you could see him. We priced breakfast outside but by the time you paid for individual items eg juice, tea and a main course the hotel restaurant actually seemed better value and much more convenient. The hotel is right next door to the Maori concert hall where a typical Maori evening is a must at least once on a trip to NZ.

Room Tip: If you can afford it pay the extra for lake view and larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swisstrekkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol M, Guest Relations at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2013

Thank you very much for your fantastic feedback.

It gives us much pleasure knowing that you enjoyed your stay.
We are delighted that our hospitality has created fond memories of your New Zealand holiday.

I certainly hope we have an opportunity to welcome you back.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Fantastic hotel to stay in, excellent location, brilliant customer service, fantastic food especially the Friday night Mexican buffet and breakfast, comfortable rooms and beds. Walk to the shops and restaurants, parks and easy access to attractions. Loved our stay and we will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Nunngo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol M, Guest Relations at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2013

Thank you for your comments.

Your recommendation is greatly appreciated.
I am glad you too found our Mexican buffet and our breakfast enjoyable.
We are delighted that you have indeed experienced the Novotel Rotorua Lakeside.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Not a Sofitel or Pullman but right up to top Novotel standards and with Advantage Plus membership great value for money. Have stayed here a number of times and the high standard continues. Well located for visitors being in the CBD but near the lake. Recent refurbishment is most successful

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank HaheiPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol M, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

Thank you for your review.

As you have highlighted, our Hotel offers the most convenient of locations.
We appreciate your comments and are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us again.

Looking forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
747 reviews
2 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
894 reviews
0.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#25 of 92 in Rotorua
832 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
256 reviews
7.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Rotorua Marama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Rotorua Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Rotorua Lakeside

Address: Lake End Tutanekai Street, Rotorua 3215, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#17 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#23 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#33 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £102 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Rotorua Lakeside 4.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside is ideally situated near the shores of lake Rotorua and withing meters of the CBD and restaurant sector.. The hotel has 199 modern, spacious accommodation rooms, some with stunning lake views, including 11 suites and the prestigious Royal suite. All bedrooms have either a king or two double beds, en-suite with shower over bath, mini bars and safes. Guests also have access to our fully equipped gym, indoor heated pool and geothermal plunge pools. Atlas cafe and restaurant is open all year round, serving guests and visitors from the extensive buffet and ala-carte dining. Our Hotel bar Clarke's is the perfect place to relax and enjoy a drink fireside or catch up with friends over a shared platter on our outdoor courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Rotorua Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside Hotel Rotorua
Accor Rotorua Lakeside
Rotorua Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing