We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality hotel with great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Ranked #20 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed 9 July 2008

Very comfortable hotel. Check in went very smooth. Staff very helpful. Never had a problem when I needed a cab to get around. Room was very comfy and the beds were nice and soft. I had a great night at the hangi that the hotel puts on every night. The one I had booked at Te Puia was cancelled and they managed to get me in at the last moment to the hotel show. Food was great for the hangi but only so-so for breakfast, the only other meal we took there. Hotel has a great location near shopping and the other endless attractions in Rotorua. Good value for your money, a 4 star hotel that lives up to its billing.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank olympicoscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,523)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,319 - 2,325 of 2,523 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2008

Myself and two teenage teenage daughters stayed at the Hotel for three nights. The room was very Novotel - clean, servicable and well presented.
The location is very handy to town and the check-in staff were approachable and efficient.
The pillows supplied were all dreadful - very lumpy and squashy -but were readily replaced by the lovely house-keeping lady!
We thought the buffet breakfast was great - good variety and served until 10-30am which is handy with teenagers!
However did not think the Saturday seafood buffet dinner was good value at all - $52 each and little variety. King prawns had been frozen and were watery.
The swimming pool area was good - but of course a little smelly from the naturally fed water.
Good idea to double check your account before paying as I had been charged twice for breakfast one day even though I had a bed and breakfast deal and the Hangi and Cultural night that I had booked though the Novotel (as theirs was not operating when we were there) was not charged at all.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mintie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2008

For our first night in New Zealand after flying from the U.S. we booked the Novotel as a "splurge." While it wasn't the top rated hotel on tripadvisor, it was certainly well reviewed. The reputation of the brand also helped in my decision.

While everything was clean and in working order, the room just seemed, not tired, but not well set out. The room and bathroom were quite utilitarian for paying over $150/night. The sheets were quite thin, and the pillows lacked the comfort one would expect at this price range. Also, we traveled during the off-peak start of winter, yet the prices did not reflect this.

The restaurant is sadly overpriced (with the dinner buffet going for over $50, and Friday and Saturday nights saw no main courses that weren't fish.) But, the location for dining is perfect as there are over 30 eating establishments within a 2 to 3 minute walk! For dining and souvenier shopping without using the car, it's perfect!

It's a good hotel, but for the budget traveler, probably not worth the price.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jakey450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2008

My wife and I were here on our honeymoon for 2 nights (no acknowledgment from reception). When we checked in, we did not feel welcome at all. We had lots of luggages but none of the staff at the front desk helped with our luggage. In fact, we struggled with the luggage cart past the front desk without even a look from any of the staff members.
After check in, we went back down to the lobby to try and book tours. However, concierge was no where to be found. Front Desk said they will be back, however, the entire 2 days we were there, we never saw them. We ended up booking all the tours ourselves.

When we checked out, once again, we did not receive any help with our luggages.

Finally, we asked for a king bed but received 2 double beds instead.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank yguns27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2008

This has probably the best position of any hotel in Rotorua - near the lake and town and facing a pleasant green area. It's well worth upgrading to a lake view room. The hotel has stunning, modern decor throughout and our room was clean, spacious and comfortable. The reception staff were friendly and very efficient and there is ample car parking available. The buffet dinner in their Atlas restaurant was great value for money. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank emmandjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2008

I would like to start off by saying that the Novotel is probably one of the best hotels in Rotorua..
Check-in was fast and the person at the counter was friendly..
We were on the second floor up so we had a pretty good view of the city.
The rooms were excellent when we got in..Very clean..Nothing wrong, nothing out of place...EXCELLENT..Free shampoo and conditioners which we eventually just took home :)
The shower cap could have gotten replacing but didn't mind too much..
The TV was excellent! Sony Plasma LCD TV :)
Though the mini-bar was quite expensive..$6.50 for a beer and $3.00 for a can of coke...It was all worth it in the end~
The swimming pool and spas weren't huge but enough for having fun..There weren't alot of people there so it was good for us.
The breakfast buffet wasn't too bad but they could do better to cook a more variety of food for $26 per person...
Overall, this was an excellent selection and recommend to every tourist to Rotorua to book here...

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shj93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2008

Novotels tend to be efficient and comfortable. They never let you down, but neither do they excite. They are a safe harbour. This is true of the one in Rotorua - well situated, nice rooms, decent restaurant. It tends to be busy with coach parties checking in or going out to visit the tedious "culture show". But you can stroll to the lake, or into town, there's plenty of parking, and the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKPeripatetic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
721 reviews
0.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#19 of 92 in Rotorua
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
219 reviews
0.3 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#26 of 92 in Rotorua
806 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#35 of 92 in Rotorua
1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Rotorua Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Rotorua Lakeside

Address: Lake End Tutanekai Street, Rotorua 3215, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#17 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#25 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#33 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £85 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Rotorua Lakeside 4.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside is ideally situated near the shores of lake Rotorua and withing meters of the CBD and restaurant sector.. The hotel has 199 modern, spacious accommodation rooms, some with stunning lake views, including 11 suites and the prestigious Royal suite. All bedrooms have either a king or two double beds, en-suite with shower over bath, mini bars and safes. Guests also have access to our fully equipped gym, indoor heated pool and geothermal plunge pools. Atlas cafe and restaurant is open all year round, serving guests and visitors from the extensive buffet and ala-carte dining. Our Hotel bar Clarke's is the perfect place to relax and enjoy a drink fireside or catch up with friends over a shared platter on our outdoor courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Rotorua Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside Hotel Rotorua
Accor Rotorua Lakeside
Rotorua Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing