We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Ranked #18 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

The hotel is centrally located in Rotorua and right next to the lake. Hotel seems to be newly renovated and well maintained. We stayed in a spacious room with 2 double beds for 1 night with a glimpse of the lake.

There are plenty of parking on the street and within the hotel compound. Check-in was a breeze, can't say the same for check-out. We checked out early at 7.30am expecting it to be fast. But, with the computer system rebooting we waited more than 20 minutes before the frontdesk could start the checkout process. Could have done better by ensuring that there is a manual process or an express checkout option for guests when system is unavailable.

Overall, it was a pleasant stay and highly recommended if you are looking for a hotel in Rotorua.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol M, Guest Relations at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience.

I am so glad we had an opportunity to host your stay in Rotorua.

Your appreciation of our amenities and location is very pleasing to read.
However, I am very sorry about the delay during check-out. I sincerely apologise for that.

Thank you for your recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    739
    1,038
    449
    125
    36
See reviews for
682
1,079
114
254
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 October 2013

This being the first time we have stayed at this hotel, the rooms were very small, and the beds so hard they were uncomfortable, also I did not like the fact that you could not open the windows, we like fresh air rather than having to run the air con.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol M, Guest Relations at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments.

We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing. I am so very sorry we failed in some areas.

We sincerely apologise and hope we have an opportunity to host your next Rotorua stay.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kawerau, New Zealand
Level Contributor
80 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Stayed here with a works do and very happy with the room and facilities available, bar stayed open late after our works do had finished so it was good to catch up with other staff before off to bed, good breakfast available and included in the price.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol M, Guest Relations at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
It’s so great to read how our guests can enjoy the amenities and benefits during their time with us – whether for business or leisure.

Thank you so much for your kind review!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Novotel Rotorua.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Love it when you rock up to the reception to check-in and are told we been upgraded to an executive suite. Finally my Accor membership paid dividends. The suite itself was great - on the top floor over two levels with the best views out onto the lake. Very spacious rooms, Bath fit for royalty and excellent amenities. Room service was prompt and the food was great.
The only downside to our visit was finding a place to park as there happened to be a convention at that time. Had to park on the streets the second day of our stay.
Having said that, we tremendously enjoyed our stay and will definitely stay there again if we are to come back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EnSBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol M, Guest Relations at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Wow, we certainly appreciate your 10/10 review!

Thank you for mentioning your Accor membership and privileges. I am so glad you enjoyed your complimentary upgrade. Fantastic.

Thanks again very much and kind regards to your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
111 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Have stayed at this hotel and Novotels frequently .Like so many properties in Rotorua, there is a desperate need for refurbishment with aging ,tiring plant. The Novotel has kept up maintenance but the service has slipped considerably.Front desk is v good. No Sky movies on the tv as they want you to buy the movies. There is a paucity of information about hotel facilities and PRICES.
They have on screen info instead of an in room compendium.
The room toiletries are limited..no shower hats,sewing kit,vanity kit or shoe shine
The food at the restaurant was a bit bland but when I spied Tattinger on the wine list at $89 I was in!
Alas, various stories..was out of stock,we've got it but it's not cold...10 mins in a nice bucket would have fixed that. The probably truth...it was misprinted so withdrawn and would I like Brancott at $45 ...I don't think so
Then a trip to the bar for a consolation cocktail which took 12 min in a pretty empty bar as 3 staff dealt with an complaint over a bill
It's a real pity to see what was an excellent hotel falling into slackness
The staff are nice so it is clearly a problem of management and staff training and expectation

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol M, Guest Relations at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to convey your comments and detailed review.

There is never an excuse for providing anything less than a perfect stay.
Please be assured that we continually work hard to ensure each stay meets our guest’s expectations.

I am very sorry and disappointed to read that we let you down and sincerely apologise for this.

Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
672 reviews
1.4 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#19 of 93 in Rotorua
792 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#31 of 93 in Rotorua
1,097 reviews
0.1 mi away
Regent of Rotorua
Regent of Rotorua
#7 of 93 in Rotorua
1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Rotorua Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Rotorua Lakeside

Property: Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Address: Lake End Tutanekai Street, Rotorua 3215, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#16 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#25 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#33 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Rotorua Lakeside 4.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside is ideally situated near the shores of lake Rotorua and withing meters of the CBD and restaurant sector.. The hotel has 199 modern, spacious accommodation rooms, some with stunning lake views, including 11 suites and the prestigious Royal suite. All bedrooms have either a king or two double beds, en-suite with shower over bath, mini bars and safes. Guests also have access to our fully equipped gym, indoor heated pool and geothermal plunge pools. Atlas cafe and restaurant is open all year round, serving guests and visitors from the extensive buffet and ala-carte dining. Our Hotel bar Clarke's is the perfect place to relax and enjoy a drink fireside or catch up with friends over a shared platter on our outdoor courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Rotorua Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside Hotel Rotorua
Accor Rotorua Lakeside
Rotorua Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing