We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptionally poor service at checking, getting wifi working and at breakfast.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Ranked #17 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Exceptionally poor service at checking, getting wifi working and at breakfast.”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Some free parking at the front of the hotel and in the road outside. Checkin was a trial as both of our credit cards were declined for no obvious reason - have had absolutely no problems with them anywhere else in New Zealand. Eventually we found a card which worked. The room was ok, with adequate safe for laptop, coffee machine, but the basin plug in the bathroom leaked badly (as in so many hotels, don't any of the employ plumbers?). Dinner in their restaurant was mainly occupied by large groups taking the buffet. We didn't fancy it much and managed to get an a-la-carte menu served, which was ok. Internet access should have been free for Accor Gold Card holders but it wasn't until we complained. On our second night the free wifi didn't work again, so we had to complain again, and it took two long calls to the help desk to sort this out.

Breakfast was also chaotic because of the number of large groups and service was the worst I think I have ever experienced in a hotel in any country - it took 3 explicit requests, and a wait of 15 minutes, before the tray of croissants was replenished. No management overview was evident at any point.

I was tempted to give this an overall rating of "terrible" but the location was ok (not quite lakeside but not far off) and the rooms were ok. If only there was someone managing the place properly.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank astronomer-at-large
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear astronomer-at-large

Thank you for taking the time to the review the property, feedback good or bad is an essential part of our business. Clearly we did not meet you expectations on this occasion and for that I apologize. Rotorua in a high demand tourist destination particularly over the summer season hence the large groups you refer to, however that does not mitigate our responsibility to ensure the service levels required of a Novotel. I will be having a discussion with the rest of the team to ensure that a repeat of this does not occur in the future.

Regards
Ian Shipman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    754
    1,061
    454
    125
    37
See reviews for
691
1,092
117
267
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

The friendly, helpful staff made the stay in Rotorua very pleasant. Location is close to the lake and easy walk to other restaurants and pubs. Breakfast was varied and plentiful . Rooms were nice but nothing special.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BevSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear BevSeattle

Thanks for the positive feedback , your comments are appreciated.

Regards
Ian Shipman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
690 reviews
0.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.0 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#35 of 92 in Rotorua
1,130 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rydges Rotorua
Rydges Rotorua
#46 of 92 in Rotorua
1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Rotorua Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Rotorua Lakeside

Property: Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Address: Lake End Tutanekai Street, Rotorua 3215, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#15 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#25 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#33 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Rotorua Lakeside 4.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside is ideally situated near the shores of lake Rotorua and withing meters of the CBD and restaurant sector.. The hotel has 199 modern, spacious accommodation rooms, some with stunning lake views, including 11 suites and the prestigious Royal suite. All bedrooms have either a king or two double beds, en-suite with shower over bath, mini bars and safes. Guests also have access to our fully equipped gym, indoor heated pool and geothermal plunge pools. Atlas cafe and restaurant is open all year round, serving guests and visitors from the extensive buffet and ala-carte dining. Our Hotel bar Clarke's is the perfect place to relax and enjoy a drink fireside or catch up with friends over a shared platter on our outdoor courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Rotorua Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside Hotel Rotorua
Accor Rotorua Lakeside
Rotorua Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing