We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Ranked #18 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Very nice hotel in a great location. Convenient for everything. Breakfast is good, the rooms are clean and roomy, but a little tired, (refurbishment is due soon), the lobby area has recently been refurbished. Only downside is the free wifi is too slow and too restricted. Like most NZ hotels they need to catch up with their client's needs with respect to wifi.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view, (odd number rooms), and 5th floor is best.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Chris P

Thank you for the taking the time to review your stay with us, guest feedback both the good and the bad is a vital aspect of our business. I am pleased to read that you had a great stay with us and hope the rest of your trip was as memorable.

Regards
Ian Shipman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,495)
There are newer reviews for Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,125 - 1,131 of 2,495 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

I has a small suite was very nice. Amazing bed and wonderful pillows but there were no opening windows which I found very claustrophobic. The air con works well although was pretty noisy. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The restaurant was really good. Would stay again

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Msmolly58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Msmolly58

Thank you for the taking the time to review your stay with us, guest feedback both the good and the bad is a vital aspect of our business. I am pleased to read that you had a great stay with us, with regards to the windows we find that due to the sulphurous smell that is prevalent at times in Rotorua due to the geothermal activity, the most comfortable option for our guests is to seal the windows and rely on air conditioning for ventilation.

Regards
Ian Shipman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Excellent location and friendly. service. The rooms where very clean. The buffet breakfast had a good food selection and was open early to accomodate groups. However the public areas amenities are in need of repair. Lobby seatings are worn and shaby. Carpets need replacement and public wi-fi is not up to demand.

Room Tip: look for a lakeview room
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julo972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Julian S

Thank you for the taking the time to review your stay with us, guest feedback both the good and the bad is a vital aspect of our business. I am pleased to read that you had a great stay with us, we will however look into the aspect of your review that you mentioned in order to improve our product offering.

Regards
Ian Shipman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Great location! The lake and area restaurants are an easy walk from the hotel. I paid to upgrade to a "lake view" room and feel it was worth the extra expense. If you are on a budget, the Ibis Hotel is directly next door, so you get the same great location for less. That said, the Novotel's hallway carpet outside the rooms needs shampooing and the pool area is dark, smelly and unappealing. It needs sliding windows or an openable roof structure to get some light and fresh air in there. All things considered, I would definitely stay here again on my next visit to Rotorua.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a lake-view room. It's worth it.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corena J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Julian S

Thank you for the taking the time to review your stay with us, guest feedback both the good and the bad is a vital aspect of our business. I am pleased to read that you had a great stay with us, we will however look into the aspect of your review that you mentioned in order to improve our product offering.

Regards
Ian Shipman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Went here with 3 of my friends. Hotel has got really nice views and excellent location. A minute walk to best eateries in rotorua. But such a big hotel doesn't have valet parking? Even the air conditioning in the room wasn't good enough. But overall good experience.

If you decide to stay here please make sure u don't go for breakfast in hotel. It was one of the most terrible breakfast buffet I have seen.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Likhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMcKenzie, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear Likhil,

Thank you for your review. While as a 4.5 star Hotel we don't offer valet parking, we do offer free parking for our guests. I have passed your comments on to the Chef as we have been working hard on improving the breakfast, including adding a full Asian breakfast and gluten free range of items, as well as the standard Egg Chef - cook to order omelettes, poached or fried eggs.

Thank you for your comments

Fraser McKenzie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Arrived , and some confusion over our booking, first on this trip, but eventually got booked in.nice big lobby, and free WI-FI for 30 minutes ( if you are lucky) in the lobby. Not sure how hotels allocate rooms ,but we had another lovely view over the car park. Good pick up and collection from the bus station. Very helpful i tourist centre. Did not have any meals at the hotel so unable to comment. Went for Novetel because of its amenities , only to find the Ibis next door , which we believe was cheaper had full use of the Spa at no cost to its guests.!!!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kennynono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Kennynono

Thank you for the taking the time to review your stay with us, guest feedback both the good and the bad is a vital aspect of our business. I am pleased to read that you had a great stay with us, we will however look into the aspect of your review that you mentioned in order to improve our product offering.

Regards
Ian Shipman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

A very modern hotel right at the edge of the Lake with very decent rooms and with a very good spread in breakfast.
Only problem that late night snack/food menu is absolutely restricted. So if you are hungry at night please get your food from the Mc.D just nearby (As you may actually feel hungry around midnight after having the last meal at a restaurant probably by 8PM)!!!!!

Otherwise a wonderful property in such a lovely town like Rotorua. Very well located and worth a stay!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RajaG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear RajaG1

Thank you for the taking the time to review your stay with us, guest feedback both the good and the bad is a vital aspect of our business. I am pleased to read that you had a great stay with us, we will however look into the aspect of your review that you mentioned in order to improve our product offering.

Regards
Ian Shipman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
717 reviews
0.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
206 reviews
1.4 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.1 mi away
Regent of Rotorua
Regent of Rotorua
#8 of 92 in Rotorua
1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Rotorua Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Rotorua Lakeside

Address: Lake End Tutanekai Street, Rotorua 3215, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#16 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#25 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#33 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £93 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Rotorua Lakeside 4.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside is ideally situated near the shores of lake Rotorua and withing meters of the CBD and restaurant sector.. The hotel has 199 modern, spacious accommodation rooms, some with stunning lake views, including 11 suites and the prestigious Royal suite. All bedrooms have either a king or two double beds, en-suite with shower over bath, mini bars and safes. Guests also have access to our fully equipped gym, indoor heated pool and geothermal plunge pools. Atlas cafe and restaurant is open all year round, serving guests and visitors from the extensive buffet and ala-carte dining. Our Hotel bar Clarke's is the perfect place to relax and enjoy a drink fireside or catch up with friends over a shared platter on our outdoor courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Rotorua Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside Hotel Rotorua
Accor Rotorua Lakeside
Rotorua Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing