We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing location and excellent staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Ranked #19 of 91 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed at the Novotel for two nights on our Honeymoon and I don't think we could have picked a better place to stay! We had an excellent view of the lake, and were right next to a street called "Eat Street" that was packed with restaurants.
The hotel surprised us with champagne as a congratulations gift, which was lovely!
The staff were very friendly and helpful. We ordered room service the first night we were there as we arrived late, and it was delicious!
Only thing that wasn't the best was probably the cost of Wi-Fi but with our 2 degrees travel sims we had pretty good mobile data anyway.
Bed was incredibly comfy!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alicia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Alicia E

Thank you for the great review of your stay with us at the Novotel Rotorua, your comments are most appreciated. We are so happy that we contributed to a fantastic honeymoon trip to New Zealand and wish you both all the best. Hoping to see you on an anniversary celebration some time in the future.

Regards
Ian shipman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,604)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,195 - 1,201 of 2,606 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

Novotels are novotels. Generally they are clean, with typical amenities, and a good value. Staffs may be good or not. In this location, the staff were helpful and knowledgable at times and slow other times. Biggest problem in this one was the sulfur smell - it was pervasive all through the hotel from the sulfur beds near the hotel. Really got annoying after awhile. Also, in this day and age it is unbelieveable that wi-fi is poor, or that you have to pay to use it! The lobby had two computers for use but you could only use them for 30 minutes per day, and you had to buy minutes in your room. That's crazy today.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper room that faces the harbor - view is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dreamtraveler4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear dreamtraveler4

Thank you for the review of your stay with us at the Novotel Rotorua, your comments are most appreciated. I am pleased you found our staff to be helpful during your stay. Unfortunately the Sulfur smell is due to the geothermal activity, which is often the draw card for travelers coming to Rotorua in the first instance, it is not always bad however does seem to be more prevalent when there has been rain.

Regards
Ian shipman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We enjoyed our stay here in April. The central location was great and the interconnecting rooms work really well for families. The buffet style breakfast and dinners are also great value if travelling with kids. The spa and pool was a welcome addition. The wifi was too expensive - something that should be free these days. Otherwise I would recommend this hotel and would be happy to return here again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank peta-tweeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear peta-tweeter

Thank you for the review of your stay with us at the Novotel Rotorua, your comments are most appreciated. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to having you stay with us in the future.

Regards
Ian shipman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ian S, Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

$22 a day to have wifi is pretty ridiculous. Kids very disappointed with this. Most local cafes it is free. I would say wifi is a given these days. Judt having a 2 computers in the lobby for use for 30 mins is not good enough.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank 712suzannek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear 712suzannek

Thank you for the comments regarding your recent stay with us at the Novotel Rotorua. I am sorry there were aspects of your stay which did not live up to your expectations.

Regards
Ian Shipman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank mmick6
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ian S, Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

Great location and good guest facilities representing good value for money.

Check out was slow and the unavailability of umbrellas on a very wet Rotorua morning was baffling although I am assured this oversight will be rectified as a matter of some urgency.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boofhead3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Hi boofhead3

Thank you for the comments posted regarding your stay with us, they are most appreciated, yes we will look into the availability of umbrella's.

Regards
Ian Shipman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 91 in Rotorua
768 reviews
2 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#16 of 91 in Rotorua
921 reviews
0.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#24 of 91 in Rotorua
851 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#2 of 91 in Rotorua
278 reviews
7.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Rotorua Marama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Rotorua Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Rotorua Lakeside

Address: Lake End Tutanekai Street, Rotorua 3215, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#16 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#22 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#32 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £95 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Rotorua Lakeside 4.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside is ideally situated near the shores of lake Rotorua and withing meters of the CBD and restaurant sector.. The hotel has 199 modern, spacious accommodation rooms, some with stunning lake views, including 11 suites and the prestigious Royal suite. All bedrooms have either a king or two double beds, en-suite with shower over bath, mini bars and safes. Guests also have access to our fully equipped gym, indoor heated pool and geothermal plunge pools. Atlas cafe and restaurant is open all year round, serving guests and visitors from the extensive buffet and ala-carte dining. Our Hotel bar Clarke's is the perfect place to relax and enjoy a drink fireside or catch up with friends over a shared platter on our outdoor courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Accorhotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Rotorua Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside Hotel Rotorua
Accor Rotorua Lakeside
Rotorua Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing