We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Ranked #18 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We were very happy with our room and the location of this hotel. The night markets were a couple of minutes walk up the road and we had delicious "street food" for dinner. The staff were friendly and were able to help us with our enquiries.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue19342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Sue19342

Thank you for the time to review your satay with us at the Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, i am glad you found the staff to be so pleasant, they certainly are a huge asset to the hotel. Hope the rest of your trip was an enjoyable one and would love to have you back with us when next in beautiful New Zealand.

Regards
Ian Shipman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    749
    1,058
    451
    125
    37
See reviews for
690
1,090
115
263
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I think it was very good in some aspects and just ok in others. The room was clean, beds were comfortable and overall stay was fine. The pool area with the sauna and pools was not the greatest. We actually had a rash on our skin after getting in the pools. Needs some cleaning and work. I woke up a lot due to the smell,not the hotels fault, just could not get used to it. The hotel did have washing facilities and was very appreciated. Internet is way too expensive, a big rip off in my opinion. No concierge, which was surprising, but they did recommend some things to do.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Einfach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Einfach

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us, I am pleased to read you had a pleasant stay with us. With regards to the pool being dirty and requiring cleaning, the pool you are referring to is a geothermal pool, which contains natural elements drawn directly from source, this is naturally a green colour and not a sign of poor upkeep.

Regards
Ian Shipman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

The only good thing about the hotel is its location. We love to holiday and spend at least 30 nights a year in different hotels of the world. The novotel rotorua definitely disappointed on 4 star standards. We were in room 322 and the bathroom didn't even have a seperate wet and dry area. The heating didn't work the first night. We were given a heater which was faulty. The next day after a complaint a very good technician was sent who did rectify the heater of the room and accepted that the heater given to us was a faulty one and shouldn't have been given. If you like a certain standard in the hotels you stay I wouldn't recommend this novotel. All the staff was very friendly and nice. that was the only saving grace for the hotel.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Karan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Einfach

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us, I am pleased to read you had a pleasant stay with us. With regards to the pool being dirty and requiring cleaning, the pool you are referring to is a geothermal pool, which contains natural elements drawn directly from source, this is naturally a green colour and not a sign of poor upkeep.

Regards
Ian Shipman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

While the view of the car park was a tad dreary the room itself was lovely with the most comfortable bed ever!! I want one! And big fluffy pillows too. The staff were great- smiling and helpful. Lots of choices for room service.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank sweetpea3112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear sweetpea3112

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us, I am pleased to read you had a pleasant stay with us. The beds are amazing we have had a ton of positive reviews since changing them. Hope to see you again soon.

Regards
Ian Shipman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Had a lovely room at end of corridor meaning space and views of lakeand reserve outlook. Very clean and well serviced except for only having one towel in the bathroom. Soon rectified and a request for low fat milk was quickly responded to. Only complaint is that the restaurant is very noisy during the busy breakfast time and the extensive buffet is very spread out!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Richard M

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us, I am pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us in Rotorua. Look forward to having you stay with us when next in town.

Regards
Ian Shipman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
1.4 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#35 of 92 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
0.1 mi away
Regent of Rotorua
Regent of Rotorua
#9 of 92 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Rotorua Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Rotorua Lakeside

Property: Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Address: Lake End Tutanekai Street, Rotorua 3215, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#16 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#25 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#33 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Rotorua Lakeside 4.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside is ideally situated near the shores of lake Rotorua and withing meters of the CBD and restaurant sector.. The hotel has 199 modern, spacious accommodation rooms, some with stunning lake views, including 11 suites and the prestigious Royal suite. All bedrooms have either a king or two double beds, en-suite with shower over bath, mini bars and safes. Guests also have access to our fully equipped gym, indoor heated pool and geothermal plunge pools. Atlas cafe and restaurant is open all year round, serving guests and visitors from the extensive buffet and ala-carte dining. Our Hotel bar Clarke's is the perfect place to relax and enjoy a drink fireside or catch up with friends over a shared platter on our outdoor courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Novotel Rotorua Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside Hotel Rotorua
Accor Rotorua Lakeside
Rotorua Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing