We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and very friendly staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Ranked #19 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed at the Novotel for two nights this May while on a NZ road trip. The hotel itself was relatively easy to find, and provided free parking for hotel guests.

Upon arrival, we were upgraded to a lake view room by the super friendly manager that was on duty. He provided us with very useful info on a quick walk around Rotorua, and recommended places to eat for dinner (all within a two minute walk from the hotel).

The room itself was clean and comfortable, and we slept very well on both nights! There is wifi available in the lobby for a hefty fee, but there are two new iMac computers that are free to use. We found these invaluable for planning our activities in Rotorua. The geothermal activities, such as Wai-o-tapu thermal wonderland, are all within a 25 min drive!

Overall, we enjoyed our stay here and appreciated the good value for money!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank T J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear Judith T

Thank you for the great comments posted regarding your recently stay with us at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside. Rotorua certainly is a great tourist destination with a multitude of activities for everyone, we were very pleased you had a fantastic stay with us.

We look forward to having you back with us in the near future.

Regards
Ian Shipman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,494)
There are newer reviews for Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,080 - 1,086 of 2,494 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2014

If you are looking for a four star hotel in a good location in rotorua then this the place. We did book a junior suite to give us more space. The room is great- mini bar, two wardrobes, small lounge, TV with movies and a decent sized bathroom with typical a bath/shower- the latter is not overly luxurious but fine for the Novotel brand.

Something not mentioned on their website is there is spa on the ground level which looked fine for massage, facial, nails, waxing. If we had known I would of booked a couple of treatments.

I am glad we booked this hotel and would definitely return. It's a great location and you get value for your money.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sc207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear sc207

Thank you for the review your comments are most appreciated. We are very proud of our hotel and are glad you found our offering to be of an exceptionally high standard. I hope the rest of your stay was a pleasant one.

Regards
Ian Shipman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We were very happy with our room and the location of this hotel. The night markets were a couple of minutes walk up the road and we had delicious "street food" for dinner. The staff were friendly and were able to help us with our enquiries.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue19342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear Sue19342

Thank you for the time to review your satay with us at the Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, i am glad you found the staff to be so pleasant, they certainly are a huge asset to the hotel. Hope the rest of your trip was an enjoyable one and would love to have you back with us when next in beautiful New Zealand.

Regards
Ian Shipman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I think it was very good in some aspects and just ok in others. The room was clean, beds were comfortable and overall stay was fine. The pool area with the sauna and pools was not the greatest. We actually had a rash on our skin after getting in the pools. Needs some cleaning and work. I woke up a lot due to the smell,not the hotels fault, just could not get used to it. The hotel did have washing facilities and was very appreciated. Internet is way too expensive, a big rip off in my opinion. No concierge, which was surprising, but they did recommend some things to do.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Einfach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Einfach

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us, I am pleased to read you had a pleasant stay with us. With regards to the pool being dirty and requiring cleaning, the pool you are referring to is a geothermal pool, which contains natural elements drawn directly from source, this is naturally a green colour and not a sign of poor upkeep.

Regards
Ian Shipman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

The only good thing about the hotel is its location. We love to holiday and spend at least 30 nights a year in different hotels of the world. The novotel rotorua definitely disappointed on 4 star standards. We were in room 322 and the bathroom didn't even have a seperate wet and dry area. The heating didn't work the first night. We were given a heater which was faulty. The next day after a complaint a very good technician was sent who did rectify the heater of the room and accepted that the heater given to us was a faulty one and shouldn't have been given. If you like a certain standard in the hotels you stay I wouldn't recommend this novotel. All the staff was very friendly and nice. that was the only saving grace for the hotel.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Karan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Einfach

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us, I am pleased to read you had a pleasant stay with us. With regards to the pool being dirty and requiring cleaning, the pool you are referring to is a geothermal pool, which contains natural elements drawn directly from source, this is naturally a green colour and not a sign of poor upkeep.

Regards
Ian Shipman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

While the view of the car park was a tad dreary the room itself was lovely with the most comfortable bed ever!! I want one! And big fluffy pillows too. The staff were great- smiling and helpful. Lots of choices for room service.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank sweetpea3112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear sweetpea3112

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us, I am pleased to read you had a pleasant stay with us. The beds are amazing we have had a ton of positive reviews since changing them. Hope to see you again soon.

Regards
Ian Shipman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Kevin K. L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ian S, Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
717 reviews
0.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
206 reviews
1.4 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.1 mi away
Regent of Rotorua
Regent of Rotorua
#8 of 92 in Rotorua
1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Rotorua Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Rotorua Lakeside

Address: Lake End Tutanekai Street, Rotorua 3215, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#17 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#25 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#33 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £91 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Rotorua Lakeside 4.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside is ideally situated near the shores of lake Rotorua and withing meters of the CBD and restaurant sector.. The hotel has 199 modern, spacious accommodation rooms, some with stunning lake views, including 11 suites and the prestigious Royal suite. All bedrooms have either a king or two double beds, en-suite with shower over bath, mini bars and safes. Guests also have access to our fully equipped gym, indoor heated pool and geothermal plunge pools. Atlas cafe and restaurant is open all year round, serving guests and visitors from the extensive buffet and ala-carte dining. Our Hotel bar Clarke's is the perfect place to relax and enjoy a drink fireside or catch up with friends over a shared platter on our outdoor courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Rotorua Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside Hotel Rotorua
Accor Rotorua Lakeside
Rotorua Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing