We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend break away from the big city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Ranked #17 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Weekend break away from the big city”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Bar lovely & Restaurant meals from the menu were first class. Room (518) was a little disappointing for the Novotel.. this room needs a refurbish ~ the sink was chipped and the chrome bathroom fittings were pitted. We didn't ask to change rooms as we were only there one night but I'm sure they would have accommodated us if we had asked. Service was good. Great location and the Spa (indoor) was lovely with several hot tubs of diff degrees and open until 11pm. Ask for bath robes when you check in so you can go to and from your room to the Spa at ease! Room service of our coffees/lattes' in the morning arrived in paper take away cups and no idea why but this alone may stop me going there again.

Room Tip: Unable to say
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Carol K

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Novotel Rotorua. I am really sorry that you found aspects of your stay not to your liking. We will be looking into the concerns you raised in order to improve on these for the future.

Regards
Ian Shipman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    754
    1,061
    454
    125
    37
See reviews for
691
1,092
117
267
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Second time stayed in the Novotel Rotorua last night and the room was a joint room with the next door, through the locked door in beween the two rooms, i could hear every single word the next door customer were speaking even though they were trying very hard to be considerate to us by talking quietly, The sound of them openning their suit case, receiving text, even dringking water...

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boldo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Boldo T

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Novotel Rotorua. I am really sorry that you found aspects of your stay not to your liking. We will be looking into the concerns you raised in order to improve on these for the future.

Regards
Ian Shipman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

3 day break was changed by some slightly odd things. Given a disabled room with interconnecting door - not needed. Storage there was poor, why I ask and noise disturbance high from next door. Not one I disturbed sleep. Went to the restaurant and food very pretend fancy, OTT and out of place, not a steak in sight. Or other usual fare. Not sure who they are catering too as there were loads of families here. Staff were very nice and as I said location good. Not awful just not great.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TickyTogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear TickyTogs

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Novotel Rotorua. I am really sorry that you found aspects of your stay not to your liking. With regards to the menu we cater for all tastes in the form of our buffet offering , a la Carte menu and children s menu. We are however in the process of changing the menu and will take you feedback on board when doing so.

Regards
Ian Shipman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berhampur, Orissa
Level Contributor
233 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here as part of a group.

Firstly, I hold a Accor group card but was told that the stay could not get points as I had not done the booking directly but through Thomas cook who were organising the group tour.
Point ok but still it was my money!!!

Location is great, a short walk from the lakeside with majestic views at sunrise.

Just across is the "Eatstreet" where one can be spoilt for choice.

The property though is not upto Novotel standards.

Breakfast was ample and the dining area spacious.

Liked the thermal pools too.

Two more points:
Why cant one have free wifi

please provide power plug adaptors in all rooms

Both won't cost much but can make the stay much more easy.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank avranga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear avranga

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Novotel Rotorua. I am really sorry that you found aspects of your stay not to your liking. With regards to the travel adapters it is not possible to equip each and every room with the various adapters from around the world, we do have a variety available at the front desk for our guests to utilize.

Regards
Ian Shipman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed at the Novotel Rotorua Lakeside in september 13 for a conference. Staff there were great, room was large, well equiped and very clean. Breakfast each day was excellent with a vast ammount of items to choose from. Staff in the bar areas were excellent, would not hesitate to reccomend this hotel to those visiting Rotorua.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Mark W

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Novotel Rotorua. I am really glad to hear you had a enjoyable time with us at the Novotel, we hope to see you again in the near future.

Regards
Ian Shipman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffs Harbour
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 days. We had a king superior room and we scored a lake view. The room was large, quiet and comfortable. The bed was great. We ate at the hotel restaurant and the meals were tasty and a reasonable price. The location of the hotel and Novotel's quality makes it a winner. The reception staff were friendly and helpful with any dealings we had with them. We have stayed here 3 times so we must like it.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Robert L

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay with us, it is always great to hear back from regular guests. Glad you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us, we look forward to your return.

Regards
Ian Shipman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
690 reviews
0.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.0 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#35 of 92 in Rotorua
1,130 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rydges Rotorua
Rydges Rotorua
#46 of 92 in Rotorua
1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Rotorua Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Rotorua Lakeside

Property: Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Address: Lake End Tutanekai Street, Rotorua 3215, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#15 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#25 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#33 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Rotorua Lakeside 4.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside is ideally situated near the shores of lake Rotorua and withing meters of the CBD and restaurant sector.. The hotel has 199 modern, spacious accommodation rooms, some with stunning lake views, including 11 suites and the prestigious Royal suite. All bedrooms have either a king or two double beds, en-suite with shower over bath, mini bars and safes. Guests also have access to our fully equipped gym, indoor heated pool and geothermal plunge pools. Atlas cafe and restaurant is open all year round, serving guests and visitors from the extensive buffet and ala-carte dining. Our Hotel bar Clarke's is the perfect place to relax and enjoy a drink fireside or catch up with friends over a shared platter on our outdoor courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Rotorua Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside Hotel Rotorua
Accor Rotorua Lakeside
Rotorua Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing