We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Ranked #18 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Weekend Break”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This hotel met our expectations. Room was satisfactory... there were a few small minor maintenance issues but other than that the bed was very comfortable. All staff we dealt with were very friendly. Restaurant was good for breakfast and dinner. There is an early bird special for the buffet dinner and if you are out by 7pm, dinner is only $42 (if you are an Advantage Plus member that means dinner for only $21!!). Clark's bar decor has changed since we last stayed and it is very plush now. We didn't realise Clark's doesn't open until 3pm but restaurant staff were very obliging and willing to let us order a snack and beverage from the restaurant to eat in Clarks. Very relaxed atmosphere there and nice fire. All in all it was a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: We had a street view (as opposed to a lake view) room which was good while the ice skating rink acro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C3PW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear C3PW

Great to hear you had a relaxing weekend away with us in Rotorua. The changes to the bar are quite significant and we are very proud of our new venue so very pleased you enjoyed it as well. We look forward to having you back with us in the near future.

Regards
Ian Shipman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    739
    1,038
    449
    125
    36
See reviews for
682
1,079
114
254
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We had a fantastic time at the Novotel Rotorua, very friendly staff, lovely clean room, breakfast was amazing....thanks...look forward to staying again. Even got to have a look at the presidential suite....

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Susan F

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Novotel Rotorua, your feedback is important to us. Very pleased to read you had another enjoyable stay with us, we look forward to welcoming you back in the not to distant future.

Regards
Ian Shipman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We were disappointed with the overall cleanliness of the hotel. Carpets were old and had various spots on, the dining room floor was dirty so was the bar's floor. The bath in our room looked old with stains on.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Peet Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Peet Z

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Novotel Rotorua, your feedback is important to us. I do apologise that the cleanliness seems to have been a let down on this occasion, I can assure you that this is not the norm, and will be addressed with the team.

Regards
Ian Shipman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

As an Accor member who has previously stayed here, I naturally chose it for an overnight stay. I arrived just before 10 am, a little earlier than I expected. I was greeted by friendly and professional staff who were unflustered by my early arrival & said the room was ready.

The room was clean and comfortable with a fabulous lakeside view. Make sure you ask for that.

However, my experience with the housekeeping staff was less than fabulous. Shortly after entering my room, I used the bathroom. While indisposed in this way, I heard someone unlocking the door to the room and entering without knocking or enquiring, shouting something about pillows before departing shortly afterwards with a cheery "sorry."

About 10 minutes later as I was changing out of my travelling clothes, there was a rapid rapping on my door and before I could answer, the door flew open and there I was in my half-dressed finery. The house keeper apologised and retreated.

I rang reception and explained what had happened, asking if housekeeping could be notified that I had checked in, did not need anything from them and would like to be undisturbed. Reception staff apologised profusely and said that the housekeepers should not enter without knocking and awaiting a response. There followed thumping outside my door and yelling about "early check-in" but the noise eventually subsided.

About twenty minutes later there was more rapping on my door and a loud demand to check the mini-bar. At this point I had had enough and called through the door that the mini-bar was fine and I did not want to be disturbed.

Actually, the mini-bar turned out to be not quite fine. The chocolate had been clearly left out in the sun and was light-struck. I threw it away. When I suggested to reception staff that it might be better to put the chocolate in the fridge (the way the hotel used to do) they said it would make it

Breakfast was great, with a wide variety of choice and a cook who offered to make me whatever I wanted before cooking my eggs almost to perfection. The hotel is close to everything: the lake, the markets, the wonderfully upgraded "eat street" and within walking distance of the museum, the Polynesian pools and so on. But for the prolonged inability to handle a morning check-in, despite prior notification and the light-struck chocolate, this was not a bad stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peragro-ergo-sum-100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Peet Z

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Novotel Rotorua, your feedback is important to us. I do apologise some aspects of your stay seems to have been a let down on this occasion, I can assure you that this is not the norm, and will be addressed with the team.

Regards
Ian Shipman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

The Novotel is in a prime location in Rotorua. It is walking distance to the shops and the restaurant and cafe district. There is also a yummy ice cream shop across the road from the hotel. The hotel is a typical Novotel. Clean, comfortable and family friendly. Our rate included free breakfast. There was a wide range of choices at the buffet and it was pleasing to see congee and other Asian condiments served at breakfast. It's unusual to see that in hotels outside Asia. The only thing I would point out is the safe in our room did not work. We were also placed in the disabled access room and the bathroom became very wet when you showered. But these were minor issues and did not negatively impact on our stay here. The free parking on site is also a nice touch.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank YLH01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear YLH01

Thank you for taking the time to comprehensively review the property, feedback such as this is a vital aspect of our business. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the various aspects of our hotel. The buffet is substantial and we are pleased you enjoyed the Asian variety we offer.

Regards
Ian Shipman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This hotel located right at the end of the mall where café and restaurants were everywhere. It is called 'Eat Streat'. It is also right at the Lake of Rotorua. View of the lake was great, unfortunately, weather wasn't the greatest whilst we were there, the Lake Queen wasn't operating.
Short walk from the hotel to central city area, by then we had gotten used to the Smell of Sulphate!
Car parking was free and plentiful next to the hotel. Hotel has its own Hot mineral pools, free for guests,. there was a charge for private hot pool though.
Room was nice and modern, fresh and aircon worked well, to keep warm as it was rather cold when we were there.
Breakfast was a little expensive, we opted for a walk into town for that. ( Short walk, very easy, flat)
Check in was easy, no hassle when check out either. Fast and efficient.
Friendly staff, no problem at all, they were all very helpful.
I recommend it to anyone visiting Rotorua.
ps. rate was good too.

Room Tip: Try to ask for the room facing the Lake, this will give a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear JonBrisbane

Thank you for taking the time to review the property, feedback such as this is a vital aspect of our business. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the various aspects of our hotel.We look forward to having you back with us when next in beautiful New Zealand.

Regards
Ian Shipman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

From the time we checked in, staff were friendly and attentive. Our room was comfortable, clean and spacious. We had delicious breakfast and it was fresh, with a wide selection. Thank you to all staff, especially Kristen, who made our stay more memorable and enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank planetwonderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear planetwonderer

Thank you for taking the time to review the property, feedback such as this is a vital aspect of our business. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the various aspects of our hotel.Kristen certainly is a huge asset to our team, who will be pleased you enjoyed your time with us.

Regards
Ian Shipman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
672 reviews
1.4 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#19 of 93 in Rotorua
792 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#31 of 93 in Rotorua
1,097 reviews
0.1 mi away
Regent of Rotorua
Regent of Rotorua
#7 of 93 in Rotorua
1,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Rotorua Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Rotorua Lakeside

Property: Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Address: Lake End Tutanekai Street, Rotorua 3215, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#16 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#25 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#33 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Rotorua Lakeside 4.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside is ideally situated near the shores of lake Rotorua and withing meters of the CBD and restaurant sector.. The hotel has 199 modern, spacious accommodation rooms, some with stunning lake views, including 11 suites and the prestigious Royal suite. All bedrooms have either a king or two double beds, en-suite with shower over bath, mini bars and safes. Guests also have access to our fully equipped gym, indoor heated pool and geothermal plunge pools. Atlas cafe and restaurant is open all year round, serving guests and visitors from the extensive buffet and ala-carte dining. Our Hotel bar Clarke's is the perfect place to relax and enjoy a drink fireside or catch up with friends over a shared platter on our outdoor courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Rotorua Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside Hotel Rotorua
Accor Rotorua Lakeside
Rotorua Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing