We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even great in bad weather”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Ranked #19 of 91 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Was right by the lake and close to town. Room's were clean and tidy but maybe a little dated for 4-5 star, but was definately value for money and the staff were very easy to deal with and were helpful in the extreme. We ate in town as there was a lot to choose from within easy walking distance. Breakfast in the morning was good.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sailingawaynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,635)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,137 - 1,143 of 2,636 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed in late 2013 for one night.

The hotel was very accommodating of our early check in request - one of the rooms wasn't quite ready when we arrived, but this wasn't an issue as our other rooms were. We requested a maxi taxi to be booked to take us to our event, but only a standard taxi arrived - not sure on where the error occurred. The reception staff quickly booked another taxi, but that took much longer than anticipated & we made our own way to our event.

The rooms were of a good size and beds comfortable. They were a little on the older side, but still decent. Bathroom (& the room) were clean which was the main thing.

Hotel is in a good location by the lake & the restaurants - a good place to base yourself if on holiday for some time in Rotorua.

Overall, I would stay here again if the need arose.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NZJayDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The rooms are okay but nothing special and could do with a good upgrade and / or scrub. I was disappointed as I always feel confident that the rooms at the Novotel Ellerslie, Auckland are clean, bright and modern. Expected the same here but this was not the case. Better value for money staying at one of 4-5 star motor lodges. The one big surprising highlight of the stay was the fantastic thin-based margarita pizza (room service)! Would be fine to stay here again but wouldn't be my first choice.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Saffy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Located near city center with lots of free parking slots. Ask for a lakeside room for a nice view. The room is big with comfortable beds although the toiletries needs to be improved. There was no hair conditioner and other essentials. The bath tub looked dirty so we didn't use it. I went for a treatment at their spa. The mineral/heated pool was great. The massage was also wonderful. However, their bathrooms are old and needs improvement. Overall, it was a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Choose the lakeside view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank CyrilUriarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank irwinmob
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed at the Novotel Rotorua for four nights. First of all, what was great... The staff were great; friendly and helpful. We had a couple of problems, and every time, the staff offered solutions.The room was impeccably clean, and cleaned well daily.

Now for the issues... The first issue may or may not be related to the hotel itself, and that is the smell of the hot springs, which is a sulfur smell. When we first arrived, I thought it was interesting; my wife didn't like it so much. The whole town may potentially smell this way, depending on which way the wind is blowing, but in particular, the smell seemed stronger in the hotel lobby. How might this be an issue specific to the hotel? The hotel has a nice hot spring bath off the far end of the lobby. It could be that this integral spring doesn't have outside ventilation, so the smell naturally flows to the lobby space. As I said, it didn't bother me in the beginning, but after four days of it, I was ready to be somewhere away from the smell.

Second item: our room key didn't work. We took them back down; then one worked and one didn't. Went back down and the third time staff accompanied us - one worked; one didn't. Not sure if it was an issue with their coding machine or the door itself, but it took a bit of sorting out. Staff said some other room keys oddly had issues, so it may have been the coding machine. As I said, staff was quite congenial and made a diligent effort to solve the matter.

Third item: Safe didn't work. Maintenance couldn't fix it and there was no spare. I see someone else has made this same comment, so they seem to have a shortage of properly working room safes. Again, staff was helpful in seeing if they could get the safe fixed and subsequently offering us a different room if the safe couldn't be fixed. Initially my wife wanted to go to a new room, but in the evening when we returned to find that the safe couldn't be fixed, we were too tired to bother with moving everything to a new room.

Fourth item: When we arrived on a week night, the pool and spa were virtually empty. We should have jumped then. On the weekend, it was elbow to elbow, including lots of kids jumping into the water. If you want a more sedate spa experience, you might need to try a weekday or pay to avoid the crowds. There are lots of spa options in town. Minor issue: many hotels of this calibre offer bath robes. The expectation at this hotel is that you will utilize the lockers adjacent to the spa/pool. Having this explicitly stated (map to spa, shower expectations, and info about lockers) inside the closet where you're looking for a bath robe might alleviate some confusion.

We didn't dine in the hotel restaurant, since there were a huge number of options within a short walking distance. Oh - we did have a bread and cheese plate, and some wine delivered to our room. The bread and cheese was average, the wine was good. It was clear that staff didn't deal with room service very often, because the price they rang up was different from the price on the room service menu. When we pointed this out, we were graciously given the price on the menu.

Major frustration: internet policy. Free internet* *only 1/2 hour or 100MB (?) per device and cannot be used in the room - can only be accessed in the lobby. Ugh. There are also two computers downstairs for use. There is also a pay option for internet in the room. Many moderately priced hotels offer free internet, but high-end hotels insist on extra fees for internet access. A hotel we stayed in later offered 1GB and moderate speed for free (accessible in the room), and a fee if you wanted faster speeds or more than a GB. This is a much more reasonable policy. Notovel should reconsider their policy, especially in light of the other free internet access points around town - this made it feel like we were being penalized for choosing Novotel.

In spite of all the things I list, Novotel Rotorua Lakeside is a very nice hotel, in a very nice location. The location makes it not so great in terms of the sulfur smell, but extremely convenient for walking around downtown, along the lakeside, the town park, and as a base for farther destinations. The staff is wonderful - it seems the only issue is with door lock and safe maintenance, and getting staff and literature on the same page as far as the room service menu.

Room Tip: If you want to use the room safe, make sure it works before you settle in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Pamela W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 91 in Rotorua
791 reviews
2 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#16 of 91 in Rotorua
939 reviews
0.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Prince's Gate Hotel
Prince's Gate Hotel
#22 of 91 in Rotorua
864 reviews
0 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#37 of 91 in Rotorua
1,193 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 91 in Rotorua
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Rotorua Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Rotorua Lakeside

Address: Lake End Tutanekai Street, Rotorua 3215, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#17 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#22 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#32 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £92 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Rotorua Lakeside 4.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside is ideally situated near the shores of lake Rotorua and withing meters of the CBD and restaurant sector.. The hotel has 199 modern, spacious accommodation rooms, some with stunning lake views, including 11 suites and the prestigious Royal suite. All bedrooms have either a king or two double beds, en-suite with shower over bath, mini bars and safes. Guests also have access to our fully equipped gym, indoor heated pool and geothermal plunge pools. Atlas cafe and restaurant is open all year round, serving guests and visitors from the extensive buffet and ala-carte dining. Our Hotel bar Clarke's is the perfect place to relax and enjoy a drink fireside or catch up with friends over a shared platter on our outdoor courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Accorhotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Novotel Rotorua Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside Hotel Rotorua
Accor Rotorua Lakeside
Rotorua Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing