We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Nearby Hotels
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$186
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$199
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$557
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$474
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prince's Gate Hotel(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Braeside Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$118
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cedarwood Lakeside(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,689)
Filter reviews
2,689 results
Traveller rating
834
1,163
506
137
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
834
1,163
506
137
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseat streetgreat locationatlas restaurantlake viewjunior suitebuffet dinnerrestaurants and barsthermal poolsfree internetnew zealandcomfortable staypolynesian spaaccorlakesidegymlakeviewcomputers
Filter
Updating list...
2,398 - 2,403 of 2,689 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2010

This hotel is a huge disappointment and certainly doesn't match the Novotel Hotel brand in Europe. Worn out and dirty furnishings, a grubby lobby and generally poorly maintained.

We stayed here just one night and moved on. The poor rather stressed out receptionist did her best but this has to be one of the worst hotels I've stayed in for a long time with dirty rooms and a saggy bed. Maybe the Millenium Hotel up the road would be a better bet.?

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blogfoguk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2010

We stayed here on our honeymoon for 4 days. It is perfect location as it is right across the lake, a couple blocks from polynesian spa, just across the street are BUNCH of very very good restaurants and wide variety of them. The hotel has saunas, pools, mineral pools etc along with fitness center. It has restauarant as well. We were there during Xmas and had great time with evening dinner.
If you stay here definitely try the Freos restaurant just down the street. ABSOLUTELY amazing food and very reasonable prices! I have had the BEST Green Lipped Mussels there. Ok back to Hotel review, the room was roomy, clean and had skytv. We enjoyed Sky TV whenever were at the hotel. The bathroom and bedroom was very clean and neat. Only thing was that the key for the room would get deactivated very often so we had to call on the front desk to get that re-activated. That was troublesome. They have a common internet in the lobby that is free. It is good for basic things though they don;t have the internet free. good value for the money. All the tours we had came to pick us up at the hotel. That was no issue either.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sushi8421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2010

Novotel stands dauntingly on the beautiful lakefront of Rotorua and towards the ending of streets full with restaurants. We had a lakeview room and enjoyed our stay to the fullest. Total value for money and good staff too!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Palkesh J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2010

This hotel is nothing special. If you got lakeview you may like the view. We didn't had lakeview and we had view on the carpark. The room was good. In the hotel was a little swimming pool and two jacuzzies with real hotwater form the spring. These facilities were a little dated and not very clean.
The personnel were very nice and hospitable.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nootdorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2010

Despite the great rate we received online for this Hotel I would have gladly paid triple to have had a better experience in Rotorua. When we arrived we were not greeted very warmly and when we went up to our room we noticed how dirty the carpets & walls were in the corridors. Once we arrived at our room we promptly discovered that the floor had not been vacuumed, the bathrooms floors were filthy and had not been vacuumed or mopped, there was milk or food splattered up the wardrobe cupboards - just gross! So when the Duty Manger came to our room to unlock the safe we showed her how dirty the room was. She very professionally went back to Reception and had us upgraded to a suite on a higher level with great lake views. This was a terrific gesture however this room was just as filthy. The pull out sofa bed still had the sheets on it from previous guests (hairs & all), the bathroom floor again was filthy with dust, hairs etc, the windows had fingerprints all over them from previous guests, the floor had not been vacuumed properly as all around the edges there was dust, dirt, fibres etc and around my bedside table was what looked like pieces of dry skin!!!!
After this experience we were not game to eat in the Restaurant or use any of the other facilities - I can just imagine what their back of house was like if they can't even clean a guests room to an acceptable level.
Overall this certainly tarnished our stay at Rotorua but we were able to enjoy the Polynesian Spa with it's hot thermal pools and we also had a fabulous cultural afternoon and evening at Te Puia (highly recommended).
So..if you are planning a trip to Rotorua then I would strongly advise you give the Novotel a big miss. We spent 21 nights in NZ and this was the absolute worst Hotel we experienced. Our favourite Hotel group was Heritage Hotels - warm, modern, friendly, clean,reasonable & very comfortable.
Rotorua itself is just OK as a tourist destination - this is the seocnd time I have been there and would have to say that there are much nicer towns in the North Island. Lake Tekapo is a much cleaner, prettier town with a better standard of accommodation and restaurants. It's only about an hours drive from Rotorua which makes it a achievable day trip.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mjp66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews