We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty and overpriced”
Review of Rydges Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rydges Rotorua
Ranked #46 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Dirty and overpriced”
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We stayed in a spa suite for 2 nights with breakfast included. There were dead bugs all over the roll down blind near the spa when I closed it for the night, and the plates at breakfast had marks and chips on them. The variety of the buffet was pretty good though, although streaky rather than short cut bacon would have been less dry.

Pool area was good, but guests are required to use their room towels, which was a pain.

Room service was good, but expensive. The stand-out was the salt & pepper squid.

The suite had a full kitchen, but absolutely no cutlery, which did not seem particularly well thought through.

All in all, I was quite disappointed in our stay.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedheadMumma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
craig_r_simpson, General Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review, 12 January 2012
Hi there,

Thank you for your review. I am sure we spoke in the lobby (I can't tell by your username) and we did explain that if you leave the windows open and lights on when it becomes dark insects will fly into the room.

I am pleased you enjoyed the room service and based on yours and some other feedback we have received all our suites have cutlery and crockery in them.

Looking forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards,

Craig
Craig Simpson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    435
    255
    121
    96
See reviews for
425
406
37
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

What a disappointment this hotel was. The shower screen, spa and floor of the shower were so grimy that I felt I had to wear something on my feet. Not what you expect from this star rating hotel. Sheets were so worn they were thread bare and torn. The rooms were however very generous and the staff did whatever they could do to try improve the situation.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pninah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jemmel R, Front Office Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review, 8 January 2012
Good afternoon,

Thank you for your feedback. We have taken your points on board and I will be personally speaking with the Executive Houskeeper about the issue you raised to ensure these are rectified.

We appreciate your kind comments about the room and staff. I will be sure to pass this on.

Many thanks,

Jemmel Ruland
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rotorua hotels

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Just stayed again for 4 nights in this type of room with OH and 2 kids. Very comfortable with effective aircon. Had room service dinner on 3 of the nights and it was good quality. The room has a massive dining table so 'in-room' eating is relaxed and pleasant.

Room Tip: KIng Spa Suite for air con and lots of space and comfy seating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EuroCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jemmel R, Front Office Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review, 8 January 2012
Hi,

Thanks for your kind comments. Really appreciate the feedback.

Hope to you back again soon.

Regards,

Jemmel Ruland
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

After staying in other Rydges hotels around Australia, I was very disapointed in this one. The floors, lift and rooms smelt, there were no aircons, in the bathroom the air vent was half out the ceiling and the ceiling was patched all around it but not sanded back or painted? The gym had a part of the ceiling half falling down and they had a bucket on the floor catching water?? The cost of the wifi was ridiculous, 72cents a minute, which adds up to quite a lot!! The restaurant was nice, good staff but overpriced food. The only bonus is the 'kids eat free' deal, which I made sure we got our money's worth! To top this off, the hotel advertised $140 a night including breakfast, but when I booked the $140 room on Wotif, there was no breakfast included? When I checked back on the Rydges website, it still had $140 per nights rooms with breakfast, but when you clicked on them, it jumped to $165 a night.....just another disappointment!

Room Tip: It seems some rooms have air cons, make sure you ask for one because the rooms are very hot in summe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DarNT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
craig_r_simpson, General Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review, 6 January 2012
Thanks for your review. At the time of your stay we did have a leak in the ceiling to the gym which did cause us some problems. Good news is this is being repaired. We are in discussions with our internet provide about the costs too.

Just so you are aware the cost of the room which includes breakfast is for one person. As soon as you put in another person the price will go up to include breakfast.

Cheers,

Craig Simpson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

My husband and I received a night away here for a Christmas present while on a family holiday in NZ. Bonus as we didn't take the kids, althought there certainly would have been no problem having them with us once we saw the room. We were pleasantly surprised by the size of the room. It was huge, clean and well kept for it's age. We had a great view over the Rotorua race track, so much so that we got dressed up and spent the afternoon at the Races which was fun. We enjoyed cocktails in the bar followed by dinner in the restaurant, the staff at these two places were wonderful, fun to talk to and most obliging. Late checkoout the next morning meant my husband could sleep in and enjoy a movies while I did some shopping in the city. Overall i was most happy with our night and would have no hestitation in staying again.

Room Tip: We had a room on the top floor at the back of the hotel over looking the track.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rowee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
craig_r_simpson, General Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review, 6 January 2012
Hi there,

What a great Christmas present. Lucky you. The boxing day races are a lot of fun and the weather was fantastic too.

We hope to see you back sometime soon - with the kids of course.

I hope you had fun during the rest of your travels around NZ.

Kind regards,

Craig
Craig Simpson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Large rooms with good size sink and fridge make it good for families. Pool upstairs is great. Hotel is still a bit dated even after some new carpet and paint. Not as well soundproofed as other places, so my screaming kids probably annoyed others! (well prior to 7pm after which they were sound asleep).

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nzregs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
craig_r_simpson, General Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review, 6 January 2012
Hi there,

Your right they are great rooms for families. Nice and big. Heaps of space. Don't worry to much about the kids making noise - I am sure they were just excited to be on holiday.

Hope to see you back again soon.

Cheers,

Craig
Craig Simpson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Stayed for one night on 2 Jan 2012 and wished from the moment I walked through the door I stayed elsewhere. This hotel is in dire need of repair. The room did not have a working shower!!! Air-con was useless and TV remote didn't work. No offer of discount, not apologies on exit. Yes the room was large, but the large stains on the carpet detracted from this. Horrendous internet prices $8.00 for half an hour in the lobby (the accommodation I stayed in the next night had high speed wireless for $2.00 an hour). The front counter staff need to look up 'service' in the dictionary, not to mention that their suit jackets were two to three sizes to large and looked ridiculous. This hotel needs to be reviewed again for it's star rating, does not deserve it's current rating.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nikki s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jemmel R, Front Office Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review, 15 January 2012
Hi there, dissappointed to read that from the moment you walked in you wanted to go somewhere else, not what we aim for at all so that is some-thing that the Front-line team will definately be working on.

I have spoken to both House-keeping and Maintenance in regards to your rooms comments and they are curently working on these issues, whilst the GM is currently in negotiations with our internet provider to sharpen up the rate.

Sorry to also read that the service levels where not great either, for that I must definately apologise.

Many thanks for the feedback

Jemmel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.1 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
837 reviews
0.7 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
696 reviews
0.1 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#15 of 92 in Rotorua
408 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Rotorua

Property: Rydges Rotorua
Address: 272 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#30 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#32 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Rotorua is located in a park like setting on the edge of the city's Racecourse. The hotel boasts panoramic views towards Lake Rotorua and Mokoia Island. Along with the most spacious guest rooms in the city, offering FREE WIFI, the hotel also has extensive catering facilities, including the Atrium Restaurant and Bar, Mezz Bar, 24 hour room service and over 560sqm of function. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the city centre, Convention Centre and many of the city's main attractions are a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rydges Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Rydges Hotel Rotorua
Rotorua Rydges Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing