We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average considering well known hotel”
Review of Rydges Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rydges Rotorua
Ranked #49 of 91 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed 15 January 2012

The room we had was very generous in size as we had the King spa room. We had a three night stay here and unfortunately woke up with a spider in our bed, we spoke to reception and asked them to ensure the room was sprayed and also told them that my husband had a bite on him. So, we were a little upset when returning to our room late in the afternoon to find the room had still not been sprayed let alone cleaned. It would have been nice if someone had made a little more effort to check our room and ask how my husband was. Also, two days in a row our card would not work in our hotel door and the car park door also so we had to go to reception again and have them re-set the card. The breakfast was very nice with plenty to choose from. Overall, it was a comfortable enough stay, however for its profile we were a little disappointed.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,275)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,035 - 1,041 of 1,275 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2012

Stayed 3 night over the Xmas break, with friends. Rooms were very generous in size, clean, and the mini bar selection is excellent! Just what you need after a long drive. The views of the racecourse (and a bit of the lake) were a bonus. The holiday decor in the restaurant was lovely and so welcoming. There was a great selection of food at the breakfast buffet and dinner.

The service we received throughout our stay was wonderful. One can appreciate how manic things can be over the holiday period and the staff were always cheerful. We had requested assistance with booking tours and such through the front desk and the staff were very willing to help, taking the time to clearly explain our options. We never felt rushed or unimportant. Wonderful and relaxing trip overall.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on one of the top levels with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanuckinNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Stayed here January 2012, Is the most filthiest hotel I have ever stayed in. No Air conditioning in my room, I asked if the delux room had A/C receptionist said no, later I found fujitsu out door units outside these rooms clearly indicating A/c. The bathroom had mould on the taps, in the grout and Filth in the air vents, all documented with Photos. At $150 per night not good!. The Gym, the hottest room in the hotel! A/c was present but did not work, Rower did not work, Exercycle, did not work. Over all tired and in desperate need of re-furb. Embarassed to be a NZder.


Read more: http://members.virtualtourist.com/m/p/m/21a976/#ixzz1j7zXKAai

Room Tip: Stay clear all together
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank petek D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We stayed in a spa suite for 2 nights with breakfast included. There were dead bugs all over the roll down blind near the spa when I closed it for the night, and the plates at breakfast had marks and chips on them. The variety of the buffet was pretty good though, although streaky rather than short cut bacon would have been less dry.

Pool area was good, but guests are required to use their room towels, which was a pain.

Room service was good, but expensive. The stand-out was the salt & pepper squid.

The suite had a full kitchen, but absolutely no cutlery, which did not seem particularly well thought through.

All in all, I was quite disappointed in our stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedheadMumma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
craig_r_simpson, General Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2012

Hi there,

Thank you for your review. I am sure we spoke in the lobby (I can't tell by your username) and we did explain that if you leave the windows open and lights on when it becomes dark insects will fly into the room.

I am pleased you enjoyed the room service and based on yours and some other feedback we have received all our suites have cutlery and crockery in them.

Looking forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards,

Craig
Craig Simpson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

What a disappointment this hotel was. The shower screen, spa and floor of the shower were so grimy that I felt I had to wear something on my feet. Not what you expect from this star rating hotel. Sheets were so worn they were thread bare and torn. The rooms were however very generous and the staff did whatever they could do to try improve the situation.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pninah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jemmel R, Front Office Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2012

Good afternoon,

Thank you for your feedback. We have taken your points on board and I will be personally speaking with the Executive Houskeeper about the issue you raised to ensure these are rectified.

We appreciate your kind comments about the room and staff. I will be sure to pass this on.

Many thanks,

Jemmel Ruland
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Just stayed again for 4 nights in this type of room with OH and 2 kids. Very comfortable with effective aircon. Had room service dinner on 3 of the nights and it was good quality. The room has a massive dining table so 'in-room' eating is relaxed and pleasant.

Room Tip: KIng Spa Suite for air con and lots of space and comfy seating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EuroCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jemmel R, Front Office Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2012

Hi,

Thanks for your kind comments. Really appreciate the feedback.

Hope to you back again soon.

Regards,

Jemmel Ruland
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

After staying in other Rydges hotels around Australia, I was very disapointed in this one. The floors, lift and rooms smelt, there were no aircons, in the bathroom the air vent was half out the ceiling and the ceiling was patched all around it but not sanded back or painted? The gym had a part of the ceiling half falling down and they had a bucket on the floor catching water?? The cost of the wifi was ridiculous, 72cents a minute, which adds up to quite a lot!! The restaurant was nice, good staff but overpriced food. The only bonus is the 'kids eat free' deal, which I made sure we got our money's worth! To top this off, the hotel advertised $140 a night including breakfast, but when I booked the $140 room on Wotif, there was no breakfast included? When I checked back on the Rydges website, it still had $140 per nights rooms with breakfast, but when you clicked on them, it jumped to $165 a night.....just another disappointment!

Room Tip: It seems some rooms have air cons, make sure you ask for one because the rooms are very hot in summe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DarNT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
craig_r_simpson, General Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2012

Thanks for your review. At the time of your stay we did have a leak in the ceiling to the gym which did cause us some problems. Good news is this is being repaired. We are in discussions with our internet provide about the costs too.

Just so you are aware the cost of the room which includes breakfast is for one person. As soon as you put in another person the price will go up to include breakfast.

Cheers,

Craig Simpson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.1 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#16 of 91 in Rotorua
939 reviews
0.7 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre
0.1 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#10 of 91 in Rotorua
499 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 91 in Rotorua
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Rotorua

Address: 272 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#26 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#33 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £88 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Rotorua is located in a park like setting on the edge of the city's Racecourse. The hotel boasts panoramic views towards Lake Rotorua and Mokoia Island. Along with the most spacious guest rooms in the city, offering FREE WIFI, the hotel also has extensive catering facilities, including the Atrium Restaurant and Bar, Mezz Bar, 24 hour room service and over 560sqm of function. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the city centre, Convention Centre and many of the city's main attractions are a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rydges Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Rydges Hotel Rotorua
Rotorua Rydges Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing