We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way overpriced and terrible quality of rooms”
Review of Rydges Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rydges Rotorua
Ranked #46 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed 16 March 2012

After seen the "Rydges Brand Hotels" here in Australia, this hotel really pulls the other Rydges hotels down.

The hotel feels like you are in a hospital when you walk down the Corridors. I opened up my room and I could not believe the cleaning fumes coming out of the bathrooms. The bathrooms need work as the shower nossles needs replacing, the rooms need painting.

I also believe that this is the work of sulphide in the air but, for the amount you paid I would of thought that I would of had a more enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank networkgeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jemmel R, Front Office Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2012

Thanks for you comments networkgeek, not the greatest impression to receive as you walk into a room to get a blast of cleaning fumes, and then to find that the nossles need replacing, not a great impression at all.

You will be happy to read that we are currently painting the rooms in the hotel and that Housekeeping has been advised about the 'fumes' issues so on your return, we should be on top of these issues.

Many thanks for your comments

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,224)
There are newer reviews for Rydges Rotorua
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

968 - 974 of 1,224 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2012

read some bad reviews after i booked and was abit worried what we were going to but nothing to worry about, my young daughter and i stayed two nights in room 327, great with 2 queen beds, bathroom just basic, but everything was clean, was abit noisey like the water pipes running through the walls or something, kept me awake the first night, dined in the restaurant for cooked breakfast children eat for free so that was a bonus! nice pool area, good parking and handy to town, would definately stay again was everything we needed

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B00ZHG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jemmel R, Front Office Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2012

Many thanks B00ZHG for the great comments.

It was pleasing to read that you had taken advantage of the facilities at the hotel and that both you and your daughter were looked after.

We look forward to having you both come stay with us again in the near future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

I thought this hotel was great for the price. Big rooms, spa in the bathroom, and clean. Great breakfast. Kids loved the indoor pool and plenty of space to run around outside. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jemmel R, Front Office Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2012

Great to read your comments Mel L and couldn't agree more in regards to space - plenty for kids to be kids and enough space outside as well for them to run around without having to worry about traffic.

Our pool does prove to be popular during the long weekend/holiday periods as does the buffet breakfast in the Atrium restaurant; both very good choices.

We hope to see both you and your family in the near future, thanks again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

My friend and I recently stayed at the Rydges Hotel in Rotorua. The room was very dated but very large I must admit. Probably the biggest hotel room I have stayed in. The bathroom was very outdated with stains and cracked grout. The hotel staff didn't seem to know what they were doing. We asked for them to book a skylift dinner which was done fine but they told us a shuttle would pick us up and take us costing $5 per person which never arrived instead a taxi turned up and cost us over $25 one way. Also rubbish was left in a our room after being cleaned.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelaineMorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jemmel R, Front Office Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2012

Thanks for your comments MelanieMorgan.

Sorry to read about the issues with the staff organising incorrect transport for your dinner at Skyline Skyrides, it is obviously something we should have gotten correct in the first instance. And as for having the rubbish left in the room, well that is a disappointing read as well and Housekeeping has been advised.

Thanks again for your comments and we hope to be able to be of service to you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Great stay here. Weather was terrible but luckily there was a great indoor pool, lovely spa in the huge room, ample parking with easy access, great food and staff. All of it made the holiday great.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozborni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jemmel R, Front Office Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2012

Many thanks for the awesome ratings and comments ozborni, sorry we couldn't do better with the weather but it was pleasing to read that you had a great holiday all the same.

Hopefully we are able to have you stay with us again in the near future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We had a very nice, spacious king room. It was clean and the buffet breakfast was plentiful and good

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VacationLover001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jemmel R, Front Office Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2012

Many thanks VacationLover001, awesome comments - short, sharp and to the point!

Keep up the great work!

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

This Rydges has rooms that reminded you of stays in the 80's. Rooms serviceable but nothing special. We had 2 queens, as they don't offer king beds, and a nice outlook onto a giant gum tree. The internet was 76 cents per minute which was mean. Most other hotels in NZ offered some free access - about an hours worth which I think is a great idea. Beds were comfy and staff pushed as there was a constant stream of tour buses coming in. The atrium area was pleasant for breakfast but they did not tell us breakfast was included in my deal an di had forgotten so we missed. it. No extras to make you feel special,no gym or pool. Forgettable experience.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 123degrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jemmel R, Front Office Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2012

Sorry to read that you had a forgettable experience 123degrees during your stay with us, it's obviously not something we aim for so I do apologise.

I am a little perplexed in regards to the gym and pool comment as we do have both on-site; the gym is on the 3rd floor and the pool on the 4th so not sure what happened there. Also confusing was the lack of King beds available, we do have them in the Deluxe rooms but not in the Standard catergory (I assume that is what was booked as they are the only rooms to look towards the giant gum tree).

Internet pricing is something which we are aware of and we are currently working on as a property. I was disappointed to read that you had missed your breakfast as well, not the best way to start your day.

Many thanks for your comments.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
857 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
717 reviews
1.1 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.1 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#10 of 92 in Rotorua
435 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#35 of 92 in Rotorua
1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Rotorua

Address: 272 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#30 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#33 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £63 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Rotorua is located in a park like setting on the edge of the city's Racecourse. The hotel boasts panoramic views towards Lake Rotorua and Mokoia Island. Along with the most spacious guest rooms in the city, offering FREE WIFI, the hotel also has extensive catering facilities, including the Atrium Restaurant and Bar, Mezz Bar, 24 hour room service and over 560sqm of function. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the city centre, Convention Centre and many of the city's main attractions are a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rydges Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Rydges Hotel Rotorua
Rotorua Rydges Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing