We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does not live upto Expectation”
Review of Rydges Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rydges Rotorua
Ranked #46 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed 13 April 2012

.We stayed three nights at the Rydges Hotel, Rotorua. From the outside it looks great; however the rooms are a little disappointing. Our room overlooked the back car park, where a light shone into our room all night.. We did experience a smell, at times, but realised it was sulphur from the nearby volcanic plains. (There is a lot volcanic activity in this area, and the smell can travel some distances). The rooms were a little tired, but satisfied our needs. The bathroom was clean, and towels changed daily.
The menu was not to our suiting, and appeared not to change day by day?
It does have a horse racing track located at the rear which is a pleasent walk, after dinner.

Room Tip: Try for a room overlooking the race course.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BREVID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jemmel R, Front Office Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Thanks for your comments BREVID

Sorry that we were unable to meet your expectations during your recent stay, but if you happen to visit us in the future, hopefully we will be able to rectify that.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,224)
There are newer reviews for Rydges Rotorua
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

962 - 968 of 1,224 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2012

I stayed 2 nights at the Rydges Hotel Rotorua recently while on conference at another local hotel. The room I had was located around the rear of the building on the first level with a view of the car park. On first impressions, I was disappointed with the room as the furniture was old and tired with human body stains on the leather chair. The room was in a very noisy location as I was woken both nights with a groaning vibration from either someone using their spa bath or from the thermal activity of the region. The bathroom was in need of an upgrade as the mixers were very dirty and the furniture was rusty. I had the buffet breakfast one morning which included the usual hotel hot and cold foods. Overall Im not sure whether I would stay here again unless they put in sound proof rooms, clean up the bathrooms and update the furniture and decor.

Room Tip: Rooms facing north look out over the race course.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLOW111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jemmel R, Front Office Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Disappointed to read that we had presented such a bad room on your arrival traveller8923.

We are currently working on the issues you've mentioned and are aware of the issues that the hotel has and are working on solutions to these problems.

Many thanks for your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

I stayed at the Rydges Rotorua in august last year for 6 nights. We paid for a standard room, but im assuming the booking got stuffed up (NOT BY RYDGES STAFF but our trainee travel agent), as we got upgraded - without an explanation?! Thank god we did! The smell on the first level was foul. On the second level, we could hardly smell a thing.
We had a beautiful big room with a spa, a view to the racecourse and a nice bathroom.
We had issues with the staff as we purchased 24 hours of Internet access and then we found out when checking out they had charged us the entire stay. It was a bit of a debate to try and get a refund, although they eventually did refund the entire ammount minus 24 hours of use.
I highly recommend staying here. Great location and not smelly :-)

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peach1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jemmel R, Front Office Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Many thanks for your comments peach1987

Great to read your comments, looks like we did well in some areas and then totally stuffed up in some others! You will be happy to read that we currently have technicians on-site installing an up-graded inter-net system for the hotel so there should be no issues with the inter-net should you decide to stay with us in the future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

The hotel building itself is not that new and would do with a good refurbishing and despite the rooms being quite large, there are not that clean !
The hotel feels a bit sad actually. Breakfast was nice but I found the overall experience a bit too expensive for what I got.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiRomain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jemmel R, Front Office Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Many thanks for your comments Kiwi_Frenchy

Recently the hotel did celebrate it's '15th' birthday so we have been here for some time now, and we are aware of the issues that we have. You will be happy to hear that we are currently working on certain aspects of the property and the next time you stay I'm sure you will notice the difference.

Again, many thanks for your comments and I hope we can be of service to you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We stayed at Rydges Rotorua for a long weekend and it was fantastic. There were 4 adults and 2 kids in our group and we had interconnected rooms which was great. Rooms were clean, spacious and suited us perfectly. We had a balcony overlooking a racecourse and the water and a fabulous spa bath!!! We didn't eat in the restaurant or use the gym but the pool and spa was great. Staff were very helpful and friendly. I recommend anyone to stay here, singles, groups or couples. Become a priority member and you get some good discounts too!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelbugfromNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jemmel R, Front Office Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Great comments TravelbugfromNZ

Seems as though we did an awesome job during this stay and its great for the team to see these positive comments come through - many thanks for those and I hope that we are able to provide you with another pleasing experience in the near future.

Again, many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We have stayed here a couple of times now and think it's great...we had a room with a spa that overlooked the race course...was really nice...big rooms...friendly staff...nice comfortable hotel and would definately stay here again...only thing letting it down was all the empty dinner trays that guests had left outside their doors for collection i presume - they line the corridors & don't look to nice.

Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank misschiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jemmel R, Front Office Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Many thanks for your comments misschiff

Great to read that you enjoy your time with us and that you'll be back again. I've handed over you comments regarding the Room Service trays and on your next stay we should hopefully have this all sorted.

Hope to see you in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

After seen the "Rydges Brand Hotels" here in Australia, this hotel really pulls the other Rydges hotels down.

The hotel feels like you are in a hospital when you walk down the Corridors. I opened up my room and I could not believe the cleaning fumes coming out of the bathrooms. The bathrooms need work as the shower nossles needs replacing, the rooms need painting.

I also believe that this is the work of sulphide in the air but, for the amount you paid I would of thought that I would of had a more enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank networkgeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jemmel R, Front Office Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2012

Thanks for you comments networkgeek, not the greatest impression to receive as you walk into a room to get a blast of cleaning fumes, and then to find that the nossles need replacing, not a great impression at all.

You will be happy to read that we are currently painting the rooms in the hotel and that Housekeeping has been advised about the 'fumes' issues so on your return, we should be on top of these issues.

Many thanks for your comments

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
857 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
717 reviews
1.1 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.1 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#11 of 92 in Rotorua
435 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#35 of 92 in Rotorua
1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Rotorua

Address: 272 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#30 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#33 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £64 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Rotorua is located in a park like setting on the edge of the city's Racecourse. The hotel boasts panoramic views towards Lake Rotorua and Mokoia Island. Along with the most spacious guest rooms in the city, offering FREE WIFI, the hotel also has extensive catering facilities, including the Atrium Restaurant and Bar, Mezz Bar, 24 hour room service and over 560sqm of function. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the city centre, Convention Centre and many of the city's main attractions are a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rydges Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Rydges Hotel Rotorua
Rotorua Rydges Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing