We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Rotorua Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rydges Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rydges Rotorua
Ranked #43 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Dunedin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Rotorua Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

We visit Rotorua about three to four times a year to see family and always choose Rydges. Never disppointed its my favourite hotel! This visit we were upgraded to a suite which was fantastic. Also great pizza at the Mezz Bar. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndybayDunedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jemmel R, Front Office Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
Great read and awesome ratings AndybayDunedin

We have had a few alterations to the menu so the next time you're with us you'll have to sample our new selections whilst up in the Mezz bar.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel where we'll try for another up-grade for you.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    429
    246
    115
    88
See reviews for
407
397
36
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

Our room was amazing, Two double beds, bath robes, a Jacuzzi and a balcony with views over the race course

Location ws great for rotorua as some other hotels are much further out of town.

Room Tip: 4th floor over looks the racecourse
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jemmel R, Front Office Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Thanks for your comments and ratings Dave G, looking forward to having you stay with us in the near future.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

This was my 2nd visit here,

We had a family of 5 adults with interconnecting rooms which overlooked the race course and the lake. Rooms are very dated..... please at least polish the timber.

Breakfast was great, they even had gluten free bread, which is rare to find, thank you again.

There is a free laundry located on the ground floor.

Location is fair walk into town though there is a new supermarket (Woolworths) within walking distance.

Only down side to our visit was the paper at every door but not ours, Rydges members should not have to request a paper (we were not asked) Also there is no safe in rooms. Did not eat in the restaurant.

Overall value for money as we got a great deal through the Rydges site.

Room Tip: Overlook race course
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gator0017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jemmel R, Front Office Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Thanks for your comments Gator0017

I have spoken to our H/K department in regards to the timber comments and they are working on that area of the rooms at the moment. Also suprised to read about not receiving a newspaper in the morning - standard practice so I'm not sure what happened there bu I'll need to get the team up to speed in this area as well.

As for the Rydges web site, I couldn't agree with you more. Once you become a member you can get some great deals on properties around Australia and NZ. It was a pity you were unable to dine in the restaurant for either lunch or dinnner but great to see that the gluten free bread was appreciated at breakfast.

Many thanks again for your comments and we hope to be able to host you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

Big rooms, nice views over the surrounding town. Got a great rate on a room and breakfast through Wotif. Carparking is large but quite a walk to the reception area. Decor a bit tired but clean enough. The location is halfway along Fenton Street, so a fair walk to the downtown area.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cadbury64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jemmel R, Front Office Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Many thanks for your comments Cadbury64

WOTIF certainly does have some great deals, but if I can suggest also try Rydges.com when next making a booking, you may be pleasantly suprised. Also we certainly have enough carpark spaces and bus lanes so no issues with parking here!

Hope to see you in the near future

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Rooms were huge but furnished with old furniture. Noise travelled - I don't know if this is something only the first floor rooms experience. I didn't like it primarily because I prefer modern and fresh hotels.

Good customer service though.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jemmel R, Front Office Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Many thanks for your comments Stacey G

Dissapointing to read that you didn't like us but that's okay, hopefully you enjoy/ed the rest of your time in NZ.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rotorua hotels

Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

This hotel I found was rated 4.5 stars (Rydges Website). The good thing going for it is the size of the rooms. They are are large and spacious. Ideal for families as a lot of rooms have two queen size beds in them. The bathroom is spacious too -but not good looking.

The beds were comfortable. Not enough TV channels considering a lot of hotels/motels have Sky 50+ channels now in every room.

We stayed during the school holidays and the hotel offered "Kids Eat and Stay Free" and so there were a lot of under 12 year olds here - everywhere. From the pool, to breakfast etc.

We could not really use the pool due to the amount of children playing and splashing around.

We had breakfast provided in cost both mornings - hot and cold. I was pleased to see that the plates were heated for the hot foot which stops your food instantly going cold when you put it on the plate.

Breakfast was normal - plenty cereals and fruit to choose from, along with croissants and muffins etc. Hot breakfast was scrambled eggs, bacon, tomatoes, mushrooms in a cream sauce, hot cakes and hash browns.

We did not try dinner in the hotel due to the cost.

One 2 occassions in the late afternoon (2 afternoons in a row) hotel staff (housekeeping) used their key to gain entry to our room while we were there. They did not knock and announce themselves so a bit worrying when you may be changing or in the shower, and seeing the door open, could be anyone. And both times they made a mistake in coming into our room.

I would stay here again if I could not get the other accommodate we like. But will not have the ground floor again - the upper floors have all rooms with balcony.

All rooms have their own air con for heat and cold.

Room Tip: Choose a room not on the ground floor so as to have a balcony and can leave windows open if you wish...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwixp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jemmel R, Front Office Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Many thanks for your comments kiwixp

Some good, and some not so - but great to get these as it enables use to see where we need to improve. I have spoken to the relevant departments in regards to your comments and they are currently going through a training programme to ensure that all staff are operating accordingly.

Again, many thanks and kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

.We stayed three nights at the Rydges Hotel, Rotorua. From the outside it looks great; however the rooms are a little disappointing. Our room overlooked the back car park, where a light shone into our room all night.. We did experience a smell, at times, but realised it was sulphur from the nearby volcanic plains. (There is a lot volcanic activity in this area, and the smell can travel some distances). The rooms were a little tired, but satisfied our needs. The bathroom was clean, and towels changed daily.
The menu was not to our suiting, and appeared not to change day by day?
It does have a horse racing track located at the rear which is a pleasent walk, after dinner.

Room Tip: Try for a room overlooking the race course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BREVID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jemmel R, Front Office Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Thanks for your comments BREVID

Sorry that we were unable to meet your expectations during your recent stay, but if you happen to visit us in the future, hopefully we will be able to rectify that.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
1.1 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.1 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#15 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
0.3 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Rotorua

Property: Rydges Rotorua
Address: 272 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#30 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#32 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Rotorua is located in a park like setting on the edge of the city's Racecourse. The hotel boasts panoramic views towards Lake Rotorua and Mokoia Island. Along with the most spacious guest rooms in the city, offering FREE WIFI, the hotel also has extensive catering facilities, including the Atrium Restaurant and Bar, Mezz Bar, 24 hour room service and over 560sqm of function. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the city centre, Convention Centre and many of the city's main attractions are a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rydges Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Rydges Hotel Rotorua
Rotorua Rydges Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing