We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”
Review of Rydges Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rydges Rotorua
Ranked #45 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Taradale, null, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We stayed two nights, first impressions of room was wow it was a good size! We did book for a king bed but got two queens. We did not want to change rooms cause it was a lovely view. Pool was great, happy hour on Friday nite was fantastic! So cheap! Room could have done with cutlery and plates. Breakfast was a buffet and very good staff were lovely....would stay again!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jemmel R, Front Office Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
Many thanks for your comments and ratings Hayley C

Great to see that you'll be visiting us again, hopefully in the not too distant future. Once you've made you booking please drop me a line and I'll ensure that you get a room with a King bed with the view over the race-course with some cutlery and plates as well.

Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    429
    252
    119
    89
See reviews for
414
399
36
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Stratford, Taranaki, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We stayed here for two nights and enjoyed our days looking around the area. Nice place to come back to - we made use of the heated pool (this is great) and our room was clean, comfortable etc. Not everyone is in the room when cleaner is going around but we were, ok by us for her to do her job and we found her pleasant and happy in her work.
The only little gripe we have is the internet connection in our room plug was broken and been business people we had to then pay $8 for half an hour for public internet. Would of given 5 stars if the plug was fixed or the above card not charged for.

Room Tip: If you are interested in using pool ask for 4th floor, convenient when you are going back to your ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jemmel R, Front Office Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Many thanks for your comments and ratings Carol D

After reading the excellent ratings and the comments about the room and maid, I was disappointed to read that the Internet cable in the room was faulty and no-one had replaced it for you, seems like a simply fix so not sure why it was not done - very puzzling?!

However, during your next visit with us I'm sure that we'll have the cable issue fixed and, in the next few months we should have a new wire-less system in the hotel that will make the internet issues a thing of the past.

Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

On arrival the room we were given a card for was not made up but another card was sent up within 5 mins. Nice large room overlooking the racecourse but the toilet was not very clean . The decor is becoming a bit dated especially the benchtops in the bathroom & kitchen . May be just a small thing but we could not set the bedside clock to the correct time -- left a note for housekeeping to please clean toilet & set clock . Toilet better , clock not adjusted.
Lovely clean hot pools . No local papers at reception or surrounding area , felt this was unusual as other places we have stayed in Rotorua have these.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jemmel R, Front Office Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Many thanks for your comments and ratings Wendy S

Looks like we did well in some areas and in need of work in others, something that we can work on as a hotel. The rooms are a good size and I hope that your stay with us was after we had the 'dream beds' installed throughout, that would have made for a very comfortable stay.

Thanks again for you comments and we look forward to being able to host you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Good accommodations in a central location. We didn't have a car so we walked to TE PUIA (the Maori Show and dinner) and also to the i center (about 30 minutes each direction). In hindsight a simple understanding of the bus system would have saved us a lot of time, which we did the next day.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoronaTraveler22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jemmel R, Front Office Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Thank you for yur comments and ratings CoronaTraveler22

Pity that you weren't made away of the bus situation earlier and then you would have able to see more of Rotorua sooner, but lucky Rotorua is nice and compact - didn't have you walking for too long.

Thanks again and I hope that you enjoyed the rest of your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cooma nsw
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Due to Airline problems we arrived late, 1 am the staff member was wonderful given the early hour. The corner spa room was large, clean, quiet, airy and warm (July) overlooking the horse track. We arrived with no luggage because of the airline problem. Urgently needed the internet connection to work.It would not in the room or lobby. But got charged not once but twice for the non privilage.

Room Tip: Would love to have spent more time there, maybe next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank senior000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jemmel R, Front Office Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
Thanks for your comments senior000

Was suprised to read that you had charges on your room for internet yet you were unable to connect - that's got me scratching my head indeed! Hopefully that and the fact that you did not have any luggage didn't put too much of a dampner on you stay with us.

Looking forward to hosting you in the future.

Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

I stayed for one night back in April and I went through a hotel website. It was their mystery hotel for about £50 per night. I was very pleasantly surprised as the hotel had a lovely marble entrance and was very expensive-looking. The room was HUGE and had 2 massive beds with a view of the side of the car park and some greenery. This was no matter though. I checked in early and headed to the Thermal viallge (2 min drive away- see my other reviews) and came back after a days sight seeing. There was a fridge and kettle etc and the pool in the morning was just outside my room on the 4th floor. The pool was clean and spacious with a small bubble jet intergral pool.
I would recommend this hotel as it is close to everything.

Room Tip: 4th floor was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillchelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jemmel R, Front Office Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Thanks for your comments Gillchelt

It looks as if you made your bookings with the WOTIF.com website which does have some excellent specials. It also looks as if you had enjoyed your time with us and I hope that if you do decide to head this way in the future, you'll think of us and make your bookings directly.

Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Due to a insurance job at our house we had to move out for a week. We stayed 5 nights in a suite at Rydges, Rotorua. Congratulations to management! - what a huge improvement - not only in the rooms (brand new beds!), decor refurbished and the food was excellent. the staff were friendly. good on you guys,

Room Tip: if you get the opportunity for a suite - they are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 230Lynette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jemmel R, Front Office Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Many thanks for your comments Lynette87

We have received many positive guest comments in regards to the new beds and they have proven to be very popular. We are also currently working on all aspects of the property and from your comments it looks as if we are on the right track.

Hopefully the next time we get to host you and your family, it will not be for any insurance work which is being done on your own home.

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
1.1 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.1 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#16 of 92 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.3 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Rotorua

Property: Rydges Rotorua
Address: 272 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#30 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#32 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Rotorua is located in a park like setting on the edge of the city's Racecourse. The hotel boasts panoramic views towards Lake Rotorua and Mokoia Island. Along with the most spacious guest rooms in the city, offering FREE WIFI, the hotel also has extensive catering facilities, including the Atrium Restaurant and Bar, Mezz Bar, 24 hour room service and over 560sqm of function. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the city centre, Convention Centre and many of the city's main attractions are a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Rydges Hotel Rotorua
Rotorua Rydges Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing