We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise”
Review of Rydges Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rydges Rotorua
Ranked #46 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
Reviewed 10 January 2013

During my recent tour in New Zealand with a tour company, I was not looking forward to my stay in Rotorua. I had stayed there before and couldn't wait to get away from the odor of the sulfur. However, I found that the odor at this hotel was not as intense as the last place I stayed. The room ,was very large and spacious. There was also a jacuzzi tub, which I used and loved. It was a little stuffy, but the ceiling fan worked fine, and I was very comfortable. The hotel is walking distance from the main part of town. I could easily have stayed longer. And I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilynjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan L, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Hi Marilynjl. Thanks so much for taking the time to review your experience with us. It's awesome to hear we were able to make your dreaded stay in Rotorua a pleasant and enjoyable one. Yes, the sulfur smell can certainly be overpowering but, thankfully, where we're situated it's not that strong. Really glad to hear you loved our spa baths, and our convenient location too, and we very much look forward to having you stay with us again in the future. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    430
    254
    120
    91
See reviews for
416
403
36
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 10 January 2013

I had overseas visitors with me and had assured them that we were booking into a reputable hotel. Reception service was excellent and the rooms were all good, except for the toilet which was stained and could do with a good scrub. From reading the reviews and from what I know of Rydges, I was expecting the breakfast to be good. Very disappointing - a poor selection of items and staff were not topping up items that were finished. The scrambled eggs were the worst I've ever tasted - had to discard after one mouthful. Likewise with the pancakes - they were like plastic, an insult to pancakes!
Would possibly stay here again if I am forced to but would definitely have breakfast elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welltrave11ed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan L, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Hi welltrave11ed. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with our hotel. I'm glad to hear you found the Reception staff excellent and the rooms of a good standard. I can assure you the toilets are scrubbed everyday but unfortunately over time and due to the sulfur they have become stained. I'm very sorry to hear how disappointing you found the breakfast. We're very proud of our new Buffet breakfast and to hear that it was not of the highest standard is a real shock. I have passed your comments on to the relevant departments who will look into this to ensure no one else has a similar experience.
I do hope you give us another chance so that we're able to change your mind. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rotorua hotels

Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 9 January 2013

I've stayed at the Rydges twice now and enjoyed each stay very much. The rooms were clean, tidy, no offensive smells. All of the facilities worked, including the ceiling fan. The spa and bathroom were well clean. I see comments like the toilets were stained, which is silly. That's just regular wear and tear, and not something that can be scrubbed clean. The rooms are large, and sparse. The beds were AMAZING! They're like sleeping on a marshmellow. Excellent for a good night's sleep. The Mezz bar was also nice for a relaxed drink before dinner. Would happily go back and recommend to others.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan L, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Hi Emma M. Thanks so much for taking the time to review your stay with us and for highlighting all of the positive experiences you had. LOL, I love that you felt like you were sleeping on a marshmellow - that's why they call them DREAM Beds I think! Thank you for also noting that our toilets are clean. We do scrub them everyday but, like you say, the natural wear and tear from the sulfur means they have some staining. I'm also very happy to hear you enjoyed the Mezz bar. We're introducing some new ideas to the bar, and the restaurant, so I very much hope you come back again soon and let us know what you think of them. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night whilst visiting the thermal pools.

We had booked a standard room. When we arrived to check-in we were told we had been upgraded to a room with a spa bath.

If you like horse racing, the location of the room (on the level below the reception area) is ok. If you have 2 large suitcases weighing in excess of 20kg as well as pull-along cabin luggage and backpacks, it's not good at all. There is no lift or ramp down to that level.

Th room itself seemed nice enough when we first walked in, but on slightly closer inspection the bath was absolutely filthy with really bedded in grime (and so God only know what festering in the pipes of the water jets) and the tiles were bowing out from the wall in the shower, ready to fall off at any minute, potentially when one (or children!) was actaully in the shower at the time.

Desperate for a bath we went to a local supermarket and bought heavy duty cleaner to try and get the bath to a stage where someone would be cleaner when they got out, than they were when they got in. The fumes of that cleaner made breathing rather uncomfortable, but after 30 minutes or scrubbing and rinsing and scrubbing again, I was finally able to use it. The shower (in another room) was used very briefly, so as to minimise the risk of ceramics falling, shattering and cutting legs and feet to shreds.

The service in the restaurant was average, at best, poor in general. Food was overpriced, poorly served and in my case not even as advertised on the menu.

Oh, and no wifi in the bedrooms. VERY annoying. Most tourists don't travel with laptops these days.

This is not a hotel in the 4 to 5 star range. They have a good location for horse racing and they have most definitely over traded on that plus point, to the detriment of good service; safe, clean rooms and useful little touches like lifts and wifi. I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mouses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan L, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review, 29 January 2013
Hi Mouses. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay in our hotel. I have passed these comments onto management who are addressing each of the things you've outlined and these will be followed up on to ensure your experience is not repeated. With regards to the WIFI in the rooms we are in the process of getting that sorted so hopefully in the next few months that will no longer be an issue.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2013

I stayed two nights in a 'deluxe spa' room. It had good views over the racecourse, very comfortable beds, nice big bathroom. Air conditioning wouldn't have gone astray as our room was quite hot and the fan squeaky. Our neighbours were noisy prompting two calls to reception around midnight, but the Rydges staff promptly dealt with the problem and we were quickly asleep again. Breakfast was good with a wide variety of food available. Overall, I can't complain and I feel we got value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances_Mary255106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan L, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review, 29 January 2013
Hi Frances_Mary255106. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with our hotel. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us :) I do however apologise for your noisy neighbours, the heat in your room and your squeaky fan. I hope on your next visit you don't experience any of these! :)
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jhb
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Spent a weekend here with my family and friends in Dec 2012. The room was huge and the king sized bed was soft and comfortable. The toilet was stained and the balconey was dusty and full of spider webs. They had a spa bath in a seperate room but this bath had not been cleaned:( Overall - I would not go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaynaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan L, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review, 29 January 2013
Hi kaynaid. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I have passed your comments on to the House Keeping Department who will be looking into this matter - I apologise for the spa bath & balcony being unclean, this is unacceptable. With regards to the toilet, unfortunately, with all the sulfar in the air plus normal wear and tear over the years, it doesn't matter how hard we scrub them they still get stained. We do, however, do our very best to keep this to a minimum.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, CA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

The beds were comfortable and our double queen room was large. The rest of the Rydges Rotorua left a lot to be desired. There was no air conditioning, horrible fitness room facilities and worn out carpet in the common areas. After traveling through Rotorua, we would recommend one of the quaint and well maintained motels.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrettH88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan L, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review, 29 January 2013
Hi BrettH88. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm sorry that you were unimpressed by your experience and have passed your comments on to the relevant Department Managers. We are in the process of replacing & updating our gym facilities so I am hopeful that it will be looking like a modern and impressive gym soon.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.1 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#19 of 92 in Rotorua
821 reviews
0.7 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#16 of 92 in Rotorua
385 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
0.8 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Rotorua

Property: Rydges Rotorua
Address: 272 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#30 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#32 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Rotorua is located in a park like setting on the edge of the city's Racecourse. The hotel boasts panoramic views towards Lake Rotorua and Mokoia Island. Along with the most spacious guest rooms in the city, offering FREE WIFI, the hotel also has extensive catering facilities, including the Atrium Restaurant and Bar, Mezz Bar, 24 hour room service and over 560sqm of function. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the city centre, Convention Centre and many of the city's main attractions are a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rydges Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Rydges Hotel Rotorua
Rotorua Rydges Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing