We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More work to be done”
Review of Rydges Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rydges Rotorua
Ranked #46 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“More work to be done”
Reviewed 21 June 2008

I booked this Hotel before looking at Trip Advisor so was pretty worried due to some of the previous bad reviews. Overall a average experience, the room did have some faults - the heating was very noisy i.e. the sound of dripping water went right throughout the night and two light bulbs were out. The bathroom is a little tired looking and the reception on the TV was poor. On the plus side the room was large; the bed was comfy and overall quite comfortable. Ate at the restaurant but transferred to my room as quite frankly the restaurant was freezing, this is partly due to it being in a large atrium but they good have some heating. The pool is very pleasant but the Sauna was out of order. If they got on top of their maintenance this would be a good hotel.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GoldBelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GraemeRutherford, General Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review, 24 August 2008
Dear Dulouz,

Thank you for the feedback I appreciate the sentiment of your comments and wish to happily advise that an on-going maintenance program has been running for a while now. With regards to the Sauna - I apologise it was not working - but for Health & Safety reasons it had to be placed Out of Order while we await a new part to be installed.

Despite the fact that we were not totally successful in meeting your expectations, I hope we can use your feedback to improve our services for future guests.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your observations

Kind regards,

Graeme Rutherford
General Manager
RYDGES ROTORUA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    435
    255
    121
    96
See reviews for
425
406
37
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2008

A lot of the recent reviews are quite critical on the hotel. Whilst I can agree with some of these points, the hotel also has some pluses.

We stayed here at Queens Birthday weekend in June. We booked through their website directly and signed up for the priority guest card which got a discount off the room rate (still waiting for the membership card by the way).

We have been to Rotorua about 10 times in the last ten years, having stayed at a number of the hotels and motels in the area. This review is based on the hotel itself, and comparing it to other hotels and motels in the area that we would pay similar money too.

The good.

The room was large by Rotorua hotel standards. Our room had two double beds (but only one bedside table that was about a metre away from both beds???)

A nice new LCD TV (Good size as well) (32inch)

The room had a high ceiling, as we were on the top floor.

The reception staff were very good, and the pool was very nice. We went for a dip about 9 pm and had a great swim and spa all to ourselves. There is a small gym their with a couple of pieces of equiptment.

The lobby was very good, and the bar was ok. A corporate feeling to this hotel

The location of this hotel is very good. It is very close to the shoipping centres (About a ten minute walk). It is also a short 5 minute drive to town.

The Bad.

There are a number of things here..

The rooms are in a dire need of a refit. The bathrooms, whilst are an ok standard, are feeling run down. This is from the tiles being mouldy to the toilet flush button being loose. The shower head was aged, and the fittings were starting to fall apart.

The rooms are heated by oil heating, which leave a dripping sound if you leave them on. We heated the room whilst we were out and turned off the heater once we returned.

There was noise from the corridor. However, you do get this in a number of hotels and motels.

We attended the concert and Hangi, it was priced right, but hat was about the best of this. The food appeared not to be traditional Hangi, but prepared in a commercial kitchen. We were highly disappointed. The concert was also very amateurish.

We signed up as a priority guest, but did not receive the in hotel benefits of this.

Overall we would not stay at this hotel again (unless the price was really cheap). There are a lot of choices in Rotorua, and I would rate this the worse hotel/motel we have stayed in Rotorua. However saying that, the hotel was not unacceptable, just not up to expectations for a hotel chain of this reputation.

If you get a cheap price, then the hotel may be worth considering. If you get a free room, then sure... Otherwise please check out the hundreds of other properties in the Rotorua area.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Rooms needs updating
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobdobalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GraemeRutherford, General Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review, 24 August 2008
Dear Bobdobalina,

Thank you for the feedback I appreciate the sentiment of your comments and thank you for taking the time to list your opinions of both the good & the not so good.

I hope to use your feedback to improve our services in the future.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your observations

Kind regards,

Graeme Rutherford
General Manager
RYDGES ROTORUA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rotorua hotels

Surfers Paradise, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2008

My girlfriend and I had to attend a product release in rotorua that evening and instead of driving back to tauranga which is about 45 min-1 hour we decided to stay the night. I booked online with last minute deals and as we like to stay in a really good hotel with nice furniture and a bit of luxury we were disappointed we definately expected a little bit more attention to detail. We had a special rate of $139 intead of $290 which we thought was a good deal especially for a 4/5 star hotel awesome. The hotel has good location close to everything and presentation outside was good, parking was good lots of parking and security. It is right beside the race coarse. As you walk in lobby and antrium very impressive, staff at front desk was friendly and helpful. Easy to find rooms nice furniture thru-out the hallways to your room, dinning room very nice and bar area you can see from your level or bar as they have big glass windows to view. We booked a deluxe room with two double/queen bed. The room looked like the picture on the internet. However, there were a few things that i got picky about as i stay at alot of hotels you then seem to notice a little bit more.... finer detail in the bathroom towels and bathmath very worn and tatty.....paint peeling from bottom of door, no plug for sink, tiles and bathsink and walls do-not match colour, shower head over spa bath no seperate shower, your could see grime or mildew thru-out the tiles, towel rack was rusty just cheap. kitchen - no forks or cutlery in drawer..tap was leeking....small fridge had build up of ice...no dish cloth to wipe bench or t-towel. two light bulbs that needed to be replaced. The beeding was good soft sheets nice bedding and soft bed. The 32 panasonic lcd was good and the furniture was good too very small balcony. The fan made a tapping sound like you are trying to hammer a nail in the wall when you turned it on which lasted for about 10-15 minutes then went away, the rooms were very warm no air conditioning.The room itself was spacious very impressed with size. However i wouldnt pay full rate per night for this room of $290 as one would expect alot more for that. The pool was a nice area and the gym small no treadmill.

  • Liked — Good parking impressive lobby and antrium/dinning and bar area
  • Disliked — Detail to room-bathroom/kitchen
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank FLO084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GraemeRutherford, General Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review, 24 August 2008
Dear FLO084,

Thank you for taking the time to fill out the feedback section of this site. It is always extremely pleasing to honest opinions of our Hotel and its services. I appreciate your comments relating ot the bathrooms - and we are indeed focusing on these areas currently.

I also agree with your remark regarding our gym and steps are currently in progress to obtain a replacement treadmill for the hotel.

I appreciate that you chose to stay with us at Rydges Rotorua and I hope the product release went well.

Once again, thank you for the feedback and for taking the time to write about us. We look forward to having an opportunity to be of service to you in the future.


Regards

Graeme Rutherford
General Manager
RYDGES ROTORUA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2008

My family and I recently stayed here for 2 nights during the Easter break. The lobby is very impressive and the girl at the front desk was very professional and polite. Our room was not what I had expected. Since there were 6 of us in our group, we stayed in a room that had 3 double beds. We checked in at 2.30pm and our bathroom did not have any towels. The vanity basin had not been cleaned-there was dried toothpaste stains on the top. The bathroom tiles had mould and some of them were cracked. The walls were dirty and there was a hole in the plaster behind the front door. The rooms could also do with an air conditioner and it was extremely hot and uncomfortable during the night. The cleaning lady gave us an extra fan- she was lovely and very helpful. The restaurant is very nice and has a great children's menu. Overall, I think this hotel needs to be refurbished and the rooms need a good clean. Until this happens, I will not stay here.

  • Liked — Lobby, restaurant
  • Disliked — lack of airconditioning.
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LegoMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GraemeRutherford, General Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review, 21 April 2008
Dear Legomum

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts. Our goal is to provide a totally satisfying experience to each and every person who stays at Rydges Rotorua. Unfortunately in your case, although you had some positive comments to make, we were not successful in accomplishing this goal.

I will take on board the concerns you raised in your comments with the view to help me make our offering at Rydges Rotorua better for future guests.

Before closing I want to say that with the large number of hotels available in the market place, I realise that you had a choice. I greatly appreciate that you chose to stay with us at Rydges Rotorua.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your observations online.

Kind regards,

Graeme Rutherford
General Manager
RYDGES ROTORUA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2008

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in February 08. This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in and we have been travelling for over 25 years to many countries.

The rooms were dismal and gloomy with hardly any light.
There were 4 miniscule lights in the ceiling, 2 of which weren't working and despite our mentioning this to Reception nothing was done about it.

They have notices posted about how good their maintenance department is. The lights weren't fixed, one of the chairs was in danger of collapsing and the lift maintenance certificate appeared to be out of date!

We were in a "spa deluxe room" - there was nothing "deluxe" about it. The spa bath was disgusting. There was one comfortable chair for 2 people and 2 very rickety and uncomfortable dining-type chairs

When we arrived there was one receptionist on duty. We asked if our cases and bags could be brought up and found that the poor girl had to bring the bags up herself. If we had known this we would have brought them up ourselves.

Breakfast was acceptable but guests had to sign in first and say which breakfast they wanted (continental or buffet). Then they were left to their own devices. There was no clearing of plates until guests had left.

I have read the management responses and it seems that they are doing nothing to improve the standards or perhaps they don't have any say in the matter.

Our comments were submitted to management at the time so it will be interesting to read later reviews to see if anything has improved!

  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RosinaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GraemeRutherford, General Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review, 21 April 2008
Dear RosinaK,

Thank you for the feedback I appreciate you taking the time to list your comments.

Apologies for the maintenance issues within your room on arrival. I can also assure you that our lifts were fully certified at the time - we were awaiting the certificates to be sent from our Lift Contractor.

I appreciate that you felt one of our female team should not take your bags - however we hire both male and female team members for the Front Office Department - and at times all staff help out, including myself, with baggage delivery.

Finally with regards to your breakfast comments - you will find that almost all large hotel restaurants expect guests to sign in first prior to having a breakfast buffet. This also assists the staff in being aware of any inclusions you may have as part of your package - a standard practice.

Unfortunately, we were not successful in meeting your expectations overall. Hopefully we can use your feedback to improve our services

Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your observations

Kind regards,

Graeme Rutherford
General Manager
RYDGES ROTORUA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.1 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
839 reviews
0.7 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
696 reviews
0.1 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#15 of 92 in Rotorua
408 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Rotorua

Property: Rydges Rotorua
Address: 272 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#30 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#32 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Rotorua is located in a park like setting on the edge of the city's Racecourse. The hotel boasts panoramic views towards Lake Rotorua and Mokoia Island. Along with the most spacious guest rooms in the city, offering FREE WIFI, the hotel also has extensive catering facilities, including the Atrium Restaurant and Bar, Mezz Bar, 24 hour room service and over 560sqm of function. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the city centre, Convention Centre and many of the city's main attractions are a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rydges Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Rydges Hotel Rotorua
Rotorua Rydges Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing