We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I must have had a different breakfast service!”
Review of Rydges Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rydges Rotorua
Ranked #45 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“I must have had a different breakfast service!”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

The room was huge and although the decor is tired it was very comfortable. Would have been better to be able to see the TV from the spa bath, but hey that's not a deal breaker.
However, on going to breakfast we were told we hadn't booked the package (we had) and that we could choose between an expensive continental or an exorbitant full cooked buffet. Having argued the toss with the woman at the counter, we went back to reception who rang her and sorted it.
The food was undercooked (the "fried" tomatoes were stone cold and raw) The scrambled eggs were liquid and the streaky bacon (which did taste good) was dripping with grease and limp. My husband had to find someone as the juice bottles were all empty.
While eating I observed the woman supposedly on the front counter wandering round the restaurant completely ignoring people standing waiting to be seated. One couple spent several minutes trying to get her attention before she finally sighed and went over. The staff didn't make eye contact at any time - one walked right past this couple and could have said that she would find the maitre d', but not a word. Then she disappeared all together and another couple stood for an age before someone finally acknowledged them.
I would stay there again, but the overpriced restaurant bad service put a dampener on our weekend.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quaifeclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jemmel R, Front Office Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Thank you for your comments and ratings Quaifeclan

I have spoken with the EAM in regards to your comments and we were both disappointed in what had happened during your time in the Atrium. Our aim is to ensure that levels of service and food presentation are amounst the highest and recently it is clear that as a team we are lacking in this area and I do apologise.

The Food and Beverage team have been spoken to as a whole and I believe that we should have our issues sorted in the near future.

Should you decide to stay with us in the future, I am sure that you will notice the improvement.

Thanks again

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    429
    252
    119
    89
See reviews for
414
399
36
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Please refer to my "5-star" rating of the Rydges Rotorua restaurant "Atrium Restaurant". I was not an accommodation guest at this hotel. However, had a quick drink at the Mezz Bar, prior to dining downstairs at their Atrium Restaurant (awesome. see review). The bar young male waiter was rude, and I was an inconvenience even him walking to the bar to serve me. He wasn't run off his feet, with just one couple there. He just stared at me (not sure I was that interesting), never said a word "no hello, can I help you"...nothing!!!! Didn't ask me if I wanted another drink when finished. Asked for a beer and again not a word. Seriously he should look for a job outside the hospitality industry, and Rydges should review suitability of the recruiting manager!!! Beer selection also poor (taps weren't working, and limited bottle beer)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jemmel R, Front Office Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Thank you David B for your comments and ratings in regards to your visit to Rydges Rotorua.

It is very important for us to hear the views of our guests, whether they are positive or negative, I am sorry to hear that on this occasion you where faced with some unsatisfactory experiences.

I have raised these issues with the Food and Beverage Supervisor with regards to the staff member in the Mezz Bar and like me, they are disappointed to learn of your comments. They have since spoken with the Staff member involved to ensure this does not happen again.

We accept full responsibility and sincerely apologise for your unpleasant experience. It is our role to ensure that all services provided to our guests are carried out willingly and obligingly and that all guests’ customer services expectations are exceeded. I can assure you that we treat our guest comments very seriously and take decisive action to correct our shortcomings.

If you have any queries or further concerns, please do not hesitate to contact me direct, I do hope we have the pleasure of your company in the near future either at Rydges Rotorua or any Rydges property to enjoy the delights of our hotels and I am sure we will prove ourselves better hosts.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rotorua hotels

TOLGA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Like the other reviews, I was happily surprised by the size of the rooms, we had a double double and their was heaps of space. The hotel is in need of a revamp, but that said, we were only their to sleep and the beds were the most comfortable beds on our whole trip. Breakfast was great, plenty to choose from. If you're not already it pays to be a Rydges Priority Guest, it gives you discounts on rooms and meals. What we paid for what we got, we definitely got a great deal.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TamP11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turangi, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I really like staying here. Rooms are spacious, I had room with fill able spa. Bed would have to be one of the most luxurious comfortable ever. Located a little way out of CBD, I had diner here which was very good and one of The best breakfast buffets ever.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clinton52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Although VERY tired looking, spacious rooms, good value for money and a good buffet breakfast make this place a good spot to enjoy Rotorua's plethora of tourist delights from. No free wifi is a bummer though, and won't sit that well with overseas visitors.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shot639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
156 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Yes, it's your standard big 'ol hotel in a tourist town, but the Rydges manages to add a little character to the experience. The rooms are HUGE - my 2nd floor room contained two (yes, 2 ) king sized beds with plenty of space to spare. Aforementioned beds are extremely comfortable, and we had a nice view out over the racecourse (watching the horses train in the mist early one morning was pretty cool).
They're currently refreshing the decor and some areas feel a little tired. However, the room was very clean and housekeeping were efficient and unobtrusive.
Hats off to the staff here too - a friendly and welcoming bunch, exactly the sort of people we need to welcome international visitors.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KentandMichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

I stayed here with some friends and we were all very pleased with the hotel - it was centrally located, clean and the room was spacious and easily accommodated the three of us. There was a large screen t.v and plenty of storage room for our luggage and it was nicely heated. The carpark out the back is safe and monitored with guest entry. The beds had plenty of pillows and there were enough towels but while there were tea and coffee making facilities there were only two cups and two wine glasses in a room with two double beds. We ended up asking for an extra mug but this was taken away when the room was serviced the next morning which was a bit of a hassle. The plumbing is a little noisy but not excessively so. Overall though, a great place to stay and excellent value for money. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keitha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
1.1 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.1 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#16 of 92 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.3 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Rotorua

Property: Rydges Rotorua
Address: 272 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#30 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#32 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Rotorua is located in a park like setting on the edge of the city's Racecourse. The hotel boasts panoramic views towards Lake Rotorua and Mokoia Island. Along with the most spacious guest rooms in the city, offering FREE WIFI, the hotel also has extensive catering facilities, including the Atrium Restaurant and Bar, Mezz Bar, 24 hour room service and over 560sqm of function. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the city centre, Convention Centre and many of the city's main attractions are a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Rydges Hotel Rotorua
Rotorua Rydges Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing