We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty decent-good location”
Review of Rydges Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rydges Rotorua
Ranked #45 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pretty decent-good location”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed here for one night - good deal through WOTIF (paid $112 for a spa room, 2 X Queen beds). The location is great as the rooms at the back overlook a race course and you can view the major landmarks of Rotorua. Plus, you don't get the sulphur smell at Rydges. The look and feel is quite grand at the entrance, the rooms very spacious, the bathrooms are a bit tired but can't complain as it was still good value for money. In the end it turned out to be a good stay, no dramas and we would recommend to anyone if they are getting a good deal.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vmakhni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James B, Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Vmakhni,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay. The team were thrilled to see you had an enjoyable stay and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

James Billing
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    430
    254
    120
    90
See reviews for
416
402
36
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
CHENNAI,INDIA
Level Contributor
253 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This is a centrally located hotel ,quite close to most attractions. We were a large group and it will be worthwhile for hotel staff in touristic destinations to be patient with guests who are from a different culture."wait to be seated" at the entrance to the restaurant was not understood by all in my group. The lady in charge was quite rude to them. Breakfast was great.

Room Tip: The fourth floor rooms are big
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RAVI K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James B, Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Ravi K,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am glad to hear you enjoyed our popular rise breakfast buffet. I also appreciate you sharing your experience with our breakfast cashier, we have used this as an opportunity to reflect and improve on our service delivery. I hope to welcome you and your group back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

James Billing
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed in a deluxe spa room, which is huge with a really nice spa/balcony arrangement. Our room had some scruffy furniture, but the enormous king bed would be one of the best I've ever slept in - and I'm very fussy about beds.

I was a bit nervous about the level of service after reading some of the recent reviews, but it appears Rydges have taken note and our service was very good. Check in was pleasant, the breakfast staff were cheerful and attentive.

Overall a great value stay and I'll definitely return.

Room Tip: There is a bit of noise from feet in the rooms above, so if a light sleeper I'd go for top floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ease2underpants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James B, Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Ease2underpants,

I sincerely appreciate your feedback and the staffs were thrilled to learn that you had a great stay with us. I do hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

James Billing
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Stayed here for two nights on our honeymoon. The hotel was a bit dated (looks a bit 90s) but the room was spotless when we checked in, and had a view over the racecourse (would be amazing on track days). We were given a bottle of bubbly upon check in and the front desk staff were very nice. Some downsides: The Mezz Bar staff member we got didn't know how to make cocktails (during the cocktail happy hour); when we ordered, he took the drinks list so to work out what goes in a martini, then charged us the normal cost for it (even though it was happy hour). When we got the cocktails around 5 minutes later, to my surprise, my martini was watery! Not sure what the food is like as we did not eat anything there. Checkout was quick and easy however, beware they pass on a surcharge for using any credit card (in this case master card) which seems a bit over the top for an established hotel chain. Would recommend the Rydges for anyone who wants a cheap, clean and efficient stay in Rotorua, (better with a car in case you want to eat out).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whatthe2070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James B, Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Whatthe2070,

Congratulations on your recent wedding. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I have followed up with the team in the restaurant to ensure we resolve the issues you experienced. We wish you and your partner all the best and hope to welcome you back for your anniversary in the near future,

Kind Regards,

James Billing
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

Good points: GREAT room service food (steak dinner & banana toffee pudding), view over race course, enormous room, super helpful & friendly staff, clean, good gym equipment
Could improve: wifi kept dropping, shower very small & need a shower cap if you want to keep hair dry ladies but none provided
Overall very happy & would stay again

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Roseygirl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James B, Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Roseygirl13,

Thank you for your kind feedback. The team in the kitchen were proud to hear you enjoyed your in room dinning experience. I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future,

Kind Regards,

James Billing
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

The Rydges is clean and tidy, with friendly check-in staff and easy on-site parking if you're arriving with a rental car. The interior of the hotel and the room are dated, but they're spotless, the TV is new and the bed is super-comfortable. The location is great - just a short drive into town - although I wouldn't recommend it if you don't have a car. The bar staff weren't particularly knowledgeable about cocktails, but that can be forgiven since it was a Tuesday night! Value for money was good - except the 2% surcharge on credit cards (Visa, M/C) - considering nearly everyone pays with them these days and no other place we've stayed in NZ so far has passed on that charge, it's not necessary.

Room Tip: The King Spa Suite has your own private spa and balcony - ask for a room overlooking the racecourse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snarkyroxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Got a great deal for two, upgraded to spa bath with full buffet breakfast. The spa bath was only just adequate, water not very hot, only one or two jets worked. Breakfast was great but the restaurant was so busy, dishes kept running out, disappointing couldn't get any eggs to go with the bacon!!! had run out, more was coming but really can't put the bacon back to keep warm. The room was in need of a lot of TLC. The best thing was the beds, it was so comfortable, nicest bed in the hotel/motel ever.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobynB09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.1 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
820 reviews
0.7 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#16 of 92 in Rotorua
384 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
0.8 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Rotorua

Property: Rydges Rotorua
Address: 272 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#30 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#32 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Rotorua is located in a park like setting on the edge of the city's Racecourse. The hotel boasts panoramic views towards Lake Rotorua and Mokoia Island. Along with the most spacious guest rooms in the city, offering FREE WIFI, the hotel also has extensive catering facilities, including the Atrium Restaurant and Bar, Mezz Bar, 24 hour room service and over 560sqm of function. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the city centre, Convention Centre and many of the city's main attractions are a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rydges Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Rydges Hotel Rotorua
Rotorua Rydges Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing