We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rydges Rotorua
Nearby Hotels
US$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Arista of Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$137
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prince's Gate Hotel(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$191
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$558
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$470
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Braeside Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$118
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cedarwood Lakeside(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,302)
Filter reviews
1,303 results
Traveller rating
316
455
282
139
111
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
316
455
282
139
111
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrace courserace trackspa bathmezz baratrium restaurantbuffet breakfastindoor poolbalcony overlookinghuge roomtop floorkids loved the poolbit datedbeds were very comfortablenew zealandracecourse
Filter
Updating list...
793 - 798 of 1,303 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in a room on level 1. First night the room was noisy as there was a wedding on and what we think was children running and jumping in the room above us. We mentioned this to reception the following day where we were told we could move rooms if we liked, however this was a bit inconvenient with lots of sight seeing to do in the day. The second night was much more quiet which was great. The room was very clean with small kitchenette however only two of items (cups etc) were supplied for 3 people. Bathroom was also clean and a good size! With no air conditioning it was warm (April) and we needed the fan and windows open. The pool was great, clean and lots of seating.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Charlotte M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James B, General Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Dear Charlotte M,

Firstly thank you for taking the time to share your experience following your recent stay with us. I would like to apologise for the disruption you experienced on your first nights stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

James Billing
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Great room at a great room rate.
Enjoyed the 2 night stay.
Only problem was no aircon and the room was very warm, especially at night. The hotel provided a ceiling fan and a vertical plugin fan to help. Opening the window did not seem to provide any breeze!!
Indoor pool was a big plus and plenty of parking available. Buffet breakfast was also a feature in the atrium restaurant. This was a really nice way to start the day and we had late extended breakfasts both days

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmhjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James B, General Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Dear Cmhjl,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am glad you enjoyed our Rise breakfast and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

James Billing
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Had a little luxury after backpacking and Rydges ticked our boxes. We had a room overlooking the racecourse with big beds, spa bath, fridge, kettle (shame there's no cooking facility as with other Rydges hotels) and a shower room. The hotel was being painted so we got a great deal, what's a little paint when you have already got used to the sulphur. Stayed 2 nights but wish we could have stayed more. Big car park, easy access to town. The reception staff were really helpful, Matthew especially. Downside if you want to call it a, the room furniture has seen better days but all fully functional and comfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MinxyMeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James B, General Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear MinxyMeg,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay with us. Matthew and the team were excited to learn that you had a great stay with us and are grateful for your kind comments. We wish you all the best with your onward travels and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

James Billing
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Although the furniture in our room was outdated, the room was very spacious indeed. There was a balcony, overlooking the racecourse with a view of the lake and some thermal springs in the distance. In addition to the bathroom, there was a huge spa, also with views of the racecourse.
The bed was comfortable with good linen.
As the weather was hot and sunny we appreciated being able to have a swim in the hotel's indoor pool on our return to the hotel each day. The towelling robes provided were useful for this.
We didn't eat in the restaurant but did have breakfast in the temporary dining room. (The usual room was being refurbished.) The breakfast was adequate but it was a bit odd that they ran out of teaspoons...
The hotel is generally a bit tired but they are clearly in the process of refurbishing.
There was ample parking and free wifi.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Maureen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James B, General Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear Maureen G,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience following your stay with us. We appreciate your kind comments and whilst it is still a mystery where the teaspoons may have been, we have ample now. I am glad you enjoyed our Free WIFI as well as our roof top swimming pool. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future,

Kind Regards,

James Billing
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Unfortunately, due to the gradings permitted on this site I couldn't give this hotel the grade that I thought it deserved, and that is Good. It certainly was not 'average' and is certainly wasn't 'very good.' So out of fairness I have rated it very good and written this explanation. On a scale out of 10 we would have given it a 7.

We were on a touring holiday in New Zealand and this was our second port of call after arriving in Auckland where we spent the first three days. The hotel is easy to find, and has plenty of free parking within easy reach of the reception. We were quickly and efficiently booked in for our 2 night stay and found our room to be spacious well equipped with a lovely view of the racecourse and the sulphur beds beyond.

During our stay the dining room was out of action and they had set up a temporary room for eating. Since we enjoy eating out this wasn't a problem and we did take breakfast at the hotel. As with most hotels in New Zealand we found breakfast to be expensive. It also lacked variety and quality as well as cutlery! We eventually gave up eating breakfasts at the hotels and purchased muesli bars and orange juice in supermarkets along our route, tea and coffee making facilities were standard in all the hotels we stayed at so getting breakfast in our room was easy.

We loved the swimming pool at the hotel and used it twice during our stay, it was an indoor heated pool located right across the corridor from our room.

The bar was a bit of a joke though.We went in for drinks during happy hour and then went out to eat. On our return we thought it would be nice to have a nightcap before going to bed and it was only 9pm. The bar was shut!!! This happened again the following night when we returned a bit later from a Maori dinner. Not what you expect from a hotel, but if they had no customers I can understand it up to a point.

The hotel is tired and in need of refurbishment and this is happening, the dining room being one example.

We were happy staying at this hotel for our 2 nights in Roturua but we did stay at far better hotels along our way, thankfully.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevinsteer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James B, General Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear Kevinsteer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience following your stay with us. We appreciate your balanced feedback and I would like to acknowledge your comments in relation to our opening hours for the bar. As you noted we have and continue to make a number of changes to the property, and we hope on your next return trip to New Zealand you will stay with us again.

Kind Regards,

James Billing
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews