We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy room with spa but no air con”
Review of Rydges Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rydges Rotorua
Ranked #49 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

The beds were comfy and had a great view. The room was clean but our room the heat setting on the air con didn't work and the cleaner turned it back on during the day so our room was freezing at night when we walked in cos even on the heating setting it was cold (during winter you can imagine this was not good). Had a wall water heater which kept us warm but it was loud. (Our friends room had one that leaked and didn't work!)

Nice spa in the bathroom for relaxing and warming up. Great mini bar. Small balcony although too cold to enjoy!

Free parking was a plus!

Restaurant very expensive.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Bek31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James B, General Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Bek A, thank you taking the time to share your experience. I would appreciate if you could contact me so I can ensure we resolved the maintenance issues you experienced. My email address is james_billing@rydges.com. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind Regards, James Billing, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

690 - 696 of 1,238 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

I returned to Rydges recently with my adult daughter, having been pleased with my stay some years ago. I have stayed in all the major hotels in Rotorua, usually on business. Rydges is well down Fenton St, overlooking the race course, so if you are without a car, and not a good walker, other hotels such as the Novotel or Millennium are more centrally situated. With a car, there is no problem and there is free parking beside the hotel. Rydges is an older hotel, so the decor outside is tired and inside, apart from painting, it has not been updated for some time.
The public areas are pleasant with plenty of room if meeting someone.
Rooms are huge, with very high ceilings, there is space for luggage, a kitchen sink, reasonable sized bathroom and even a spa bath room in the deluxe rooms. I liked having a recliner and table and chairs in the room. The rooms also open onto a nice balcony overlong the racecourse. Beds are very comfortable and the standard of housekeeping seems excellent. Breakfast (aside from the coffee) is extensive and very good. There is a large indoor pool and spa pool available which the school children were enjoying, albeit not as glamorous as at the Millennium.
We really enjoyed our short stay, were extremely comfortable, enjoyed having space ( did not miss the gadgets of a more modern built hotel, and prefer this hotel to most of the others. I would also comment that there was no outdoor noise at night.

Room Tip: deluxe room overlooking racecourse on any floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stellamAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James B, General Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you stellamAuckland, for taking the time to share your experience following recent stay. The team and I really apprecaite the vote of confidence and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next return stay in Rotorua. Kind Regards, James Billing - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We booked on wotif and we got paid for an upgrade to a deluxe spa room free wi-fi, midday checkout and welcome drinks for two. Well we just checked in and as soon as we came in to the room it smelt like chlorine and very stuffy. The room is next to Fenton rd which is the main rd and we got a dodgy, dark room at the end of the hotel on the ground floor. The ground floor mind you is below reception...... I couldn't stand the smell so I went back to reception to see whether we can change the room....of course they could not help us as they said they were fully booked....he suggested a fan which doesn't seem to be working very well. You cannot get the chlorine smell away.....it still stinks. It's a joke and don't think when you book you will be up graded to a DELUXE spa room when in fact in could be at the bottom floor and the room at the end of a noisy street. I am really disappointed and I will never come back here again and will be telling my friends not to come here either. I will think twice also about booking with Wotif because it is very mis-leading. This hotel needs a good renovation definitely not four-five star. The spa is old and handles on taps are rusty and old. I would never get into that spa. I'm just glad we are only here for one night!!!! A disgusted customer and service was horrible, and the guy I dealt with was suppose to be the duty manager.

Room Tip: Rooms at this hotel are mis-leading on wotif!!!! Disgusted cannot report anything positive about thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Amanda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James B, General Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Aman07052014, thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I have trust you would have received the correspondance from both myself and wotif regarding your stay. I would have contacted you directly however do not have your contact details. If you would like to discuss your experience further please do contact me directly my email address is james_billing@rydges.com. Kind Regards, James Billing, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for four nights with a friend in two large comfortable double bed room enjoyed the size of the room, was nice and quiet the only thing that I can find wrong is the size of their coffee cups lmao will have to ask at the front desk to see if they can find me a cup that is more than two mouth fall's. But other than that a nice a clean enjoyable room from a happy diabetic.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank 917andrewf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James B, General Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you 917andrewf for taking the time to share your experience. The team were thrilled to leran you had a great stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind Regards, James Billing, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Nice accommodation, slightly dated but we don't mind that. Terrific staff with lovely manners. Good breakfast, with lots of variety and plenty to go around and the place was packed.
Clean rooms, trouble was it was rather hot, we could not turn off the radiator (sorry management, we forgot to tell you, room 102), next door could not get their radiator to work (101). thanks again and we will come back to stay when we can

Room Tip: not too far out of Central Rotorua, good outlook over the racecourse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanessa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James B, General Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Vanessa T, thank you for taking the time to share your experence. The team in the restaurant were proud to learn you enjoyed our Rise Breakfast and we have looked into the heater within that room. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind Regards, James Billing, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Hubby took me for a surprise night away for my birthday. The team here were amazing, he had booked a room and requested a rose to be on the bed when we arrived. We arrived at hotel late afternoon to find out the team here had upgraded our room because of the special occasion. Clean room (cant really call it a room was more like an apartment) love the old furniture in the suit. Everyone was so friendly. A lovely quiet enjoyable stay. We will definitely be back. Thanks Rydges

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Alicia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James B, General Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Alicia P, thank you for taking the time to share your experience. The team were thrilled to be a part of your special birthday away. We look forward to welcoming you both back to the hotel in the near future. Kind Regards, James Billing, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The room itself looks a little dated, however the bed was amazing. We stayed in the spa room, yet didn't use the spa as it was in what looked like a sunroom. The room was huge, the radiator made the room toasty warm and the shower was good. Breakfast was nice. Overall a good experience, I would stay again - seriously the bed is amazing.

Room Tip: I wouldn't waste the money on the spa room as it was in such a strange location, off from the ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James B, General Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Michelle C,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am glad you enjoyed our Rydges Dream Bed during your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

James Billing
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#19 of 92 in Rotorua
868 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
721 reviews
1.1 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#10 of 92 in Rotorua
443 reviews
0.7 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
1.2 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#35 of 92 in Rotorua
1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Rotorua

Address: 272 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#30 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#34 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £74 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Rotorua is located in a park like setting on the edge of the city's Racecourse. The hotel boasts panoramic views towards Lake Rotorua and Mokoia Island. Along with the most spacious guest rooms in the city, offering FREE WIFI, the hotel also has extensive catering facilities, including the Atrium Restaurant and Bar, Mezz Bar, 24 hour room service and over 560sqm of function. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the city centre, Convention Centre and many of the city's main attractions are a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Rydges Hotel Rotorua
Rotorua Rydges Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing