We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice weekend in Rotorua”
Review of Rydges Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rydges Rotorua
Ranked #49 of 91 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed 15 July 2014

It was great to expend last weekend with my family in Rotorua. Rydges Hotel was the best choice, very nice facilities, location and services. The Hotel is close by to Restaurants, Shopping Centre and other attraction.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Javier R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James B, General Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Javier R, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are happy to learn your family had a great stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind Regards, James Billing, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,275)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

722 - 728 of 1,275 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

We had a great time staying at Rydges this school holidays. Originally we booked in for 3 nights but due to the weather and the excellent rate offered, we stayed another night. The staff were exceptionally helpful and pleasant, the food in the restaurant was good and the room was spacious and clean. There was a small mix up with the package we had booked and it was dealt to quickly. We will return next time we visit Rotorua. Thank you to all the wonderful, cheerful staff at Rydges.

Room Tip: The spa deluxe rooms overlooking the race course are spacious and quiet and the spa bath is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tracey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James B, General Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Tracey L, thank you for your kind comments. We were happy to have you stay an additional night, and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the hotel in the near future. Kind Regards, James Billing, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This was my first time staying at Rydges and I loved it. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the room was amazing. We had a great view over the racetrack and were on the same floor as the pool. I felt very well taken care of and enjoyed my stay so much that I will be booking into rydges next conference in Wellington.

Room Tip: The rooms with the massive spa baths in them are a real winner!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tanyas254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James B, General Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you tanyas254, for taking the time to share your experience. The team were thrilled to learn you had a great stay and I know you will have a great time at our Wellington property. Their Portlander restaurant is simply amazing. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind Regards, James Billing, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Stayed in the Deluxe Spa Room with a great view of the Race Course. The kids had a blast in the pool throughout our stay and enjoyed the free WiFi as did I. Staff without exception were attentive and wanting to ensure we had a pleasant stay, this attentiveness included ensuring the kids were comfortable and had everything they needed. The breakfast set up has changed since we last stayed. On our second morning one of the kids wanted something they'd had the morning before but there was none, a quick word with friendly staff and the child's wish was brought to the table and presented with a smile. There really isn't anything more that can be asked for. This is now our third stay here, we are from Rotorua but enjoy a break away from home during the holidays, the Rydges is our hotel of choice!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudeRobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James B, General Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you JudeRobinson for your kind comments and review. The team are proud to learn that you and your kids had a great stay and we hope to see you and the family back with us soon. Kind Regards, James Billing, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This was my first time at Rydges as I usually stay at Novotel Rotorua. I was pleasantly surprised. The service was excellent and all staff went out of their way to help. The hotel was quite full as it was school holidays and there were kids everywhere (including mine) and this did not phase the staff at all, they smiled and responded quickly to any requests. Our room was a little dated, but it was scrupulously clean. The kids loved the pool and I enjoyed the Mezze Bar and the breakfast. I didnt enjoy the location as much as you couldnt walk into town, but there was a supermarket really close and also the forest for a walk. The only thing I found strange was there were no knives and forks or spoons in the kitchenette (unless I didnt look properly!) The BEST thing apart from the service was the beds, they were superb and I want to buy one. Well done Rydge, customer service was A plus.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michellen_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James B, General Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you michellen_NZ for taking the time to share your experience and kind words. The Rydges Dream beds are available to purchase if you send me your contact details I will put you in touch with the people who can assist you further. My email address is james_billing@rydges.com. The team are proud to learn that your kids had a great time and we hope to see you and your family again in the near future. Kind Regards, James Billing, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

The beds were comfy and had a great view. The room was clean but our room the heat setting on the air con didn't work and the cleaner turned it back on during the day so our room was freezing at night when we walked in cos even on the heating setting it was cold (during winter you can imagine this was not good). Had a wall water heater which kept us warm but it was loud. (Our friends room had one that leaked and didn't work!)

Nice spa in the bathroom for relaxing and warming up. Great mini bar. Small balcony although too cold to enjoy!

Free parking was a plus!

Restaurant very expensive.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Bek31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James B, General Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Bek A, thank you taking the time to share your experience. I would appreciate if you could contact me so I can ensure we resolved the maintenance issues you experienced. My email address is james_billing@rydges.com. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind Regards, James Billing, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I returned to Rydges recently with my adult daughter, having been pleased with my stay some years ago. I have stayed in all the major hotels in Rotorua, usually on business. Rydges is well down Fenton St, overlooking the race course, so if you are without a car, and not a good walker, other hotels such as the Novotel or Millennium are more centrally situated. With a car, there is no problem and there is free parking beside the hotel. Rydges is an older hotel, so the decor outside is tired and inside, apart from painting, it has not been updated for some time.
The public areas are pleasant with plenty of room if meeting someone.
Rooms are huge, with very high ceilings, there is space for luggage, a kitchen sink, reasonable sized bathroom and even a spa bath room in the deluxe rooms. I liked having a recliner and table and chairs in the room. The rooms also open onto a nice balcony overlong the racecourse. Beds are very comfortable and the standard of housekeeping seems excellent. Breakfast (aside from the coffee) is extensive and very good. There is a large indoor pool and spa pool available which the school children were enjoying, albeit not as glamorous as at the Millennium.
We really enjoyed our short stay, were extremely comfortable, enjoyed having space ( did not miss the gadgets of a more modern built hotel, and prefer this hotel to most of the others. I would also comment that there was no outdoor noise at night.

Room Tip: deluxe room overlooking racecourse on any floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stellamAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James B, General Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you stellamAuckland, for taking the time to share your experience following recent stay. The team and I really apprecaite the vote of confidence and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next return stay in Rotorua. Kind Regards, James Billing - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.1 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#16 of 91 in Rotorua
938 reviews
0.7 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre
0.1 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#10 of 91 in Rotorua
499 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 91 in Rotorua
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Rotorua

Address: 272 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#26 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#33 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £88 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Rotorua is located in a park like setting on the edge of the city's Racecourse. The hotel boasts panoramic views towards Lake Rotorua and Mokoia Island. Along with the most spacious guest rooms in the city, offering FREE WIFI, the hotel also has extensive catering facilities, including the Atrium Restaurant and Bar, Mezz Bar, 24 hour room service and over 560sqm of function. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the city centre, Convention Centre and many of the city's main attractions are a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Rydges Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Rydges Hotel Rotorua
Rotorua Rydges Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing