We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Rydges Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rydges Rotorua
Ranked #48 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Great stay”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed for 2 nights during school holidays. Kids loved the pool. Room was spacious and clean. Staff very friendly and helpful. Made sure on check out that we knew where we were going for the next part of our journey. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bradical666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James B, General Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you Bradical666, for your kind comments. We hope you had a safe onward travel and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the hotel in the near future. Kind Regards, James Billing, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    439
    255
    126
    97
See reviews for
427
418
37
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Waihi Beach
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Can't beat this as a family stay especially the breakfast package. That is what brings us back each time. The pool is also a highlight in winter time. Ridges is close to mountain biking and town. One word though does it for me. Breakfast, breakfast, breakfast. Kids stay and eat free also helps. Especially at Breakfast time.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank salmon74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James B, General Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you salmon74, for recognising our Rise Breakfast. The team were happy to learn that your family also made the most of our kids eat free promotion. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the hotel in the near future. Kind Regards, James Billing, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Rydges, even though it was only for one night-it left us wanting to stay for longer the next time we visit Rotorua. the room was lovely. The beds were very comfy, the room was very warm, and the spa was great. The only criticism would be that we could hear the neighbours next door and upstairs every now and then, not very sound proof room, but that is excusable.
The kids loved the pool. We loved not having to go far to have to entertain the kids after a long days drive-just up the elevator to the pool! It could do with a bit a clean though, the water was very cloudy.
There was plenty of variety of food at both the dinner and breakfast buffets-we felt a bit spoilt actually!
No task was a problem for the staff, very friendly and willing to help however they could, and had a great knowledge when it came to giving directions.
Love the kids stay and dine free deal.
We look forward to our next stay at Rydges, and would recommend to my friends and family.

Room Tip: If you are a smoker do not get a room on the ground floor-a balcony is best so you don't have to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Shivell R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James B, General Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you Shivell R, for your kind comments. The team were excited to learn that you and your famil had an awesome stay with us. We have looked into your comments around the pool and we hope to welcome you and your family back to the hotel in the next school holidays. Kind Regards, James Billing, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Second time we have stayed at Rydges with our family of 5 and find it fantastic value with the kids staying and eating for free. Even though it was the school holidays and really busy, service was still excellent and timely, and staff super friendly. Our friends have now started joining us on these mini holidays and loving it, can't wait for the next lot of holidays!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michael N Shary... H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James B, General Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you Michael N Shary... H, for your kind comments. The team were wrapped to read your comments and we look forward to welcoming you, your family and your friends back to the hotel in the next school holiday break. Kind Regards, James Billing, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed during the school holidays for 2 nights-our family thoroughly enjoyed our experience at Rydges. Rooms very spacious, clean and comfortable. Kids loved the pool. Food at the restaurant was excellent both at breakfast and dinner. Staff were very friendly, efficient and professional - special mention to Daniel (in the restaurant) who always gave exceptional service. We will definitely be back at Rydges Rotorua.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scherie07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James B, General Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you Scherie07, for taking the time to share your experience. Daniel was thrilled to get a mention as was the wider team to learn you and your family had a great stay. We look forward to welcoming you all back to the hotel in the near future. Kind Regards, James Billing, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We usually book either one or two Deluxe Twin rooms when we head out to Rotorua as these rooms are very spacious. Beds are comfortable and even more so with the new free wifi. A couple of times when accommodation in Taupo were full, we stayed at Rydges and drove to Taupo for the day and back for the evenings. Kids stay and dine free and is one of the features of Rydges why we choose it over others. Room for improvement on bathroom cleanliness and the hot pool needs a good scrub-up. The fitness facility needs an upgrade too. Otherwise, staff were friendly and if we had requests and queries, these were dealt with promptly and efficiently. The rooms at Rydges is the reason we choose Tusitala (spacious and modern rooms) when we are in Samoa.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TropicalMango72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James B, General Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you TropicalMango72, for taking the time to share your experience. I am glad to learn that your kids enjoyed our stay and eat free promotion and you made the most of the FREE WIFI. I will follow up with your comments around the hot pool. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind Regards, James Billing, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My mum, my daughter, my two nieces and I stay for three night in a Deluxe Twin Room. The room was very comfortable and worm. The children eat breakfest for free every mornimg.The family enjoys everything's, about our stay here. Great value for money.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Laalaai E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James B, General Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you Laalaai E, for your kind comments. I am glad your mother and family enjoyed their stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind Regards, James Billing, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.1 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
848 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.1 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#12 of 92 in Rotorua
428 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Rotorua

Property: Rydges Rotorua
Address: 272 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#30 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#34 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Rotorua is located in a park like setting on the edge of the city's Racecourse. The hotel boasts panoramic views towards Lake Rotorua and Mokoia Island. Along with the most spacious guest rooms in the city, offering FREE WIFI, the hotel also has extensive catering facilities, including the Atrium Restaurant and Bar, Mezz Bar, 24 hour room service and over 560sqm of function. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the city centre, Convention Centre and many of the city's main attractions are a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Rydges Hotel Rotorua
Rotorua Rydges Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing