We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great room and excellent service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rydges Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rydges Rotorua
Ranked #41 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great room and excellent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Stayed on a wotif deal and have stayed there before. The rooms are large and having a kitchen sink is handy for families. The indoor pool and in room spa is excellent. The reception and bar and restaurant staff were helpful and polite.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mindy1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James B, General Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you Mindy1971, for your kind comments. The team in the restaurant and bar were wrapped with your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind Regards, James Billing, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    429
    243
    114
    87
See reviews for
403
396
36
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

The room was spacious and warm, the balcony was clean and tidy, indoor pool was safe kids loved it!,Breakfast variety excellent I can go on, only feedback though is to make sure the customer service is consistent, a friend of mine recommended Rydges cause she stayed the weekend before me. She was shared with me the good things I noted but esp how hospitable reception was the minute she walked in, however when I arrived and checked in late afternoon it seemed you weren't ready or not expecting me? I had to ask if certain things were included in my package as it was not explained to me, and then later realised another perk my friend had I didn't get, so I followed that up again with reception - no biggie, cause we will come again. and an easy fix, just needed to let you know cause I chose Rydges due to the Customer service my friend experienced.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rosalina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James B, General Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you Rosalina T for taking time to share your experience. The team were thrilled you had a good stay and we have used your feedback to work on ensuring consistency in our check in process. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind Regards, James Billing, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed with my kids in a deluxe twin spa room.Balcony overlooking the racecourse.although the decor is looking a little tired the room was great for us,the beds were soooooooo comfy.i can usually never sleep away from home but here I did.Indoor pool a bonus and had a lovely meal in the restaurant.Breakfast was also good and plentiful.Nice staff.will stay there again

Room Tip: Nice having a racecourse facing room.Have one away from the pool as the door was banging shut until...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James B, General Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you Caroline D, for sharing your recent experience. The team were proud to learn you and your family enjoyed our dream beds and rise breakfast .We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the hotel in the near future. We have looked into your room tip with a view to resolve the issue of the pool door. Kind Regards, James Billing, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
181 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Wotif Deal on this hotel on recent sunday night was a great deal
Rooms are Huge , could hold a ball in the room
Very warm , with large King sized beds , good housekeeping standards
didnt dine in house, but Hotel appeared to be very busy with children being school holidays , so obviously some good deals available
Spacious room overlooking the Rotorua racetrack , so great outlook, and no traffic noise
A large spa bath available in seperate room at the front so again good views
Never used the pool/spa facilities so cant comment
Staff all seemed very good at their jobs
Would i return
YES I HAVE and would again

Room Tip: all rooms appear to be similar , with no traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johntoddl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James B, General Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you rambo1950, for your kind and balanced comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind Regards, James Billing, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Loved the friendly and helpful staff at Rydges Rotorua. From the time we walked through the door the staff were helpful and always smiling. Our room was clean and tidy, with more than enough room for a couple, and the outlook over the racecourse could not be more peaceful.

Our was only a short one, two nights, with dinner on both nights taken in the Atrium Restaurant. Our first meal was great, lamb fillets for me, lamb cutlets for my wife. Both of us loved the meal, and returned the next night for more of the same. Unfortunately, our Friday night saw a 'buffet' meal which we both felt to be over priced and did not enjoy it at all. I am sure there are many who enjoy such a meal, we did not. Consider what you will enjoy prior to committing to the buffet, we had enjoyed a few 'happy hour' drinks and were stuck with our decision to eat in.

Overall, if you were aware of all, our stay could not have been better. Our bed was comfortable, the room 'roomy' and clean. Location doesn't really matter, Rotorua isn't so big as to require a specific place.

Enjoy your stay! :D

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ross C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James B, General Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you Ross C, for taking the time to share your experience. The team in the restaurant were proud to learn that you had a good experience the first night and we have taken on board your comments around the buffett with changes already made ahead of this weekend. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind Regards, James Billing, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed for 2 nights during school holidays. Kids loved the pool. Room was spacious and clean. Staff very friendly and helpful. Made sure on check out that we knew where we were going for the next part of our journey. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bradical666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James B, General Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you Bradical666, for your kind comments. We hope you had a safe onward travel and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the hotel in the near future. Kind Regards, James Billing, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waihi Beach
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Can't beat this as a family stay especially the breakfast package. That is what brings us back each time. The pool is also a highlight in winter time. Ridges is close to mountain biking and town. One word though does it for me. Breakfast, breakfast, breakfast. Kids stay and eat free also helps. Especially at Breakfast time.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank salmon74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James B, General Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you salmon74, for recognising our Rise Breakfast. The team were happy to learn that your family also made the most of our kids eat free promotion. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the hotel in the near future. Kind Regards, James Billing, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.2 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.7 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#20 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
1.7 mi away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#47 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Rotorua

Property: Rydges Rotorua
Address: 272 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#30 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#31 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Rotorua is located in a park like setting on the edge of the city's Racecourse. The hotel boasts panoramic views towards Lake Rotorua and Mokoia Island. Along with the most spacious guest rooms in the city, offering FREE WIFI, the hotel also has extensive catering facilities, including the Atrium Restaurant and Bar, Mezz Bar, 24 hour room service and over 560sqm of function. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the city centre, Convention Centre and many of the city's main attractions are a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Rydges Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Rydges Hotel Rotorua
Rotorua Rydges Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing