We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Stay”
Review of Rydges Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rydges Rotorua
Ranked #45 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Auckland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

If you want a 'big hotel' experience (big for Rotorua that is!) with large atrium and restaurant area, bar, breakfast and weekend dinner buffets (kids eat free), indoor swimming pool, gym, room service, big rooms with helpful staff and good location than this is place for you. Rydges is not the newest/most modern accommodation in Rotorua but we really enjoyed staying here for four nights.

Room Tip: Ask for racecourse side of hotel (near back of hotel is better) for best views of city and lake. Boo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank NZSimonSays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James B, General Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you NZSimonSays for big review. The team were proud to read your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind Regards, James Billing, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    429
    252
    120
    89
See reviews for
415
399
36
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stayed at Rydges Rotorua for 4 nights in the last week of July. The rooms were always serviced each day if requested and the beds were made, towels changed, amenities replenished and room tidied.

In addition to this the room we stayed in is a Deluxe spa room. It has two double beds, a spa bath and spacious area to sit in and have dinner in the room.

I would recommend getting breakfast included in your stay if possible. It is a buffet of either fresh fruit and cerel (contiental) or cooked breakfast also a buffet.

We decided on the Friday of our stay to go to the hotel bar and we were surprised to get a free platter of food with our drinks. This really just finished off a great trip.

Room Tip: Deluxe spa rooms come with spa bath and a balcony overlooking the race course. Also Rydges hotels...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Hayley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James B, General Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you Hayley W, for taking the time to share your feedback. The team were proud to read your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind Regards, James Billing, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giborne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

we had such a good time ,and so good for the price ,a most do loved it. its got a bar and you can have dinner as well .did not have to go out nice . yhe room was big and worm so good at this time of the year so just give it a go .

Room Tip: you will love it , give it a go
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yvonne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James B, General Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you yvonne R for returning to stay with us and sharing your feedback. The team were happy to welcome you back and proud to learn that you had another great stay with us. We look forward to hopefully seeing you sooner rather than later. Kind Regards, James Billing, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We got a great deal on this hotel, and booked a spa room. The room was relatively old, but everything was clean, worked well and the room was massive. The spa bath included in our room was a good size and in its own room/conservatory looking out across the racecourse area by the hotel, but still fairly private. It is away from the bathroom which is inside the main room, therefore nice to relax in with a glass of wine. The bed was also massive and very comfortable. We also received a complimentary drink as part of a mid-winter deal we booked. The staff were all very nice and helpful. The only issues were that the back door access from the car park didn't seem to work with our room passes all the time, plus you cannot access the hotel from the rear car park until you have checked in and received this pass. It may be worth them installing an intercom to reception here to avoid a trek around the building for check-in having already parked at the back. The hotel is not in the centre of Rotorua, but it is only a 10 minute stroll down the main road and is also close to the Polynesian Spa. We didn't eat here, but the bar area seemed nice and the restaurant was busy despite it being low season. It is also worth noting (as mentioned in other reviews) that the hotel is very warm, due to the free thermal heating, which was very pleasant when we stayed as it was cool (10 degrees C) outside, however I wouldn't like it to be that warm on a warmer day. We were able to regulate our room temperature fairly easily due to opening outside windows and it being a large space anyway. I would stay here again for the value versus quality experienced.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SHCollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James B, General Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you SHCollins, for taking the time to share your feedback. The team were happy to learn you had a good stay with us, and I have taken on board your comments around the entrance from the car park. We wish you a safe trip home and hopefully we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind Regards, James Billing, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Very nice excellent bed great bar and dinner within complex very nice dinners breakfast ok thanks again kiwi back home very impressed new girl was as well thanks again Chris and Andrew de cleene well looking forward to bring family back home

Room Tip: Just ask and you shell receive
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Andrewdecleene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James B, General Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you Andrewdecleene, for your kind comments. Daniel and the team were proud to read your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the hotel in the near future. Kind Regards, James Billing, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We had a lovely stay at the Rydges hotel. Only issue we had was the room and hotel corridors were too hot. Lovely staff and very helpful. Daniel in the bar area was a very helpful and a wonderful example of providing excellant customer care. While have a drink in the bar before heading out for the evening we were offered a beautifully presented complimentary platter of nibbles - it was a lovely touch and a great way to start the evening. Had a beautiful breakfast the following morning in the restaurant with wide selection of food (hot & cold).
Would totally recommend the Rydges in Rotorua, lovely staff, wonderful service and amenities.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank RoxyS66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James B, General Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you RoxyS66, for taking the time to share your experience. Daniel and the team were wrapped to read your comments. I have followed up with the team in relation to the heaters in the corridors, the weather has been a bit hard to predict. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind Regards, James Billing, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Island, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

My husband, myself and our 18 month old spent one night here recently. The room (twin spa room) was great - very warm in this cold winter, the high ceilings add an illusion of more space, a deck, and of course the spa - in its own separate room.
We were there for an event in Rotorua, and 3 other families were also attending with us. We arranged for our four room to be next to each other, directly opposite the pool on level four. No problems! We also all had late check-out, 1pm.
The buffet breakfast was ok, pricey for $29 walk-in in my opinion. The lady managing the dining room for breakfast that morning was rude and a quite unaccommodating, but then it seemed the coin would flip and she'd be super-nice. Make what you like of that.
Overall though, we had a great time - mostly because of the great thermally heated pools and the great company.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissKKTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James B, General Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you MissKKTA, for sharing your feedback following your recent stay. The team were happy to learn you had a good stay with us as well as enjoyed our heated pools. In relation to your comments around breakfast I have followed up with the team in the restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind Regards, James Billing, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
1.1 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.1 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#16 of 92 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.3 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Rotorua

Property: Rydges Rotorua
Address: 272 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#30 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#32 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Rotorua is located in a park like setting on the edge of the city's Racecourse. The hotel boasts panoramic views towards Lake Rotorua and Mokoia Island. Along with the most spacious guest rooms in the city, offering FREE WIFI, the hotel also has extensive catering facilities, including the Atrium Restaurant and Bar, Mezz Bar, 24 hour room service and over 560sqm of function. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the city centre, Convention Centre and many of the city's main attractions are a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Rydges Hotel Rotorua
Rotorua Rydges Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing