We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Solitaire Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Solitaire Lodge
Ranked #24 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2012

What a wonderful place, with every attention to detail that you could hope for. The staff were great - especially graham - whose great knowledge of the local area was matched only by his cocktail making skills.
Food, wine, views, setting, peace. Amazing

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SukhyHogwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2012

Wow - this place is fabulous!
From the time of our arrival and greeting by owners Wayne & Ingrid our stay was a delight.
Suggestions on places to go by Graham the duty manager were all spot on.
Pre-dinner drinks and canapés by the fire give a great opportunity to chat informally with other guests and then a stunning 5 course meal prepared by chefs Miro & David. The breakfasts were also excellent.
This is a relaxing and luxurious location out of Rotorua but still convenient to take in the local attractions. Although expensive the helicopter to White Island a live volcano was incredible! The walk to the Tarawara Falls was a great way to walk off a lovely breakfast.
Whilst it is not inexpensive Solitaire Lodge is great place to relax and be pampered!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank browney237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

This is a really beautiful place! the view from the floor to ceiling windows is spectacular, and it is so quiet and relaxing! The hosts went out of their way to make our stay special - even though the weather was less than great. Wayne even took us out on the lake on a very rough day (because we wanted to go on a hike on the other side), which was really great!
The food (and wines) is spectacular!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Francoise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Solitaire Lodge is simply astounding. It has the feel of a private residence on the lake, yet features delectable cuisine and wines, served by friendly chefs, sommeliers, and Wayne and Ingrid. Access to the hustle and bustle of Rotorua is readily available (although we recommend the Waimangu Volcanic Valley and Whirinaki Forest).

We would stay here again in a heartbeat. Private, romantic, luxurious, and in a beautiful setting. Not inexpensive but worth every penny.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

The Solitaire lodge is in a beautiful setting overlooking lake Tarawera.
Our room, named “Tarawera”, is nothing less than outstanding; it is spacious, elegant and has beautiful 180-degree views.
The service offered by Wayne is second to none; same goes for the meals prepared by chef David.
What perhaps struck my wife and I the most was how unpretentious the owners are in such a very refined high-end operation, the reason why we felt so relaxed no doubt.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NormD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

The room and location both stunning. Incredibly friendly with great food and drinks. Marvellous excursions including helicopter trips directly from and returning to the hotel! Far better to stay here rather than Rotorua which is busy and very commercial. This place is a gem.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brent W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Simply amazing... Wayne & Ingrid are the perfect hosts. The setting couldn't be more relaxing and the service was outstanding. Dave the Chef cooked us 5 star meals every night. Solitaire Lodge is a little piece of heaven!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seq100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
13.8 mi away
Treetops Lodge & Estate
Treetops Lodge & Estate
#41 of 92 in Rotorua
188 reviews
9.4 mi away
Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua
13 mi away
Hamurana Lodge
Hamurana Lodge
#16 of 92 in Rotorua
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
765 reviews
8.3 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
9.5 mi away
Ramada Resort Rotorua Marama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solitaire Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solitaire Lodge

Address: 16 Ronald Road | Lake Tarawera, Rotorua 3076, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#18 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#21 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £787 - £1,372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Solitaire Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Solitaire Lodge Rotorua, one of the first New Zealand luxury lodges, offers secluded luxury accommodation and attentive hosting from a spectacular lakeside location.Styled with comfort in mind, all 10 luxurious suites feature panoramic views of the glassy lake and magnificent volcano through grand picture windows. The subtle design brings the outdoors in, inviting you to unwind and soak up the peace and quiet of this tranquil setting.Renowned for its fine dining, Solitaire lodge serves mouth-watering modern New Zealand cuisine prepared with fresh local produce and complemented by superb wines from selected vineyards. Engage in lively conversation with fellow guests in the lodge’s dining room, or choose an intimate dinner for two in your suite.Minutes from your doorstep you will discover secluded private bays, hot water beaches and natural thermal hot springs beckoning you to soak in. Feeling adventurous? Embark on a scenic helicopter ride over volcanic peaks, skim across the lake in a kayak or enjoy world-class trout-fishing. The lodge is also the perfect place to simply relax, indulge and rejuvenate, left in the able hands of your warm, friendly New Zealand hosts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Solitaire Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solitaire Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing