We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly remarkable!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tamaki Maori Village

Tamaki Maori Village
Book In Advance
More Info
US$73.23*
and up
Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance
Ranked #3 of 108 things to do in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tamaki Maori Village – Evening Cultural Experience. New Zealand’s Most Awarded Cultural Experience! Experience an evening of ceremonial ritual, powerful cultural performance, storytelling & hangi feasting. Share in the Powhiri, our ancient ceremony of welcome before entering our pre-European Maori Village nestled within a native Tawa Forest. The village comes alive with sights, sounds & activity of days gone by including haka, poi, tattooing, weaving, carving and arts of warrior training. You will have the opportunity to participate in these activities. Witness the earth being scraped away from the hangi pit to reveal baskets of food cooked beneath the ground on hot stones. Enter the ancestral meeting house and enjoy a powerful cultural performance before dining the traditional hangi buffet feast!
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Truly remarkable!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

I travel to New Zealand every few years and I always end up back here! The staff and the people here (actual people of Maori decent) really bring their culture alive. They graciously let you into their lives, their culture, their way of doing things for a day. Its beautiful. Their rituals, their dances, their chanting and their singing, the food- everything is sensational. Its definitely a must see attraction. It's great for tourists and Kiwis. Great for children! I first went there when i was about 7 years old and I loved every minute of it. Truly a remarkable experience!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank LuMTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,223
    677
    185
    59
    36
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overnight in the Heart of Tikanga Maori”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

I brought a small group of 10 American citizens to experience Maori traditions, culture and stories. We were treated as special guests by the wonderful hosts with a personal welcome ritual (powhiri), full introduction to the intricate carvings and associated stories in the very comfortable "Whare Moi" (sleeping house), and then the usual "village" and cultural experience, followed by hangi meal. Our overnight experience was topped off with fire-side stories, toasting marsh mellows, trying our hand at flax weaving, and then unwinding in the hot tubs with a roaring open fire nearby to dry off by.
While the Marae stay is pricey, it is an incredible experience and, in my kiwi-born-and-raised opinion, THE best way visitors to NZ could experience "real" Maori hospitality without local contacts.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nigel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Not To Be Missed!! A Must Do For Both Visitors and New Zealanders”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

What an amazing experience!!! Tamaki Maori Village is a must do for both New Zealander's and international visitors. We visited with a group of friends and family and I have to say we were all absolutely blown away. We were treated to a fabulous evening of culture, education, fun, fine food, a world class show and all set in a beautiful floodlit native forest. Tamaki Maori Village made us proud to be New Zealanders. 10 out of 10, well done Doug Kate and the Team. Thank you all so much :-)

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Craig A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very welcome here. Great to learn their culture”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Go and definitely do this as it's well worth the money. Food was great and able to eat as much as you like. Including dessert we had 3 lots yummy

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kiwifriend2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A fantastic experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

What an amazing place! I loved staying the night here as the staff were great! We had so much fun and loved being part of the community too. The food was fantastic as was all of the activities. It was great to have a campfire and hot pool too!

Helpful?
Thank Andy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tamaki Maori Village also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Tamaki Maori Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing