We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun, Educational and impressive”

Tamaki Maori Village
Book In Advance
More Info
US$86.40*
and up
Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance
Ranked #3 of 110 things to do in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tamaki Maori Village – Evening Cultural Experience. New Zealand’s Most Awarded Cultural Experience! Experience an evening of ceremonial ritual, powerful cultural performance, storytelling & hangi feasting. Share in the Powhiri, our ancient ceremony of welcome before entering our pre-European Maori Village nestled within a native Tawa Forest. The village comes alive with sights, sounds & activity of days gone by including haka, poi, tattooing, weaving, carving and arts of warrior training. You will have the opportunity to participate in these activities. Witness the earth being scraped away from the hangi pit to reveal baskets of food cooked beneath the ground on hot stones. Enter the ancestral meeting house and enjoy a powerful cultural performance before dining the traditional hangi buffet feast!
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun, Educational and impressive”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

As a NZ I have a good understanding of Maori Culture but despite this my experience was really fun and I learned new aspects. The bus driver of our "Waka" was really entertaining and from beginning to end you see the best of Maori tourism. I would take others there again and our guests certainly enjoyed the experience.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank storkassistant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,346
    709
    190
    60
    38
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Inverell
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worth every cent!”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I really loved this experience as it gaveme some insight into the Maori culture plus a wonderful night out with amazing people. So worth it and the food was excellent.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gabrielle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangamata
1 review
“Fantastic!! Best cultural experience we have had in NZ.”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We loved every minute of our weekend from the spine chilling welcome, fun interactive cultural activities, delicious hangi dinner and fire side stories all set in beautiful natural nz bush. We were lucky enough to meet the lovely owners Doug & Kate Tamaki that night which made it extra special for us. All the staff were fantastic and staying in the cosy authentic sleeping houses with our family was definitely a highlight. We would highly recommendTamaki Village for an unforgettable nz experience.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank FamousFiveWhangamata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
76 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We were very happy with this Maori experience. You get some information on the way to the village, an impressive performance before you can enter the village and a very informative walk through the village itself. They built little booths dedicated to different topics so that you lateron will know what a Haka is, what the facial tattoes mean and which games Maori children played. After that we had a look at our food being prepared, a cultural performance and then the Hangi meal, which was delicious.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank EMellmydear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Truly remarkable!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I travel to New Zealand every few years and I always end up back here! The staff and the people here (actual people of Maori decent) really bring their culture alive. They graciously let you into their lives, their culture, their way of doing things for a day. Its beautiful. Their rituals, their dances, their chanting and their singing, the food- everything is sensational. Its definitely a must see attraction. It's great for tourists and Kiwis. Great for children! I first went there when i was about 7 years old and I loved every minute of it. Truly a remarkable experience!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank LuMTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tamaki Maori Village also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Tamaki Maori Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing