We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience!”

Tamaki Maori Village
Book In Advance
More Info
US$90.43*
and up
Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance
Ranked #3 of 112 things to do in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tamaki Maori Village – Evening Cultural Experience. New Zealand’s Most Awarded Cultural Experience! Experience an evening of ceremonial ritual, powerful cultural performance, storytelling & hangi feasting. Share in the Powhiri, our ancient ceremony of welcome before entering our pre-European Maori Village nestled within a native Tawa Forest. The village comes alive with sights, sounds & activity of days gone by including haka, poi, tattooing, weaving, carving and arts of warrior training. You will have the opportunity to participate in these activities. Witness the earth being scraped away from the hangi pit to reveal baskets of food cooked beneath the ground on hot stones. Enter the ancestral meeting house and enjoy a powerful cultural performance before dining the traditional hangi buffet feast!
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience!”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

If visiting with friends this is probably the best choice out of the Maori Villages open to the public in Rotorua. It generally attracts a younger crowd (18-30 year olds) and is more 'hands on' than some others. I like how the boys get to participate in the haka as well other activities. The show is really good and there is a great film afterwards. The food is amazing, and the bar relatively cheap. They also have a gift shop. Really enjoyed this one!
Plus the bus journey in and out of Rotorua is hilarious! I thought my bus was a one off but apparently it seems all journeys are made equally fun!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank mimiblay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,434 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,414
    725
    195
    61
    39
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Traditional And Excellent Night Out”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We Went with a member of our new zealand family for a night in rotorua with this being the main attraction for us. We booked before we went, which was great including a call from the staff to organise where to pick us up for the tour. We were picked up by a ex scot and so automatically began having a laugh and then it continued in to a great night. we arrived at the office with only around 10 minutes before heading out to the village. When we got there we had the traditional warriors greeting and then moved on to looking at the maori way of life. Naturally this is quite touristy as its is showing the maori way of life. if you don't want to see some touristy culture go look at the hills or something I'm sure some maori may have stood on it or a New Zealand lamb may have nibbled the grass at some point. The experience accumulated in a Traditional Hangi cooked meal. The cost of the trip was around $115 which really you could spend in any restaurant for a meal. The food was great and there was a little more entertainment. The Show half way through the evening really made the night that extra special. If you are keen to experience culture then GO!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gavin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
,Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Touristy but fun”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

There was a lot happening in the three hours plus of this experience. Well organised from start to finish, at times it felt as if we we on a conveyor belt, being led from one attraction showing an aspect of past Maori life to another in the village. But the overall package was a good one .... Traditional powhiri with 'chiefs' chosen from each of the four buses (waka) representing the visitors. Our driver was fun and informative, and we were introduced to aspects of Maori culture and language right through the evening. The hangi meal was delicious and plentiful, although not as smokey flavored as others I have had ... I didn't need to eat for the next 24 hours! The entertainment was professional, although I would have liked to see performances of some less familiar songs and dances. I l thought the video presentation toward the end of the evening was very good, giving a fairly realistic and honest 'summary' of aspects of Maori history. It did have a place in what was overall an entertaining and informative evening. No real opportunity to talk and ask questions, but this didn't detract from the experience for me. The bus ride home was complete with a typical sing a long .... As well as a very extended trip on a single roundabout somewhere en route back to the hotel. Definitely touristy, but fun.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank 2Kiwi2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Brunswick, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
319 reviews
173 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Very touristy but interesting.”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I liked how they were so well organized. The tour through the village was very interesting and I liked how they tried to get people to participate in the games and culture. It was touristy, though, and I think I would have liked something a bit more real-feeling. Good value for the money and I'd recommend it.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Diane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Very organized”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

All Maori experiences are very touristy; there really isn't a way to experience the Maori culture without doing a tour. This one was particularly good in that they explained a handful of maori past times, did a performance, and fed us a delicious dinner. It's questionable how much of the experience was authentic, but that seemed to be true for most.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Leah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tamaki Maori Village also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Tamaki Maori Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing