We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't think, just do it!”

Tamaki Maori Village
Book In Advance
More Info
US$88.73*
and up
Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance
Ranked #3 of 112 things to do in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tamaki Maori Village – Evening Cultural Experience. New Zealand’s Most Awarded Cultural Experience! Experience an evening of ceremonial ritual, powerful cultural performance, storytelling & hangi feasting. Share in the Powhiri, our ancient ceremony of welcome before entering our pre-European Maori Village nestled within a native Tawa Forest. The village comes alive with sights, sounds & activity of days gone by including haka, poi, tattooing, weaving, carving and arts of warrior training. You will have the opportunity to participate in these activities. Witness the earth being scraped away from the hangi pit to reveal baskets of food cooked beneath the ground on hot stones. Enter the ancestral meeting house and enjoy a powerful cultural performance before dining the traditional hangi buffet feast!
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't think, just do it!”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

This experience was fantastic, wonderful to get close to the indigenous traditions of this lovely country. The dancing and singing was spectacular, lovely food, and the opportunity to join in. I was chosen as one of the Chiefs and had a superb close-up intro to the Hangi.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Adam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,383 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,376
    716
    192
    61
    38
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A highlight of New Zealand”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

My sister and I participated in the Maori Village experience as part of a G Adventures tour. We got to stay overnight and were hosted by a Maori couple, Heke and Leeda (sp?). They were so gracious and took so much time to share their cultures, beliefs, history and legends with us. We then participated in the general public presentation. Having read the negative reviews posted here I am surprised that people came to these conclusions because I thought it was a moving experience. The participants showed great pride and practice as they give insight into what life was like for the Maori people. The meal that was cooked in an earthen oven was delicious from beginning to end. Well done to all of the staff!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Trip around New Zealand”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Brief introduction to Maori customs, followed by a traditional hangi meal and entertainment. Good value, suitable for all the family

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jackie2691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice and educational evening!”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

I had a lovely night at the Tamaki Maori village, although it was POURING with rain. Sadly this took a little of the magic out of the experience as a lot of the beginning of the night is outside. I still enjoyed it though and learned about the history and culture of the Maori people, which is after all why I went. Would have maybe liked a few more opportunities to ask questions, but this may not have been possible due to the rain. Most of the cultural stations include some participation from the visitors which is a nice touch and quite fun. The food was delicious, really lovely and the drinks were reasonably priced. Most of the members of the village were very passionate about the evening, some of the others looked like they'd rather be somewhere else during some parts of the performance but they were definitely in the minority so overall I enjoyed it.
Very well organised and the bus ride was fun, especially when we 'rowed' into the village. A bit touristy but certainly worth going.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank HAJ21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience!”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

If visiting with friends this is probably the best choice out of the Maori Villages open to the public in Rotorua. It generally attracts a younger crowd (18-30 year olds) and is more 'hands on' than some others. I like how the boys get to participate in the haka as well other activities. The show is really good and there is a great film afterwards. The food is amazing, and the bar relatively cheap. They also have a gift shop. Really enjoyed this one!
Plus the bus journey in and out of Rotorua is hilarious! I thought my bus was a one off but apparently it seems all journeys are made equally fun!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank mimiblay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tamaki Maori Village also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Tamaki Maori Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing