We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take the walk to the waterfall, worth the climb!”

Buried Village of Te Wairoa
Book In Advance
More Info
US$24.58*
and up
Buried Village of Te Wairoa Tour
Ranked #19 of 110 things to do in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Experience New Zealand's most visited archaeological site where stories of the 1886 Mt Tarawera Eruption come to life! Violent and unexpected, the volcanic eruption was one of New Zealand's greatest natural disasters burying the peaceful village of Te Wairoa and ending more than 150 lives. Today at the Buried Village encounter the world class Museum of Te Wairoa, explore the Archaeological Site which once housed the people of Te Wairoa, experience the unique insights of stories from our tour guides, and take the Waterfall Trail which showcases the stunning Wairere Falls.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Take the walk to the waterfall, worth the climb!”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Interesting and good value for an attraction. Enjoyed getting the background information to the area.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank jeas47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam M, Public Relations Manager at Buried Village of Te Wairoa, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Thanks for your time in reviewing our attraction. Yes the Buried Village provides great history of the Te Wairoa area through the museum, guided tours, and informative signs in the archaeological site.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    363
    295
    118
    26
    10
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent history - very authentic”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I would really recommend doing a guided tour as they give you a wealth of knowledge that really makes the history of the area and the eruption come alive ! Well worth a visit that complements the thermal park experiences and thrill seeking that Rotorua offers. Kept my children engaged teens/pre-teens.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Petersnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam M, Public Relations Manager at Buried Village of Te Wairoa, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Thanks for the great review. Agreed that the guided tours give great insight into the history of Te Wairoa. The Buried Village of Te Wairoa is a great story to be told which links well with the geothermal attractions in Rotorua. And yes this attraction is great for all ages! Please do visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandurah, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Fantastic Historical Experience”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We were visiting from Western Australia and caught up with friends who live in Rotorua who suggested places for us to visit and this was one of their suggestions. What an excellent choice. We had a Guided Tour with Lyn. What a wonderful experience, Lyn was a wealth of knowledge. The Museum has good displays and the information boards in the village are excellent. We really enjoyed our time at the Buried Village. I encourage anyone to go and do the guided tour as well and help remember those who lost their lives in the great eruption.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam M, Guest Relations Manager at Buried Village of Te Wairoa, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Wow thank you for the five star review. I am glad your friends suggested to visit the Buried Village of Te Wairoa as this truly is a special place to Rotorua. Yes a guided tour is a great way to explore the excavated sites as the guides provide in-depth stories of the history of Te Wairoa. I shall pass this on to Lyn, she will be pleased. The Museum of Te Wairoa has several exhibits which display the early settlers, to the aftermath of the eruption, and the Geological Treasures: The Pink and White Terraces. Thank you for visiting, and if you are ever in Rotorua again please do visit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
95 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A Bit of the History of the Area”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

A museum with very good displays followed by various aspects of the village that was buried in 1882. There are real buried houses although not much of them is left. Very good information boards which would take a whole day if you decided to read and digest them all. A steep climb down to view waterfall to finish. All in a very scenic setting with a very attractive drive out from Rotorua city. To the question, Will it happen again? the answer is two fold- yes but not likely for some time, so visit now, if not sooner.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank 538AlanR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam M, Public Relations Manager at Buried Village of Te Wairoa, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Wow thanks for the five star review! Yes the museum of Te Wairoa exhibits are a great way to learn about the village before, during, and after the eruption. (The village of Te Wairoa was buried in 1886!). The Archaeological Site has informative boards at each site sharing in-depth knowledge about the history of the area. Agreed the stairs are steep to Wairere Falls; however very worth the climb to see the spectacular view. I wonder when it will happen again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Trying hard, not much here but a great waterfall”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

The historical relics are not interesting. The grounds are lovely, there is a stream you can see trout in and a truly spectacular waterfall. The tale of the eruption of the volcano is interesting, but there is nothing left, the excavated ruins are nothing much at all.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam M, Public Relations Manager at Buried Village of Te Wairoa, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Thanks for taking time in reviewing the Buried Village. Agreed the Waterfall Trail is nature at its best with wild trout and the Wairere Falls. Yes the Buried Village is an excavated site and we like to promote it as an excavated village! Whats left of the village is the recreation of the sites with Maori Whares and other homes which once housed the people of Te Wairoa. The story of the Mount Tarawera Eruption in 1886 is one of New Zealand's greatest natural disasters and we feel pleased we can share this with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Buried Village of Te Wairoa also viewed

 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Buried Village of Te Wairoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing