We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting and engaging”

Whakarewarewa - The Living Maori Village
Ranked #12 of 67 things to do in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: In August 2015 Whakarewarewa received recognition as one of the Lonely Planets’ Top 500 Ultimate Travel Destinations, being ranked at #276 in the world. he Living Maori Village is set among the geothermal landscape of the Te Whakarewarewa Valley, a ten minute walk from town. See the Geysers, Bubbling Pools, Mud Pools, and Steam Vents and walk our back tracks with amazing photo opportunities. The Living Maori Village is an authentic and unique attraction where the villagers live, cook and bath in the geothermal waters on a daily basis. The entry fee includes a fully guided tour and Maori Cultural Performance, including the world famous HAKA. Our guides are direct descendants of the guides who guided at the Pink and White Terraces over 170 years ago, this legacy is as important today as it was then.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access
Reviewed 16 October 2017

My sister and I took our 4 teenage daughters to visit the Maori Village. It was interesting to see the geiser, the boiling-hot steams and understand a little of the Maori way of living in the village.

Thank CorMit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhakaVillage, General Manager at Whakarewarewa - The Living Maori Village, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Kia Ora,
Kapai, (thank-you) for taking the time to review Whakarewarewa. We try and cater for everyone from individuals to families and we are glad to hear this was an interesting and enjoyable experience for your whole whanau.
Nga mihi nui and we hope to see you again soon!
Lou & The Whakarewarewa Whanau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"guided tour"
in 239 reviews
"cultural show"
in 175 reviews
"hangi pie"
in 41 reviews
"corn on the cob"
in 37 reviews
"maori village"
in 142 reviews
"hangi lunch"
in 25 reviews
"souvenir shops"
in 25 reviews
"authentic experience"
in 29 reviews
"prince of wales"
in 19 reviews
"te puia"
in 96 reviews
"geothermal activity"
in 83 reviews
"hot springs"
in 63 reviews
"food cooked"
in 19 reviews
"thermal pools"
in 74 reviews
"pohutu geyser"
in 42 reviews
"great insight"
in 28 reviews
"song and dance"
in 19 reviews
Filter

296 - 300 of 2,114 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2017

We decided to visit this village only if we felt we were up to it during our busy schedule, we were, and we're SO glad we did. It was really unique and fascinating. One of the primary experiences we remember from our trip!

Thank MountainMom78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhakaVillage, General Manager at Whakarewarewa - The Living Maori Village, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Kia Ora,
We are so happy to read your review, thank you. It is such a privilege to be able to share our living Māori village with visitors like you.
Ngā Mihi,
Lou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

The tour of this living Maori village was not only fascinating but very informative about how the people lived here for generations. Great value for money and would recommend.

Thank DavidMay1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhakaVillage, General Manager at Whakarewarewa - The Living Maori Village, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Kia Ora David,
Thanks for taking the time to review us and your comments, such a joy to read. Yes, we have a fascinating way of life here and we are thrilled to be able to share it with manuhiri like yourself.
Ngā Mihi,
Lou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

This is a very informative tour that explains the Maori way of life. Our guide explained how the tribe/family has lived for generations on this site. Make sure to be onsite for the cultural show and get the corn

1  Thank flatsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhakaVillage, General Manager at Whakarewarewa - The Living Maori Village, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Tena Koe,
Thank you so much for choosing to visit Whakarewarewa - The Living Māori Village. We are rapt you found your visit worthwhile - the concert performance is always a highlight for our manuhiri and the corn is not to be missed!
Ngā Mihi,
Lou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2017

The tour was informative and it was also good to have some free time afterwards to wander around and have another look in our own time. We watched the show, did some shopping in the tourist shops and also tried the corn. The corn was amazing! This is one of the better valued tours and I would highly recommend it.

Thank 2014tee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhakaVillage, General Manager at Whakarewarewa - The Living Maori Village, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Kia Ora

Thank you so much for your comment, we are so glad you had an informative interesting experience. For us, it's a real privilege to be able to share our beautiful environment and history with manuhiri like yourself. Yes, you are right, the corn is amazing!

Thanks for choosing to visit us and all the best for your trip around NZ.

Nga mihi,
Lou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Whakarewarewa - The Living Maori Village also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Whakarewarewa - The Living Maori Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing