We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Warm n Cosy & The Hosts are Gr8 Too!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Birchwood Spa Motel
Ranked #85 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed 15 October 2011

I just left the Chateau at Ruapehu & the Bichwood Spa room was much more welcoming with fresh milk & tea! The Hosts Kevin & Connie were very sweet & lovely to chat to. The room was very clean, warm and roomy. I didnt hear one truck but I sleep with air plugs. I would say anywhere in Rotorua where Hotels & Motels are located there will be some traffic as mentioned in other reviews. For the value I found it a great central place to stay. Kevin & Connies warmth and knowledge of Rotorua also helped alot. I would definitely stay again if the opportunity arose. Thanks Alot !! Mike & Jordan , Perth , Australia

Room Tip: I am not sure about kids activities but having the internet was definitely a bonus for my son! Besid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllBlacksFan65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2011

Birchwood Spa Motel is a little dated and, like the many other hotels on this road, it's on a busy route and it wobbles a bit when a logging truck goes by. However, the units are warm, comfortable and spotlessly clean, the exterior very well maintained (planted up with spring flowers and with deliciously-scented daphne in bloom when I was there) and the management are incredibly welcoming. A friend drove up from Tauranga to meet me for the day on the morning I arrived. She got there early and was waiting in her car in the car park and the owners came out and invited her indoors because it was a cold day. You really are made to feel like a guest in an extended home. I enjoyed the capacious spa bath, the fresh fruit and the cookies, replenished daily in the rooms, the NZ Herald outside the door every morning and the little touches, like milk in china jugs in the fridge, rather than cartons. This time I visited for business but I'm planning to go back to Rotorua with the family and I will definitely be making a return visit to the Birchwood Spa.

Room Tip: Opt for ground floor if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pmt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2011

We spent three nights at this motel. It is very well kept, clean and the owner is very friendly and accommodating. The only downside are the truck noises that start in the early morning hours. Otherwise, the motel is conveniently located to explore the region and it is within walking distance to the thermal reserve. You can walk over for dinner at the fabulous dinner buffet at the Chapman's (Holiday Inn).

Room Tip: get a room at ground level to reduce noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MPR1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

Have stayed here twice now and both times its been enjoyable,rooms excellent,beds comfy and the spa's heavenly,and the staff have been super helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Vardo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2011

A great place to stay, central to Rotorua attractions, easy to get into and out of for adventures, friendly, helpful staff, great facilities, comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneF_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2011

To wrap it up, you get what you pay for. The motel was dated and as other reviews have mentioned right next to a very noisy stretch of road where trucks downshifting give the walls a bit of a rumble. The motel was clean and private spa a very nice amenity. Internet access was good and free of charge. A little bit out of town so be prepared for a bit of a walk or short drive to get to the center. Would recommend with the reservation of the noise, but without a major renovation to include soundproofing there is not much the motel can do about it.

Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
Thank backusmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2010

The motel was on the edge of town by a highway. It was clean, the reception was welcoming, facilities adequate and efforts made to improve the ambience with some flowers and a seated area outside the room. A barbecue was provided for sharing by all guests . On the downside, the road noise with logging trucks being heard into the night and the smell, a natural phenomena in Rotorua, but stronger where the motel is. The main niggle, pathetic shower pressure.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dave_jacqueline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birchwood, Owner at Birchwood Spa Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2010

Thank you for taking the time to review my property. I would be delighted if you could contact me to advise which room has unacceptable shower pressure and I will put this right immediately. Many thanks, Jill Parker, owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.6 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#8 of 92 in Rotorua
445 reviews
0.0 mi away
Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre
0.3 mi away
Rotorua Coachman Spa Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fenton Court Motel
Fenton Court Motel
#43 of 92 in Rotorua
216 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpin Motel and Conference Centre
0.2 mi away
New Castle Motor Lodge
New Castle Motor Lodge
#40 of 92 in Rotorua
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birchwood Spa Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchwood Spa Motel

Address: 6 Sala Street | Po Box 6107, Rotorua, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £59 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Birchwood Spa Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm welcome at the Birchwood Spa Motel. Studio, one and two bedroom spa units, townhouses with own garaging, close to thermal attractions, 2.5kms from town centre. Studios offer tea/toast making facilities, other units have well equipped kitchens. Qualmark Four Star rating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Birchwood Spa Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birchwood Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing