We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Let down”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Birchwood Spa Motel
Ranked #79 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Let down”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

Tried to book online through booking website, then through their own website, both unsuccessful.
Made a booking by phone, subsequently they advised they had double-booked and they arranged alternative accommodation which turned out to be of a reduced standard.
Spoiled a long awaited week-end away.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Schemers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JessnMike W, Owner at Birchwood Spa Motel, responded to this review, 17 February 2013
Sorry about that. The booking channel sometimes makes mistake when it is busy. We always do our best to make every guest satisfied. We will discuss this with the booking channel to avoid this kind of things. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    37
    19
    6
    5
See reviews for
32
33
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2013

We spent 3 nights at Birchwood Spa Motel last week and were very pleased with our choice. The motel is on a busy through road but we were unaware of traffic noise. Each unit has a private spa at the back - very relaxing! The hosts were very pleasant to deal with at all times. As we wanted to walk the Blue Lake circuit and do a couple of walks in the Redwood Forest the motel location was perfect for us. A quick drive into the city centre for restaurants. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a one bedroom unit, rather than a studio unit. This was a very good choice. Private spa ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VirgoHamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

clean rooms unlimited wireless won it for me. the promise of a spa room didnt affect my decision to book (the whole rotorua spa obsession is amusing) the owners are lovely and nice homely little touches are appreciated having a toaster and microwave a godsend (food in town is expensive,bland and uninspiring)

Room Tip: bit far out of the city centre if you dont have your own transport
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billycoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2012

The motel was super close to all the parks we wanted to visit. The rooms themselves looked a bit old but otherwise spacious and clean. What stood out was the friendliness and service of the staff. The motel had a huge collection of DVDs, so we took advantage of that and also provided unlimited free Wi-Fi (other places advertise free Wi-Fi but it's often limited and you end up paying for more).

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HumptyDumptyJ0urney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Islamabad, Pakistan
Level Contributor
288 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

Lovely deep spa, firm bed, free wifi and our room had free breakfast. While other reviewers have noted that this place is located on the main road, 90% of motels in Rotorua are so you will get traffic noise everywhere. For us it was not so noticeable. There is also an on-site guest laundry. Great place to stay and the owners were really helpful. Free parking onsite

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oren F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

Booked 2 of the townhouses for our netball team. Booking via email was fast and friendly. Houses were very clean and tidy. Each house also has an internal garage which came in handy. The grounds were kept nice and tidy. Hosts were friendly and left us to it. Only downfall was the spa - separate spa cabin is to be shared by the 4 houses and it was quite small. On top of that, we were given a half hour time limit per house and had to retrieve the key every time we wanted to use it. Overall, a lovely stay though.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_lovin_Kiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shellharbour, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012

Just spent two nights at the Birchwood Spa. Very clean, comfortable studio apartment with private spa pool in courtyard. Romantic package with sparkling wine and chocolates, even though I was traveling alone! Nice touches like a thank you card and jug of fresh milk. Kevin and Connie very helpful in suggesting places to eat. It is a short drive into town, but very close to the geyser which can be seen from the room.

Room Tip: I had a studio but a colleague had a one-bedroom apartment which was very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gillynewzealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
2.3 mi away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#48 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cleveland Thermal Motel
Cleveland Thermal Motel
#12 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apollo Hotel Rotorua
Apollo Hotel Rotorua
#52 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Green View Hotels
Green View Hotels
#67 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
1.2 mi away
Santa Maria Motel
Santa Maria Motel
#46 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ashleigh Court Motel
Ashleigh Court Motel
#71 of 93 in Rotorua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birchwood Spa Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchwood Spa Motel

Property: Birchwood Spa Motel
Address: 6 Sala Street | Po Box 6107, Rotorua, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Birchwood Spa Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm welcome at the Birchwood Spa Motel. Studio, one and two bedroom spa units, townhouses with own garaging, close to thermal attractions, 2.5kms from town centre. Studios offer tea/toast making facilities, other units have well equipped kitchens. Qualmark Four Star rating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Birchwood Spa Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birchwood Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing