We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We enjoyed our stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Birchwood Spa Motel
Ranked #78 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We enjoyed our stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed for 2 nights ground floor -one bedroom with private spa by the courtyard. The room was spotless. It had 2 tv one by the lounge and the other by the other room so we dont have to fight over the tv ( my son wants his disney channel/the husband the sports channel). Kitchen and toilet was clean. Bed was good. No after smell of the room. Hosts were very helpful. Towels / pillows were in good conditions. Hosts were helpful. A bit pricey, but hey it was labour weekend, and it was all worth it. The winner...the private spa/jacuzzi...you can dip whenever you like, as long as you want , at your own privacy. We will be back definitely!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skyblue0917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JessnMike W, Manager at Birchwood Spa Motel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thanks for your stay. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    37
    18
    6
    5
See reviews for
31
33
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Papeete, French Polynesia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Location : close to the city center, restaurants, shops, Ariki Kapapa Golf Course and tourist attractions
Very neatly taken care of motel
Front desk : very welcoming and helping lady
Rooms (studios): we loved the private spa after a day of luging! Minimal but sufficient kitchen utensils, fridge, coffee maker, good bedding
Free wi-fi
Would we go back for a third stay? Of course!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maramanocent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

We only stayed here one night, wish it could've been longer! The setting was very pretty with beautiful flower-filled hanging baskets outside of the doors. Rooms were clean and comfortable!! The only negative for us was that we did not find any bakeries or shops within walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAThlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

The motel is very basic but homey. We stayed in a 2-bedroom ground floor cottage with a garage for the car. Basic cooking facilities with a common laundry area at the office. There's also a separate jacuzzi that can be booked for private use, my kids enjoyed it very much. The host was very hospitable and responsive to our needs, making it an enjoyable stay for us in Rotorua.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAAzli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

We are a family of 5 adults and 1 infant. We stayed in a 2 bedroom townhouse at the end of August. The townhouses are located just behind the motel and are relatively new with a kitchen, internal carpark, small courtyard and 1 bathroom. We really enjoyed the townhouse, it was just big enough for all of us with the 5th person sleeping on the sofa bed in the lounge and we were able to prepare our own meals. They also offered free WiFi which was great so we could plan our activities for the next day. Although it was a little way out of town it was fine for us because we drove everywhere with our car.

The only downside to our stay here was when we had a bbq for dinner. They offer a bbq for guest use but either the previous user didn't clean it or the motel owner doesn't clean it because when we lifted the top it was covered in mould and was disgustingly dirty. Having already bought and prepared our meat we actually spent a good 20 minutes scrubbing the bbq down with hot water and the elements on high to kill off anything and everything. If we had known before hand we probably wouldn't have bothered and just gone out for food. This was disappointing especially considering our room was quite clean.

Room Tip: If you have a family definitely choose the Townhouses at the back, like a home away from home!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dkia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013 via mobile

I thank Kevin for helping us amidst spotty communication while traveling and making sure he had a room for us on arrival. He was very helpful finding us a room for the second night as well as he was all booked. We stayed in a two bedroom unit with shared bath. The unit was very nice and had everything you would need to stay for much longer than we were able. It even came with a garage. The kitchen was large and well-equipped, bath had a large shower and heated towel bar. The living area was comfortable, heater worked well. The WiFi worked really well and was unlimited and included. I recommend and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Love2Trek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

With a family of 6 it can often be hard to find quality accommodation that will fit our size. This motel had not only the space, but also a modern self-contained kitchen and private courtyard spa. The hosts were wonderful, the rooms immaculately clean and the gardens beautifully cared for. However, like many of the places we stayed, the toilet was in the bathroom, which provided a hold-up when our family arrived back at night. The motel is a little out from the centre of Rotorua but not so far as to be a problem. Wi-fi worked well and the free newspapers at your doorstep each morning was a nice touch.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
2.3 mi away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#48 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cleveland Thermal Motel
Cleveland Thermal Motel
#12 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apollo Hotel Rotorua
Apollo Hotel Rotorua
#52 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Green View Hotels
Green View Hotels
#67 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
1.2 mi away
Santa Maria Motel
Santa Maria Motel
#46 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ashleigh Court Motel
Ashleigh Court Motel
#69 of 93 in Rotorua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birchwood Spa Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchwood Spa Motel

Property: Birchwood Spa Motel
Address: 6 Sala Street | Po Box 6107, Rotorua, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Birchwood Spa Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm welcome at the Birchwood Spa Motel. Studio, one and two bedroom spa units, townhouses with own garaging, close to thermal attractions, 2.5kms from town centre. Studios offer tea/toast making facilities, other units have well equipped kitchens. Qualmark Four Star rating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Birchwood Spa Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birchwood Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing