We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Motel in New Zealand”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Birchwood Spa Motel
Ranked #86 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed 2 January 2010

Spotlessly clean motel, ideally situated, just a comfortable distance from the centre of town, all units wonderfully equiped with all the essentials. Also Jill and her husband are the perfect hosts ready with all the local knowledge to make your stay even more enjoyable. Not one fault to find!! great value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Topsy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2009

I booked this motel for the easter weekend for my boyfriend and I, when we arrived we were greeted by the owners of the motel, who were absolutely wonderful and very helpful with things to do in Rotorua. The motel room was extremely clean and spacious equipped with everything we needed, the bathroom was very clean and tidy but basic, But excellent value for money. Overall the motel was fantastic and I would recommend for anyone wanting a warm, clean and nice room for a decent price alongside warm hospitality from the staff. Also the free dvd library is excellent, kept us well entertained when in the motel =)

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TOURISTNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2008

We found this gem through the Rotorua Info Site. Since we had come from a very disappointing stay our previous night, Birchwood felt like heaven. We had a 2 bedroom unit which was spotless with a large common area and a great shower. We were 4 adults and very comfortable. There was a nearby hot tub which was perfect after our outdoor activities in the rain. The owners were very friendly and welcoming. It was a sort walk to Te Puia where the evening hangi, entertainment and thermal areas were a highlight of our trip. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MAquohoag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2008

4 of us stayed here in one of the 2 bed townhouses. The townhouses are 1minute's walk from the motel units and reception. The townhouse was spacious and clean with a lovely little garden out the back. The hosts, Jill & Stephen were really helpful, even lending us some jackets when the weather was bad.

We didn't stay in the motel units so can't comment about these, but the townhouse was lovely and a really high standard. I can only presume that the motel units are the same.

We had a walk in shower room, which was a bit more inconvenient with 4 of us than a normal bathroom as the floor would get wet. However, there is a mop provided, and the shower water pressure was fantastic.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shonpluck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2008

We called in to this Motel to see if there was a vacancy and found the hosts - Stephen and Jill were so welcoming and friendly that we decided to stay. The rooms were bright, clean and very comfortable. Jill and Stephen were very happy to help us with advice on local attractions, restaurants etc. After a busy day of sightseeing it was lovely to relax and enjoy the spa. I was also able to access the internet easily to update my travel blog. www.mytb.org/Sue50 We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Birchwood Spa Motel

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Sue100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2008

We have stayed at this motel many a time and have invited extra friends and family to join us on long weekends. For us it is centrally located and we find the unit most suitable for a weekend away from home. The units have all you desire, they are clean and well equipped. The moteliers are very friendly and would do anything for you, infact they go the extra mile. Thank you Jill and Stephen for your hospitality.

Stayed: March 2008
Thank LittleMissie60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2008

Reading the reviews of this hotel it strikes me that there are many travellers who enjoy a good grumble. We stayed in the 2 bedroom townhouse over easter 2008 and had a very enjoyable stay. The facility was spotlessly clean (cleaner than any other I have stayed in in my 13 years touring NZ), decor was well maintained (many motels in Rotorua are somewhat tired) and it was comfortably furnished. The owners were exceptionally accomodating and friendly, more so than many hosts I have encountered. I can fault nothing.

I can only assume the grumble reviews are caused by people not being careful at the time of booking. This is not a lake front location (though for bikers it is paradise being riding distance to the forest), and is not of oppulent design. It is a well equipped, clean and tidy motel that served us very well as a base for our family holiday.

I should also mention that they have library of DVDs and a playstation & games that are available to borrow - so if it rains you have a cheap option to keep the kids happy for a couple of hours.

Stayed: March 2008
1  Thank UnCannyScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.6 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#8 of 92 in Rotorua
444 reviews
0.0 mi away
Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre
2.3 mi away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#46 of 92 in Rotorua
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fenton Court Motel
Fenton Court Motel
#43 of 92 in Rotorua
216 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpin Motel and Conference Centre
2.3 mi away
Cleveland Thermal Motel
Cleveland Thermal Motel
#14 of 92 in Rotorua
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birchwood Spa Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchwood Spa Motel

Address: 6 Sala Street | Po Box 6107, Rotorua, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £59 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Birchwood Spa Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm welcome at the Birchwood Spa Motel. Studio, one and two bedroom spa units, townhouses with own garaging, close to thermal attractions, 2.5kms from town centre. Studios offer tea/toast making facilities, other units have well equipped kitchens. Qualmark Four Star rating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Birchwood Spa Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birchwood Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing