We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable motel - nothing special!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Birchwood Spa Motel
Ranked #86 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed 2 March 2007

My wife and I spent two nights here on a tour of the North Island. The motel was on a busy road in the suburbs of Rotorua, but we weren't disturbed by traffic at night. We had a bedroom with a separate bathroom. There was a hot tub on the patio at the back, which we used once. The room wasn't very well equipped - just a fridge and microwave. The decoration and furnishings were simple but pleasant. The charge of NZ$120/night seemed reasonable value for Rotorua.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank james2anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2006

Not that great a Motel for the price I had to pay, was a bit disappointed that it lacked atmosphere and the Spa Pool wasnt good at all, it was clean but that was about it, wouldnt stay there again its a bit far from town as well

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Jack_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2006

Had a good stay in Rotorua, lots to do there, motel is close to the maori thermal area but a bit far to walk to town, spa could have been better, clean and comfortable, bit over priced and basic

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank James_Marlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2006

The owners, Steve and Jill, are delightful. Jill gave us a tour of all the rooms available when we arrived. Steve had worlds of great information about local attractions and restaurants. Rooms are roomy and very clean. Spa tubs in most rooms. Kitchenettes. Laundry on site but no restaurant. Parking right outside the room. A few blocks from the center of town, but very convenient and easy to get to. Definitely give them a look if you are going to Rotorua. Like any hotel on a busy street, a little traffic noise.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Redthatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2004

This motel is on the motel 'strip' as you go into Rotorua - it is right opposite the whakarewarewa thermal village and a so good location for some thermal activity - beware the stink of sulphur that eminates around Rotorua!! The rooms are great with separate bedroom and a private outdoor spa and you can park right outside your front door. The staff are very friendly and their cat will come to greet you every time you leave your room!
Its a bit of a walk into the town centre - but there is not much there anyway - and thats not what you go to Rotorua for anyway so it is not a disadvantage.

  • Stayed: July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank atob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pufyp11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 8 April 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.6 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#8 of 92 in Rotorua
444 reviews
0.0 mi away
Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre
2.3 mi away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#46 of 92 in Rotorua
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fenton Court Motel
Fenton Court Motel
#43 of 92 in Rotorua
216 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpin Motel and Conference Centre
2.3 mi away
Cleveland Thermal Motel
Cleveland Thermal Motel
#14 of 92 in Rotorua
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birchwood Spa Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchwood Spa Motel

Address: 6 Sala Street | Po Box 6107, Rotorua, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £59 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Birchwood Spa Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm welcome at the Birchwood Spa Motel. Studio, one and two bedroom spa units, townhouses with own garaging, close to thermal attractions, 2.5kms from town centre. Studios offer tea/toast making facilities, other units have well equipped kitchens. Qualmark Four Star rating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Birchwood Spa Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birchwood Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing