We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but better value can be found elsewhere for families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Ranked #17 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
GreenLeadersBronze level
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Nice but better value can be found elsewhere for families”
Reviewed 2 September 2011

The Holiday Inn offers a good location and comfortable but small rooms. In my opinion, the hotel is orientated towards business customers and offers a plethora of convenient services (at a fee) for these types of guests. In relation to families, I would not rate the hotel a good value. For example, in attempting to borrow a DVD player(non provided in-room) for my sons cartoons, a sizable deposit and a per day charge was demanded. In comparison, DVD players are provided as standard in most motels in New Zealand I have stayed at.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, 15 September 2011
Dear T O,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua recently and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.

I am sorry you were disappointed to have to pay for the hire of the DVD player. I’m not sure if it was explained to you, however the hire not only included the player but also unlimited access to the hotel’s collection of children’s DVD’s. You mentioned that the hotel is geared more to business traveler’s, however as a Holiday Inn we have a strong family focus, offering children eat and stay free. We also offer a number of other facilities geared to families, including a games room and swimming pool and spa’s.

As you mention we are not a motel, we are a full service hotel and as such offer additional services such as free shuttle to the city centre and ½ hour free wifi in the hotel lobby as well as 24 hour reception and room service.

We do appreciate you taking the time to place your feedback on Trip Advisor and look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Rotorua in the future.

Kindest regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    388
    176
    35
    12
See reviews for
244
383
29
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
auckland
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

I've stayed for various reasons when this hotel was the Centra, then the Heritage and was a little dubious when I saw it had changed hands to the Holiday Inn. However, as a creature of habit, I did it anyway, so with hubby and 13yr old in tow, we were off. We like the distance from town feeling away from the hustle and bustle. We were in room 822 great views of Whakarewarewa. The sheeting and pillows were just lovely and soft and big bath. We ate breakfast in the restaurant and probably should have booked due to the tour numbers being there so had to wait for a table. This would ordinarily not be an issue on holiday but we had to be somewhere else to be that Sun morn. The room was smallish but fine for us. Mini bar is well stocked and milk provided is ample with small cartons and lots of tea provided. Good sized wardrobe. The pool, spa and gym are good. I would prob recommend for older children more in the teens than young kids. All the staff are definitely very friendly and courteous, nothing is too much trouble. They have ample tourist info available in foyer. The lovely handsigned welcome note from the GM is nice touch. Also, the offer that if you forget toothpaste and other personal things in the bathroom they will provide compliment of them is certainly a reason to keep going back!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jen101Auckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, 1 September 2011
Dear jen101Auckland,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua recently and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.

It is very pleasing to read that you enjoyed your recent stay, despite your misgivings regarding the brand change. As you have noted, we have made many improvements to the rooms, including new linen and pillows, and continue to receive positive comments about these. Hopefully you will have also seen that the best part of the hotel, our staff, are the same professional and friendly staff who take pride in providing exceptional customer service that you would have dealt with in the past.

We do appreciate you taking the time to place your feedback on Trip Advisor and hope to see you again in the future.

Kindest regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

This is a new or newly renovated hotel with a good location. The rooms are small but very confortable, specially the bed and the pilows.
The food is really good!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ViviCACarvalho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, 1 September 2011
Dear vivinaviagem,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua recently and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.

As you have mentioned, we have recently rebranded to Holiday Inn Rotorua, during which time we made considerable improvements to our rooms. It is very pleasing that you appreciated these changes during your recent stay.

Again, I would like to thank you for taking the time to place your feedback and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We normally stay at the ventura inn and suites, but could not get a room there as booked last minute, so we decided to stay at the holiday inn. We booked a king room on a high floor for $160 through wotif. The hotel is located approx 3km from the restaurant strip in town, but there is a minibus which leaves once an hour, it runs to 9pm so if you want to stay out later a taxi back will cost approx $12. The room was quite small and the bathroom was very small, we don't bring a lot of toiletries for a two night stay, but there was not room for it all. I would politely suggest that if you are an above average size or have any special needs you would find the bathroom in this room too cramped. I did notice when booking there were rooms on lower floors with two queen beds so imagine these may have bigger bathrooms.

Overall, the room was very clean with a modern flatscreen tv on the wall. The usual coffee, tea and minibar facilities were there. There was a good view of the geyser and the thermal park as well as the redwood forest and the room had a small balcony which would be nice in the summer. The bed was comfortable and the advantage of this hotel over the motels on fenton street is that it is not on the road, so you do not get the road noise in the morning.

The main downside of the room in the winter was that it one wall which was floor to ceiling single glazed windows. The aircon was too loud to have on all night and the room was therefore a bit cold in the mornings. The aircon worked well and did not take too long to heat back up.

Cannot comment on meals, as not included in the rate.

I would stay at this hotel again if I was offered a better rate, I do think that there is better value in the town if you book far enough in advance. I would check what the difference is between the king and the double queen (as these rooms were cheaper) I would hazard a guess that the one we stayed in had been refurbed, hence the higher price.

Room Tip: Discuss with management the differences in the prices between the double queen and king, also if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank princess3016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, 1 September 2011
Dear princess3016,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua recently and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.

You mentioned that you normally stay at Ventura Inn and Suites, which is a lovely property. A difference between this property and Holiday Inn Rotorua is that we are a full service property.

As you mentioned, we do have quite a lot of different room configurations; encompassing views of the geothermal valley, different bed types and balconies. Our Reservations department is happy to discuss your requirements with you to give you the best room to suit your needs. Reservations can be made directly with the hotel by calling freecall 0800 108 114.

We do appreciate you taking the time to place your feedback on Trip Advisor.

Kindest regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

When we booked this hotel through our travel agent, it was called 'The Heritage'. We were of the impression that this hotel was just that little bit special.
Upon arriving in Rotorua, we called into the information centre for directions. They did not have a clue about our hotel,until we gave them the address. It was then that we found out that it was no longer 'The Heritage', but another Holiday Inn.
Although the reception area looks smart, the outside, and indeed, the rooms look dated.Our first room was with two double beds, so we requested a room with one queen or king bed. The next room they gave us was exactly the same, but on a different floor. The next room they gave us was one with a king bed.
This room had a great view overlooking the heritage village, so we cannot complain about that. Each night when it was dark, we could make out the ghostly views of the steam rising from the thermal springs.
On the down side, the bathroom was rather pokey. Certainly, it was impossible to swing the proverbial cat. Apart from the view, our room itself was nothing out of the ordinary.
Certainly, we have stayed in much worse hotels, but we have also stayed in better.
I must reiterate!! The staff were by far the best feature about this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ianb111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, 1 September 2011
Dear ianb111,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua recently and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.

As a rule we do not encourage our guests to swing their cats in our bathrooms, but I accept that some of our bathrooms are not the largest. I am very pleased that we were able to find you a room to suit your requirements, as you say the view over the Whakarewarewa Village and the geothermal valley is a unique and special part of Holiday Inn Rotorua.

It is particularly pleasing to read that the service you received from our staff was a highlight of your stay. We are very proud of the quality of service provided at the hotel and it is great to read the service you received was up to our high standards.

We do appreciate you taking the time to place your feedback on Trip Advisor and look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Rotorua in the future.

Kindest regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
te awanga
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

We used to come here when it was the Heritage and we were upset that it had changed hands but came anyway. Pleasantly surprised to find that things were even better! The same deals such as kids eat free with an adult etc. And they had a wonderful new coffee machine to help yourself to, the breakfast had a far greater selection and extremely good service. The meals a la carte were a far better standard and even though there were a few familiar faces in general the staff gave a far better service all round.
The rooms had been upgraded with new bed linens and everything in general seemed fresher and better.
If you go with your kids during school holidays make sure the parents of other kids stay to supervise them! The pool here is great- lots of fun for hours but not good if you have to supervise others while the parents escape to their room!

Room Tip: We were in room 810 which we have been in before. We like this wing as the view of the surrounding c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwibear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, 7 August 2011
Dear kiwibear,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua recently and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.

I am very pleased that you came back to Holiday Inn Rotorua despite your misgivings over the brand change. Although we have changed brand, the ownership of the hotel has not changed and there was almost no change in staff. As you mentioned, we have made significant improvements as part of the brand change and I am glad that you appreciated these improvements.

We do appreciate you taking the time to place your feedback on Trip Advisor and look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Rotorua in the future.

Kindest regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Rotorua - a lovely little place in NZ!

Stayed 2 nights in Auguist, 2011.

Staff were very friendly, including the portugese barman and the Manager, who certainly knew his rugby Union!

Rooms - very nice and great value for money.

Ate at the hotel as well and the restaurant was good value.

A free car park - 10 mins from Rotorua CBD, so out of town.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonnogreig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, 7 August 2011
Dear jonnogreig,
Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua recently and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.
I’m pleased to read that you found the hotel to be nice and comfortable and the team friendly. We are just 3km from the central City and we do offer a complimentary shuttle service to and from town, to remove any concerns over our location.
And yes, we are ready for the Rugby World Cup, with knowledgeable and passionate staff!
Our service is our benchmark; feedback, such as you have provided, enables us to monitor ourselves, ensuring that we remain on track to provide a consistent level of guest service.
Again I would like to thank you for taking the time to place your feedback.

Kindest regards,


Marcus Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
2.0 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
1.6 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
697 reviews
1.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
1.8 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#4 of 92 in Rotorua
172 reviews
4.0 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Rotorua

Property: Holiday Inn Rotorua
Address: 10 Tryon Street, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand (Formerly Heritage Rotorua)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Rotorua
#15 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#23 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holiday Inn Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Rotorua is a modern hotel overlooking the Whakarewarewa Thermal Reserve and Historical Village. It features: • A free to use heated swimming pool and health club. • Free parking. • Kids Eat and Stay Free. (Up to 2 children under 12.) • Free Wifi for IHG Rewards Club Members. The air-conditioned rooms of Holiday Inn Rotorua offer a modern design and cable TV with free movies and 2 children's channels. Tea and coffee making facilities are provided. The award winning Chapman’s Restaurant and Bar offers an a la carte menu, and buffet, and serves contemporary New Zealand cuisine, matched with a fine wine selection. Room service is available 24/7. The Rotorua Holiday Inn is situated close to all the city's attractions and offers free shuttle pickup from the Rotorua Tourism Information Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, IHG, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Heritage Hotel Rotorua
Rotorua Heritage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing