We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Comfortable Bed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Ranked #20 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
GreenLeadersBronze level
South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
1,025 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 628 helpful votes
“Very Comfortable Bed”
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We had balcony queen/single on level one room 122. Best bed on trip after three weeks. Super comfy. Good food. This is a busy hotel that caters for big groups so expect kaos around reception a times. Good value and service. Dont get a room near the lift our was and was VERY noisy as people gathered to talk outside our door, very annoying.

Room Tip: not near the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, 2 October 2011
Dear Tim J,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua recently and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.

It was great to read that you enjoyed the bed, we have received many positive comments regarding our beds since we rebranded as Holiday Inn.

Again, I would like to thank you for taking the time to place your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Rotorua.

Kindest regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    379
    174
    35
    12
See reviews for
236
375
27
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Last minute stay in Rotorua as we hadn't finished exploring everything there was to offer. Reception staff were very helpful and offered a room to cater for 3 of us, Standard room with 2 double beds. Beds were comfortable and rooms were typical of Holiday Inn Standard. Location is a little bit out of the main Rotorua 'hub' so a car of public transport would be required as it isn't in walking distance to restaurants etc. However town is only a 5 min drive. Ended up having breakfast downstairs and the price was reasonable for a hot buffet (24NZD) and plentiful.
Internet kiosk is available in the lobby for a reasonable price, also a little gift shop and they offer a cultural show/dinner which looked quite good.
Plenty of free onsite parking which was great and right next to Whakarewarewa Thermal Reserve and Historical Living Village.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pixieloz85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, 15 September 2011
Dear pixieloz85,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua recently and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.

I am not surprised that you extended your stay in Rotorua, there is so much to see and do. I am pleased that we were able to accommodate you and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We do appreciate you taking the time to place your feedback on Trip Advisor and look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Rotorua in the future.

Kindest regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We checked into a standard twin room for a Friday night stay. Children stay free in existing beddings and the two double beds are adequate for 2A+2C. The room's small but the beds were very inviting. There was also hard and soft pillows to choose from, depending on your preference. We had a really good rest for the night after a long flight and drive down from Auckland.

Our room was on a low level so we didn't get a good view of the thermal reserve. Breakfast is typically continental but offers some Asian food such as Chinese porridge, steamed rice and Miso soup. While they didn't offer fried eggs (sunny-side-up), we asked from the staff and she wrote an order for the kitchen.

The hotel is just round the corner of the Whakarewarewa Village where currently on Friday evenings, there is a small night market at the carpark in front of the village. At 6pm, for a gold coin donation, one can enter the hall to appreciate a maori dance performace.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chenoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, 15 September 2011
Dear chenoa,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua recently and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.

I am very pleased to read that you liked our beds, as part of our brand change we have adopted the Holiday Inn hallmarks included pillow choice and mattress toppers. Since these have been in use, we have constant positive feedback about the beds and the good night sleep they provide.

It was great that you got to experience the night market at Whakarewarewa Village, it is one of many Rugby World Cup related activities happening around Rotorua, and very convenient to the hotel being just around the corner.

Again, I would like to thank you for taking the time to place your feedback and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisborne, New Zealand
Level Contributor
84 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

We are part of the priority privilege club and this was our first stay at Holiday Inn. What a fantastic place!!
the staff were all really helpful and made us feel so welcome. our bags were taken up to our room for us while we fluffed around trying to find a park for the car as the car park was rather full.
The room was fantastic,we looked over the lake and the bed was so comfortable. We slept like babies as there is no traffic noise and our room was at the end of the hallway so it was extra quiet.
The breakfast was by far the best selection. Being able to make your own juice in the juice maker and the yummy eggs Benedict was a treat!! Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and it was much appreciated.
When we booked out the man who served me,I wish I could remember his name, what a nice man to have on your front desk.
I would definitely go back to this hotel again and would recommend it to all my friends.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlottesville
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Based on reviews from Trip Advisor we went with this hotel. The hotel was well appointed and we had no complaints about the room. Clean, comfortable and although it was a packed weekend with guests, we didn't hear a lot of noise in the outside corridors of our room. The restaurant food was good although slim pickens if your a vegetarian but there are plenty of other places to eat in town which is about a 7 minute drive. There are other hotels along the strip but we found this to be a good location in that is off the main road by 2 short blocks so you don't have any traffic sounds. We would definitely recommend and stay again. Pool area was open but we went with the local hot springs experience which is also a 5 minute drive away.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank virginiabeachbums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, 15 September 2011
Dear virginiabeachbums,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua recently and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.

I am very pleased that your stay lived up to the reviews you read on Trip Advisor. As you mention, we are in a privileged position away from the hustle and bustle of the city centre, but with easy access to the adjoining geothermal valley. Thank you for your comments regarding vegetarian options, we will look into our current offerings to increase our selection and we are always open to requests for additional vegetarian items.

We do appreciate you taking the time to place your feedback on Trip Advisor.

Kindest regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

The Holiday Inn offers a good location and comfortable but small rooms. In my opinion, the hotel is orientated towards business customers and offers a plethora of convenient services (at a fee) for these types of guests. In relation to families, I would not rate the hotel a good value. For example, in attempting to borrow a DVD player(non provided in-room) for my sons cartoons, a sizable deposit and a per day charge was demanded. In comparison, DVD players are provided as standard in most motels in New Zealand I have stayed at.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, 15 September 2011
Dear T O,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua recently and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.

I am sorry you were disappointed to have to pay for the hire of the DVD player. I’m not sure if it was explained to you, however the hire not only included the player but also unlimited access to the hotel’s collection of children’s DVD’s. You mentioned that the hotel is geared more to business traveler’s, however as a Holiday Inn we have a strong family focus, offering children eat and stay free. We also offer a number of other facilities geared to families, including a games room and swimming pool and spa’s.

As you mention we are not a motel, we are a full service hotel and as such offer additional services such as free shuttle to the city centre and ½ hour free wifi in the hotel lobby as well as 24 hour reception and room service.

We do appreciate you taking the time to place your feedback on Trip Advisor and look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Rotorua in the future.

Kindest regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
auckland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

I've stayed for various reasons when this hotel was the Centra, then the Heritage and was a little dubious when I saw it had changed hands to the Holiday Inn. However, as a creature of habit, I did it anyway, so with hubby and 13yr old in tow, we were off. We like the distance from town feeling away from the hustle and bustle. We were in room 822 great views of Whakarewarewa. The sheeting and pillows were just lovely and soft and big bath. We ate breakfast in the restaurant and probably should have booked due to the tour numbers being there so had to wait for a table. This would ordinarily not be an issue on holiday but we had to be somewhere else to be that Sun morn. The room was smallish but fine for us. Mini bar is well stocked and milk provided is ample with small cartons and lots of tea provided. Good sized wardrobe. The pool, spa and gym are good. I would prob recommend for older children more in the teens than young kids. All the staff are definitely very friendly and courteous, nothing is too much trouble. They have ample tourist info available in foyer. The lovely handsigned welcome note from the GM is nice touch. Also, the offer that if you forget toothpaste and other personal things in the bathroom they will provide compliment of them is certainly a reason to keep going back!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jen101Auckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, 1 September 2011
Dear jen101Auckland,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua recently and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.

It is very pleasing to read that you enjoyed your recent stay, despite your misgivings regarding the brand change. As you have noted, we have made many improvements to the rooms, including new linen and pillows, and continue to receive positive comments about these. Hopefully you will have also seen that the best part of the hotel, our staff, are the same professional and friendly staff who take pride in providing exceptional customer service that you would have dealt with in the past.

We do appreciate you taking the time to place your feedback on Trip Advisor and hope to see you again in the future.

Kindest regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
2.0 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
1.6 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
689 reviews
1.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.7 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#16 of 92 in Rotorua
384 reviews
1.8 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Rotorua

Property: Holiday Inn Rotorua
Address: 10 Tryon Street, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand (Formerly Heritage Rotorua)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Rotorua
#17 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#23 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holiday Inn Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Rotorua is a modern hotel overlooking the Whakarewarewa Thermal Reserve and Historical Village. It features: • A free to use heated swimming pool and health club. • Free parking. • Kids Eat and Stay Free. (Up to 2 children under 12.) • Free Wifi for IHG Rewards Club Members. The air-conditioned rooms of Holiday Inn Rotorua offer a modern design and cable TV with free movies and 2 children's channels. Tea and coffee making facilities are provided. The award winning Chapman’s Restaurant and Bar offers an a la carte menu, and buffet, and serves contemporary New Zealand cuisine, matched with a fine wine selection. Room service is available 24/7. The Rotorua Holiday Inn is situated close to all the city's attractions and offers free shuttle pickup from the Rotorua Tourism Information Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, IHG, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Heritage Hotel Rotorua
Rotorua Heritage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing