We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eco Thermal expeience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Ranked #17 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Eco Thermal expeience”
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Greeted with cool bottles of water on arrival-nice touch. Hotel is situated quite a walk from cbd but they have a free courtesy bus to bring you into the city centre which runs every hour. Our room had an amazing view of steaming hissing thermal pool and every so often a sulphurous whiff.You get used to it.Room was clean and well equiped.Breakfast was excellent.An ideal base for exploring Rotorua and really enjoyed the Maori entertainment and the buffet which is run every night in the hotel. Health and safety rules outlaw the traditional Hangi !

Room Tip: Our room 722 overlooked the thermal area-what a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chalfont55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Dear Chalfont55,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua and for taking the time to place feedback on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased you enjoyed the amazing view of the geothermal valley from your room, and were able to experience our evening Cultural Show and Feast.

We appreciate your valuable feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Rotorua next time you travel our way.

Kindest regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    372
    172
    35
    11
See reviews for
232
372
26
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

After the initial hiccup of booking on line, having problems, ringing the hotel in Rotorua, been told there were no rooms available, having TripAdvisor Hotel links tell us otherwise, ringing the Holiday Inn 0800 number we were guaranteed a room.....!!! Confirmation via email from the 0800...So there we stayed. Very happy with our decision, quality of tea, coffee, shampoos great. Room and bedding clean. Room sound quiet except from the hall itself and people coming and going. A pity hotels don't use dimmer lights for the halls at night to encourage people to talk quieter in respect of people trying to sleep. Swimming pool medium size and clean, towels available which was great. We were on the top floor of the new part of the hotel with views of the thermal area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Apmpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Dear Apmpa,

Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on Trip Advisor. I am pleased you were happy with your decision to stay with us at Holiday Inn Rotorua, and enjoyed the cleanliness of your room and quality of amenities.

Since your stay, we have introduced signage on our guest floors, in several languages, reminding people of quiet consideration for others.

Again, thank you for your valuable comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Rotorua next time you travel our way.

Kindest regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

my biggest advice? skip the area entirely! it's overcrowded with tourists and tour buses - you'd be better off hitting the South Island of New Zealand instead, or at least skipping Rotorua and heading further south to Tongariro or New Plymouth.
The hotel was nice - but old. They were full so our only option was the original room they had put us in, with a fantastic view of the top of the corrugated roof over the lobby entrance. the room itself was nice, but seemed old as well - hallways looked like we were in a 2.5 or 3 star hotel...thank goodness the rooms were nicer than the hallways! the elevator jerked horribly - you felt like you would get stuck in it. restaurant seemed limited in options so we skipped it for dinner (Burger Fuel down the main street was a MUCH better option for dinner!), but did do breakfast in the room and it was really quite good.
front desk staff was courteous but not overly friendly - can't blame them though because you couldn't swing a dead cat without hitting a tour bus tourist. we had called them for directions and they misguided us so we drove around probably about half an hour longer than we needed to. a "roundabout" is a very distinctive road feature - so when they said "take a right at the roundabout" and it was actually a left at a street corner, we were more than a little annoyed...

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank usnaturedoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Dear usnaturedoc,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua and taking the time to place feedback on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased you found the rooms to be nicer than the hallways. Perhaps you might have preferred a higher grade room from our Deluxe View range, which have been more recently refurbished and have better views, either over the city or geothermal area.

Our lifts are well maintained and don’t normally jerk horribly, though as with most machinery, they do run more smoothly after being serviced. We do have this done on a regular basis, though with fluctuations in the volume of usage it is occasionally necessary to call for attention earlier than the scheduled service date. Without having your stay dates I can’t say for sure, but I expect that would have been the case whilst you were here.

I am disappointed to see you had trouble finding us with the directions you were given, that must have been most frustrating for you and I apologise for the inconvenience caused.

Again, thank you for your valuable feedback. Any observations whether in a positive or negative frame, assist us in improving our standard of products and services.

Kindest regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We stayed four nights paying $95NZD for the secret room on lastminute.com.au
Bed and pillows very comfortable. Although on the cosy side (1 queen & 1 single) the room was clean, modern and comfortable. It faced the car park and was a great base to crash each night.

Customer service was overall excellent; friendly, welcoming and all requests greeted with a smile and willingness to help. The only meal at the hotel was a shared hot breakfast one morning via room service which we couldn't finish as it was so much food.

The hotel is just tucked away from the busy hotel/motel main strip with quick easy access to the activities in Rotorua and approx. 45min drive to Lake Taupo. The sulphar smell is throughout the whole of Rotorua and maybe just a little stronger here due to being next to the thermal waters although it didn't concern us.

Only nitpick would be the aged lifts that close too quick.

Some highlights of our stay:
'Eruptor' navy boat ride on Lake Taupo - up to 95km an hour on the water out to the Maori wall carving. Fun fun fun - we had a smile the whole time as did the pensioners from England! 1hr - $65

Waikato River cruise to Huka Falls - Very knowledgeable and friendly guide. Relaxing with great photo opportunities.
1hr20mins - $35 (We learned of the Eruptor on this cruise)

Tamaki Maori Village - informative, entertaining including the teaching of the Haka, and of course a great meal with the Hangi. Included return transfer from the hotel with 'Wati' the bus driver entertaining all with his singing on the return
$105

Polynesian Spa with spa therapy (mud body polish/aix combo)
$150 - first time experience would allow more time for soaking in the pools if we went again

Skyline Rotorua - great views of Lake Rotorua and the city. Great fun on the luge!
$41 - gondola and 3x luge

Aorangi Peak Restaurant - fine dining with spectaculator views of the Lake and city of Rotorua (located on the same mountain as Skyline but higher up). Included pick up and return in a Mercedes allowing both of us to enjoy the wine.

'Redwoods' - forest located next to the Hotel. Allow more time for the walks than indicated. The 2-3hr walk takes you to views of the geyers behind the hotel.

There is a lot on offer in Rotorua for all ages and we're glad we allowed the four days.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LSSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Dear LSSydney,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua and for placing feedback.
We are presently reviewing our electronic systems, to identify where we might be able to make improvements in the future, and your comments around the lifts have been included in our considerations. Our lifts are well maintained with security/safety beams fitted, and the door closing mechanism is serviced regularly to ensure the doors don’t close on any guests.

I am pleased you found the bed and pillows very comfortable, it is very rewarding to know you have rested well here with us, and very cool to read of the enjoyable activities you took pleasure in experiencing in and around Rotorua.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to place feedback on Trip Advisor. We look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Rotorua next time you visit our region.

Kindest regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We stayed at the Holiday Inn while in Rotorua. I found the hotel to be very dated we stayed in a standard room the first night and then shifted to the Executive Suite for the other 3 nights. We found the lifts to be very outdated as it was hard to get suitcases in and out of the lift and also you did not need to use your room key to use the lifts which to me is a security issue.
The Breakfast was ok and dinner buffet was ordinary. The air conditioning did not work in our bedroom which was fixed the next day.

Room Tip: A room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debchef11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Dear debchef1 1,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua recently, and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.

As we have recently moved from hard keys to electronic keys, we have not previously had the capability or need to have electronic card access to floors active in our lifts. As we move forward, this will be looked at as part of any lift upgrade. Our lifts are regularly checked and serviced, and our guest service attendants are more than happy to transfer your luggage for you.

I was disappointed to read that the air conditioning did not work in your room, and pleased it was able to be rectified the next day. That must have been frustrating for you and I apologise for the inconvenience caused.

Thank you again for placing valuable feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Rotorua next time you travel our way.

Kindest regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

I enjoyed staying here. It had a lovely large outdoor hot pool, good comfortable rooms and an excellent buffet restaurant. For breakfast, there were options to have cheap small breakfasts, or a cooked a la carte breakfast, or a buffet breakfast. All the food was of good quality. Also, the hotel does a free shuttle into town. A relaxing and comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Dear Michelle M,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua recently, and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased you were able to relax and enjoy the comfort of our rooms, and quality of our buffet restaurant. We aim to provide affordable options to suit a range of needs and it is great to read that you found our products to be of good quality.

Again, thank you for placing your feedback on Trip Advisor. We look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Rotorua next time you travel our way.

Kindest regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

In November, 2011, I spent several days at this Holiday Inn resort with my son. It is adjacent to a Maori Village and thermal springs. Warm swimming pool which is heated by thermal springs, but not filled by it, possibly because the thermal springs had a strong H2S(hydrogen sulfide) odor(rotten eggs) which occasionally wafted into the connecting corridor, but never the hotel rooms. My son didn't know what it was, but having been to several thermal areas before(eg. Yellowstone) it was very familiar, but I thought added to the "charm" reminding me of where I was. Great location to start a driving trip to the North Island since it is 2-3 hours from Auckland. More touristy than I thought, with many hotels with different rates. Lots of things to do. As a matter of fact I think there is more "to do" than "to see". Hotel had a great Maori cultural show couple of times per week with good food and a great show. Actually, the reason I chose to start my trip in Rotorua was because the fact that it was the center of the Maori culture appealed to me. Can see the Agrodome farm visit, go horseback riding, hiking, and then head off to other parts of the the island to go fishing, sphelunking in gloworm caves, boating/sailing, beaching, wine tasting and hobbit visiting. Sorry I missed the South Island, but I will be back!

Room Tip: Nice view of the thermal hot springs with picture windows. I have photos, but will have to add them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arvinchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Dear arvinchin,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua recently, and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased you enjoyed our Cultural Show & Feast, and your Deluxe room overlooking the Whakarewarewa Maori Village and Thermal Springs.

I really liked your comment about there being more ‘to do’ than ‘see’ in Rotorua. We have an abundance of natural scenic beauty in our forests, lakes, mountains and geothermal wonderlands, and are also an adventure destination where the world comes to play!

You are quite right about this being a great location from which to begin a driving trip around the North Island, with so many world class attractions easily within a few hours drive.

Thank you again, we really appreciate you taking the time to place your feedback, and look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Rotorua next time you visit our part of the world.

Kind regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
2.0 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.5 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
1.6 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.7 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#16 of 92 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.3 mi away
Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Rotorua

Property: Holiday Inn Rotorua
Address: 10 Tryon Street, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand (Formerly Heritage Rotorua)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Rotorua
#15 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#23 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holiday Inn Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Rotorua is a modern hotel overlooking the Whakarewarewa Thermal Reserve and Historical Village. It features: • A free to use heated swimming pool and health club. • Free parking. • Kids Eat and Stay Free. (Up to 2 children under 12.) • Free Wifi for IHG Rewards Club Members. The air-conditioned rooms of Holiday Inn Rotorua offer a modern design and cable TV with free movies and 2 children's channels. Tea and coffee making facilities are provided. The award winning Chapman’s Restaurant and Bar offers an a la carte menu, and buffet, and serves contemporary New Zealand cuisine, matched with a fine wine selection. Room service is available 24/7. The Rotorua Holiday Inn is situated close to all the city's attractions and offers free shuttle pickup from the Rotorua Tourism Information Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Heritage Hotel Rotorua
Rotorua Heritage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing