We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable & Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Ranked #18 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dubai
Level Contributor
231 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Comfortable & Perfect”
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Although the hotel is away from the main hustle, but situated just at the perfect location from all the centre of attractions. The hotel as well provides free shuttle service to and fro to the city centre which just 5 minutes away. Very helpful and friendly staff, always willing to help. Comfortable sleep very clean room, although it's small, but worth the value.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saikiran9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, 24 May 2012
Dear Saikiran9,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua and for taking the time to place feedback on Trip Advisor.

It is good to know you enjoyed our ‘perfect location’ and were pleased with the cleanliness and comfort of your room. It is rewarding to know you have rested and slept well here, and consider our Hotel to provide good value for money.

Thank you for making mention of our staff. We value our team as one of our greatest assets, and it is pleasing to read that you found them to be helpful and friendly, and always willing to help.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Rotorua next time you travel our way.

Kindest regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    373
    172
    35
    11
See reviews for
233
372
26
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
86 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Big hotel that does pretty much every thing by the numbers. The lobby, the restaurant, the pool, your room and reception are everywhere you expect them to be. There is a level of professionalism amongst the staff and service that is commensurate with what one expects from a 4.5 star hotel and it all is delivered well.
Our room was impeccably clean and comfortable but you won't get a lot of character here, just a big hotel doing things pretty damn well.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, 24 May 2012
Dear Biggles63,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua and for taking the time to place feedback on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased you enjoyed the layout of our Hotel, and the comfort and cleanliness of your room. Also, that you found our staff professionalism, and service levels to be commensurate with our 4.5 star rating.

It is rewarding to know that you believe we do things ‘pretty damn well’ here. We thank you for taking the time to share your experience, and look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Rotorua next time you come to town.

Kindest regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockhampton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We stayed at the Holiday Inn in Rotorua for two nights in April. It was the end of our holiday in beautiful New Zealand. Unfortunately for me, I had the really bad experience of losing a very precious possession during my stay. The staff were wonderful in trying to locate the item, and also providing comfort for me during this distressful time. I can't thank them enough or praise them enough. They went out of their way to help. John was the Duty Manager on the morning of our departure and he was ably assisted by a beautiful lady whose name I failed to know because I was so distressed. They went above and beyond the call of duty. The hotel itself is clean, comfortable, and the food is great. the staff in the restaurant were equally friendly, obliging and cheerful. 10/10 for everything. Keep up the good work, Holiday Inn Rotorua.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Dear Rosemary A,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua and for taking the time to place feedback on Trip Advisor.

I can understand your distress in losing something that is precious to you. The more so in that you were away from your home, in unfamiliar surroundings and without having the luxury of time in being able to spend to locate the item. I was pleased to hear that our staff were of some comfort to you, and were able to offer you assistance at that time.

Thank you again for sharing your experience. It is rewarding to know that you enjoyed your stay here and rated us 10/10 for everything. We look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Rotorua next time you travel our way.

Kindest regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

This hotel is in a perfect location (next to Whakarewarewa Thermal Reserve). It's away from the noisy restaurants, bars and clubs, yet is only 5 mins drive away from the "action". They also provide a free shuttle to the city centre on demand.

Rooms are on the small side, but clean, comfortable and modern. The bed and choice of pillows were extra comfortable. Although the bath tub was also small, at least there was one. Many of the newer hotels only provide showers these days.

Parking was very easy and there was always a spot right outside the main enterance. Apart from that, there's also plenty of street parking if it gets too busy.
They have a large heated pool (warm but not too hot) and two spa pools (weren't operating on the day). Their fitness centre didn't look bad, however did not have time to use it.

Would recommend the buffet dinner at this hotel. At $43 it's on the high side, but worth every penny.

Finally, the service was excellent. From check in staff to waiters, they all were incredibaly customer focussed and friendly.

Would recommend this property to anyone, from business people to large groups. It should please most travellers.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Dear Stephen H,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua and for taking the time to place feedback on Trip Advisor.

We think we are in a perfect location too, next to the geothermal valley yet only 5 minutes drive from the city centre.

It is most rewarding to know that you received excellent service from our friendly staff, and that you consider our buffet to be good value for money.

I am pleased that you enjoyed the cleanliness of your room, and found the bed and pillows to be extra comfortable. It is so important be able to rest well when you are travelling and away from home.

Thank you again for your valuable feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Rotorua next time you come to town.

Kindest regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

My family and I stayed for one night. After a little delay upon check-in (due to a Wotif glitch) we were off to our rooms. We found the rooms clean and the beds super comfy. The staff were friendly and helpful and we made use of the shuttle service into the town centre. The only complaint would probably be that it is about 3km out of town - but this was okay as I booked it as a 'Mystery Deal'.

Room Tip: There are smoking and non-smoking rooms - of course no smoking inside the rooms but the smoking room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholaprps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Dear Nicholaprps,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua and for taking the time to place feedback on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased you enjoyed the cleanliness of the rooms, and the super comfy beds. We have received a great deal of positive feedback about the beds. It is good to know they were to your liking, and that you rested well here.

Thank you again for placing your valuable feedback on Trip Advisor. We look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Rotorua next time you come to stay with us.

Kindest regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Could not fault our stay, fantastic culture show which the family got involved with. our rooms faced of the pool. they are group turned up late and make to much noise in the pool very late at night the staff quickly got them out and we settles in the very comfy bed for the night :-) thanks for the fantastic stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelling_bug86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Dear travelling_bug86,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua and for taking the time to place feedback on Trip Advisor.

It is delightful to know that you all got involved and enjoyed the Cultural Show & Feast. I hope you are able to remember the moves you learned, to take back to share with your family and friends.

I am pleased that you enjoyed the comfort of your bed. It is good to know that the group who made a bit of noise, attempting to use the pool very late at night, were taken care of quickly by our staff, allowing you to enjoy a good nights rest – so important when you are travelling and away from home.

Thank you again for sharing your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Rotorua next time you travel our way.

Kindest regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
213 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012 via mobile

Great customer service, with a lovely warm greeting on arrival in a very nice lobby, and we were given coupns for complemantary drinks from the bar - a very nice touch. The room was clean and tidy, the beds and pillows were fabulous, and the services directory was one of the most comprehensive I have ever seen. The room was okay, but things just needed an update - the chrome had worn off the tap handles and the safety rails in the bathroom, the central heating was noisy and the panelling covering it was starting to come away from the ceiling. Disappointingly, room cleaning was rudimentary during the day, with coffee cups not being cleaned or replaced and no means provided for guests to clean them. The heated pool (33 degree Celsius) and spa pools were lovely and provided hours of entertainment for our children on a cool autumn day. The view from our room was fabulous. With so many accommodation choices in Rotorua, we might stay here again, but given the need for room upgrades, we could equally try somewhere else.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jscindc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Dear Jscindc,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua and for taking the time to place feedback on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased you enjoyed the customer service from our staff and the fabulous view from your room. Being next to a geothermal area, some of our fittings are subject to sulphur pitting, which gives the effect of a worn appearance, especially on the chrome surfaces, although this does not affect their functionality in any way.

It was disappointing to read of the rudimentary room clean, during your stay. You definitely ought to have had your used coffee cups cleaned and I apologise that we didn’t get that right for you.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide valuable feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Rotorua next time you travel our way.

Kindest regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
2.0 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.5 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
1.6 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.7 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#16 of 92 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.3 mi away
Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Rotorua

Property: Holiday Inn Rotorua
Address: 10 Tryon Street, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand (Formerly Heritage Rotorua)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Rotorua
#16 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#23 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holiday Inn Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Rotorua is a modern hotel overlooking the Whakarewarewa Thermal Reserve and Historical Village. It features: • A free to use heated swimming pool and health club. • Free parking. • Kids Eat and Stay Free. (Up to 2 children under 12.) • Free Wifi for IHG Rewards Club Members. The air-conditioned rooms of Holiday Inn Rotorua offer a modern design and cable TV with free movies and 2 children's channels. Tea and coffee making facilities are provided. The award winning Chapman’s Restaurant and Bar offers an a la carte menu, and buffet, and serves contemporary New Zealand cuisine, matched with a fine wine selection. Room service is available 24/7. The Rotorua Holiday Inn is situated close to all the city's attractions and offers free shuttle pickup from the Rotorua Tourism Information Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Heritage Hotel Rotorua
Rotorua Heritage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing