We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable Rotorua experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Ranked #18 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
GreenLeadersBronze level
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Memorable Rotorua experience”
Reviewed 31 October 2012

I stayed at Holiday Inn Rotorua for two nights. The hotel is situated right next to the thermal park on the south of the city, a few minutes drive from the center of town. It is literally over the fence in the backyard and my room overlooked the thermal village, one of the closest hotels to the thermal action. When I got out of my car and checked in, there was certainly an odor in the air, but nothing overpowering - when going to the lift I hit a strong pocket of gas and I got the joke. It was fine in the bar area and only very faint in the room (I kept the balcony door closed!), it's just where gas from the park gets trapped and lingers in the corridors at certain times and weather conditions. For sure a memorable stay - this is a "feature" of the hotel, part of the experience and I would stay here again for 1-2 nights on a future trip down the Thermal Explorer Highway.

Sulphur aside - the hotel room was very CLEAN AND QUIET; good bar/restaurant with a fire and buzzing due to the buffet and cultural show, friendly staff; interesting hotel/room location facing out to the park; and they have security patrol, so I felt my car was safe even though parked on street next to the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ringspa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, 4 November 2012
Dear ringspa,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua and for taking the time to place feedback on Trip Advisor. I am really pleased you had a memorable stay with us, jokes and all; and we look forward to welcoming you again the next time you travel our way and trip along the Thermal Explorer Highway.

Kindest regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    379
    174
    35
    12
See reviews for
236
375
27
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

I would pick just one plus. Location. You can see the geyser from your hotel window. The hotel is modern. Parking and WiFi is free. Breakfast is extra and it si quite pricey. You can walk to one of the geotermal area, but if you want visit downtown of Rotorua, you should take a taxi.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Horalka7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, 4 November 2012
Dear Horalka7,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua and for taking the time to place feedback on Trip Advisor. It’s good to know you enjoyed our location next to the thermal reserve, especially being able to see the geyser from your hotel window! Travel safely and we will look forward to welcoming you back the next time you travel our way.

Kindest regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Stayed at this hotel 3 nights and the rooms were very roomy and clean as was the ensuite with only the basic tea making facilities in the room. The staff at the front desk were very friendly and helpful. Found the bar menu preferable to the restaurant but this is because it suited our needs.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RockyWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, 25 October 2012
Dear RockyWellington,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua and for taking the time to place feedback on Trip Advisor. I am pleased you enjoyed our clean and spacious rooms, and friendly and helpful staff. It is good to know the bar menu suited your dining needs over your long stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Rotorua next time you come to town.

Kindest regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We were a group of 4 families who requested adjacent rooms months in advance. The staff at the front desk told us quite curtly that she had no knowledge of the request since the hotel was full for the long weekend. When we showed her the confirmation from wotif she asked us to take it up with them. In all we were quite disappointed by her behaviour.
A few hours later, we approached the same staff member who’s name we had by then noted – ‘Malissa [--]’ to ask her to warm up some food that one of our guests had brought with her due to her dietary restrictions. She flatly refused saying she would only warm food for babies, not for adults. We were shocked by Malissa’s tone of voice and overall demeanour with us - a customer. She made no effort to even listen, leave alone help resolve our problem. I don’t think she knows the first thing about customer service. I recommend re-training her in basics of customer communication or redeployment to a back-office function such as housekeeping, one that does not involve meeting a customer.
We paid good money to stay at the Holiday Inn Rotorua, certainly did not deserve this treatment from their staff.
One evening we witnessed her arguing with another guest in the lobby, in full view of other people about a damaged chair. Simply shocking!!

Manish

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Manish R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, 28 October 2012
Dear Manish R,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua and for taking the time to place your feedback on TripAdvisor. Following our recent discussions addressing your concerns, I trust that you are happy with the outcome and I look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Rotorua the next time you come to town.

Kindest Regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012 via mobile

This is your standard chain hotel with big comfy rooms and what you'd expect at a holiday inn. Rotorua is stinky but why complain about it? It's a geothermal area and that's what you get. Personally I liked staying closer to the geysers than to the centre of town, there is nothing exciting in central rotorua, it's a little bit bogan and apart from the lake there is no reason to stay where the action is. I would stay again at the holiday inn.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sosuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, 25 October 2012
Dear Sosuma,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua and for taking the time to place feedback on Trip Advisor. I am pleased you enjoyed our big comfy rooms, and close proximity to the geothermal reserve. It is great to know you would stay again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Rotorua when you return.

Kindest regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Stayed here for two nights with our 2 children. Found the front desk staff very frendly and eager to help.We had 2 rooms next to each other that were very clean and comfortable. We ate both nights at the buffet which we found to be reasonable value for money with a wide choice of dishes to choose from. Breakfast the same. As for the smell it was only present in the corriders,even then not that bad, but hey what do you expect, it is Rotorua. Kids loved the pool which was again clean. Only issue was the charge for the wi-fi which we didn't think we had used that much, there pricing is not clear.Would stay here again as it is a good family hotel with frendly staff.
Rod, Auckland

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, 14 October 2012
Dear Rod 127,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua and for taking the time to place feedback on Trip Advisor. It is good to know you found our staff to be friendly and helpful, and that you made good use of the facilities on offer. The free lobby Wi Fi is for 30MB or 30 minutes, whichever is used first; after that, please visit the staff at Reception who can advise you on the best plan for your usage. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience. I am pleased the kids loved the pool, and we appreciate being acknowledged as a good family hotel with friendly staff. We will certainly look forward to welcoming you all back next time you come to stay.

Kindest regards,
Marcus Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

My sister and i stayed at this hotel for 2 nights recently.

Reception staff upon check in were nice. Our hotel room was in the left wing of the hotel, past the pool and spa. The reception area, lobby and our hotel room appeared to smell reasonably nice, however the common areas leading to our hotel room literally stunk! We understood that Rotorua is a geo thermal area and close to the thermal village but this was just too much. I couldn't understand why some areas smelt okay whilst others were intolerable. We woke up both days with our room smelling awful and with blocked noses as the result.

The rooms and overall decor of the hotel could do with an update although everything was clean. Our beds very comfortable also. You can also do your own washing and drying at this hotel which is great also. Buffet breakfast was nice also and reasonably priced.

Something that really annoyed me was the apparent free wi fi for every guest. You receive 50 mb or 30 minutes, which ever is used first. Obviously, if you are accessing email, which i was, as soon as you open it, it automatically starts to download, therefore you have utilised your 50 mb in an instant. I complained about this and was provided with free wi fi for 30 minutes. Come on Holiday Inn, it's 2012. McDonalds has free wi fi, i suggest you consider this also being such a large international hotel chain as you are.

Would i stay here again? No. I am sure that there are other hotels similar in price, closer to town without the stench.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djk085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, 14 October 2012
Dear djk085,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua and for taking the time to place feedback on Trip Advisor. The scent of sulphur is a renowned aspect of a visit to Rotorua, and one of the features that make our area unique and memorable. One would not normally experience this scent within our fully air conditioned guest rooms, though depending on the atmospheric conditions prevalent at the time it can occasionally be detectable in the corridors, and noticeable in varying degrees in the surrounding environment. I am sorry that this was not a good experience for you, and I am pleased you enjoyed the buffet and comfortable beds.

I understand your Wi Fi frustrations and we are continually investigating ways of improving our Wi Fi service. The free Wi Fi is for 30 MB or 30 minutes, whichever is used first. When using this service to check emails, we have found you can minimise the usage by turning off your updates, so that the background processing is minimal. The rates we charge for usage outside of the free Wi Fi, is in line with other hotels in this destination who are charged by the local internet providers. We would not really be comparing apples with apples if we were to try to compete with McDonalds; it is great that they are able to offer their service free, however they have a relatively small space to occupy, compared to a hotel like ours with some 200 rooms, sprawling over much bigger property with numerous wings. From our experience, it is common practice in Hotels across Australasia for Wi Fi to be charged for – this has certainly been the case when we have stayed in other hotels across the Tasman. Going forward our charges may well change; for the moment though, our Wi Fi service will remain as is, in line with IHG policy. Thank you again for sharing your experience, we look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Rotorua next time you travel our way.

Kindest regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
2.0 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
1.6 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
689 reviews
1.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.7 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#16 of 92 in Rotorua
384 reviews
1.8 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Rotorua

Property: Holiday Inn Rotorua
Address: 10 Tryon Street, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand (Formerly Heritage Rotorua)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Rotorua
#16 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#23 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holiday Inn Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Rotorua is a modern hotel overlooking the Whakarewarewa Thermal Reserve and Historical Village. It features: • A free to use heated swimming pool and health club. • Free parking. • Kids Eat and Stay Free. (Up to 2 children under 12.) • Free Wifi for IHG Rewards Club Members. The air-conditioned rooms of Holiday Inn Rotorua offer a modern design and cable TV with free movies and 2 children's channels. Tea and coffee making facilities are provided. The award winning Chapman’s Restaurant and Bar offers an a la carte menu, and buffet, and serves contemporary New Zealand cuisine, matched with a fine wine selection. Room service is available 24/7. The Rotorua Holiday Inn is situated close to all the city's attractions and offers free shuttle pickup from the Rotorua Tourism Information Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, IHG, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Heritage Hotel Rotorua
Rotorua Heritage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing