We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most enjoyable visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Ranked #18 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We stayed 3 nights here recently and were most pleasantly impressed.
Customer service is clearly a high priority in this hotel; staff were very pleasant, friendly and helpful; was absolutely delighted to find the rooms were a very reasonable size and the bed/bedding were top quality - luxuriously comfortable. Room service was efficient and unobtrusive.
For our visit we found the bar meals more suited to our requirements; food presentation could not be faltered - perfectly pleasing.
Free halfhour daily wifi in the reception area (which is very spacious) - a bonus.
Will be back - and will try the pool this time - looks so inviting.
Distance from the city could be an issue for some travellers but personally we found being out of the city much quieter and relaxing.

Room Tip: Our room was southside on the second floor overlooking the swimming pool - very quiet in the morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DoodlesLowerHutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2012

Dear DoodlesLowerHutt,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua and for taking the time to place feedback on Trip Advisor. I am pleased you enjoyed the comfy bed and sizable room, and it is good to know you enjoyed a quiet and relaxing stay with us. Thank you for sharing your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you travel up this way.

Kindest regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (893)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

733 - 739 of 894 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2012

We stayed for two nights in inter-connecting rooms with our family of five. It was a very enjoyable stay, reception staff were friendly and efficient. Rooms were good with comfortable beds. We had a ground floor room at the rear of the hotel that overlooks some geysers. The kids enjoyed swimming in the very warm hotel pool.
Breakfast was very good if a little pricey. There is free Wi-fi for the first half hour in the lobby which works reasonably well. It is a little further from the centre of town than most motels/hotels in Rotorua.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2012

Dear Barry L,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua and for taking the time to place feedback on Trip Advisor. It is good to know you and your family had a very enjoyable stay with us, and that your kids had fun in our heated swimming pool, (always popular, especially with the youngsters). We appreciate you sharing your experience with us and look forward to welcoming you all back the next time you travel our way.

Kindest regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

I stayed at Holiday Inn Rotorua for two nights. The hotel is situated right next to the thermal park on the south of the city, a few minutes drive from the center of town. It is literally over the fence in the backyard and my room overlooked the thermal village, one of the closest hotels to the thermal action. When I got out of my car and checked in, there was certainly an odor in the air, but nothing overpowering - when going to the lift I hit a strong pocket of gas and I got the joke. It was fine in the bar area and only very faint in the room (I kept the balcony door closed!), it's just where gas from the park gets trapped and lingers in the corridors at certain times and weather conditions. For sure a memorable stay - this is a "feature" of the hotel, part of the experience and I would stay here again for 1-2 nights on a future trip down the Thermal Explorer Highway.

Sulphur aside - the hotel room was very CLEAN AND QUIET; good bar/restaurant with a fire and buzzing due to the buffet and cultural show, friendly staff; interesting hotel/room location facing out to the park; and they have security patrol, so I felt my car was safe even though parked on street next to the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ringspa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2012

Dear ringspa,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua and for taking the time to place feedback on Trip Advisor. I am really pleased you had a memorable stay with us, jokes and all; and we look forward to welcoming you again the next time you travel our way and trip along the Thermal Explorer Highway.

Kindest regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

I would pick just one plus. Location. You can see the geyser from your hotel window. The hotel is modern. Parking and WiFi is free. Breakfast is extra and it si quite pricey. You can walk to one of the geotermal area, but if you want visit downtown of Rotorua, you should take a taxi.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Horalka7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2012

Dear Horalka7,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua and for taking the time to place feedback on Trip Advisor. It’s good to know you enjoyed our location next to the thermal reserve, especially being able to see the geyser from your hotel window! Travel safely and we will look forward to welcoming you back the next time you travel our way.

Kindest regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Stayed at this hotel 3 nights and the rooms were very roomy and clean as was the ensuite with only the basic tea making facilities in the room. The staff at the front desk were very friendly and helpful. Found the bar menu preferable to the restaurant but this is because it suited our needs.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RockyWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2012

Dear RockyWellington,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua and for taking the time to place feedback on Trip Advisor. I am pleased you enjoyed our clean and spacious rooms, and friendly and helpful staff. It is good to know the bar menu suited your dining needs over your long stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Rotorua next time you come to town.

Kindest regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We were a group of 4 families who requested adjacent rooms months in advance. The staff at the front desk told us quite curtly that she had no knowledge of the request since the hotel was full for the long weekend. When we showed her the confirmation from wotif she asked us to take it up with them. In all we were quite disappointed by her behaviour.
A few hours later, we approached the same staff member who’s name we had by then noted – ‘Malissa [--]’ to ask her to warm up some food that one of our guests had brought with her due to her dietary restrictions. She flatly refused saying she would only warm food for babies, not for adults. We were shocked by Malissa’s tone of voice and overall demeanour with us - a customer. She made no effort to even listen, leave alone help resolve our problem. I don’t think she knows the first thing about customer service. I recommend re-training her in basics of customer communication or redeployment to a back-office function such as housekeeping, one that does not involve meeting a customer.
We paid good money to stay at the Holiday Inn Rotorua, certainly did not deserve this treatment from their staff.
One evening we witnessed her arguing with another guest in the lobby, in full view of other people about a damaged chair. Simply shocking!!

Manish

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Manish R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2012

Dear Manish R,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua and for taking the time to place your feedback on TripAdvisor. Following our recent discussions addressing your concerns, I trust that you are happy with the outcome and I look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Rotorua the next time you come to town.

Kindest Regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012 via mobile

This is your standard chain hotel with big comfy rooms and what you'd expect at a holiday inn. Rotorua is stinky but why complain about it? It's a geothermal area and that's what you get. Personally I liked staying closer to the geysers than to the centre of town, there is nothing exciting in central rotorua, it's a little bit bogan and apart from the lake there is no reason to stay where the action is. I would stay again at the holiday inn.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sosuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2012

Dear Sosuma,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua and for taking the time to place feedback on Trip Advisor. I am pleased you enjoyed our big comfy rooms, and close proximity to the geothermal reserve. It is great to know you would stay again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Rotorua when you return.

Kindest regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.6 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
747 reviews
2 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
1.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#8 of 92 in Rotorua
468 reviews
1.8 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#25 of 92 in Rotorua
832 reviews
1.9 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Rotorua

Address: 10 Tryon Street, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand (Formerly Heritage Rotorua)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Rotorua
#16 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#22 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £82 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holiday Inn Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Rotorua is a modern hotel overlooking the Whakarewarewa Thermal Reserve and Historical Village. It features: • A free to use heated swimming pool and health club. • Free parking. • Kids Eat and Stay Free. (Up to 2 children under 12.) • Free Wifi for IHG Rewards Club Members. The air-conditioned rooms of Holiday Inn Rotorua offer a modern design and cable TV with free movies and 2 children's channels. Tea and coffee making facilities are provided. The award winning Chapman’s Restaurant and Bar offers an a la carte menu, and buffet, and serves contemporary New Zealand cuisine, matched with a fine wine selection. Room service is available 24/7. The Rotorua Holiday Inn is situated close to all the city's attractions and offers free shuttle pickup from the Rotorua Tourism Information Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, IHG, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Heritage Hotel Rotorua
Rotorua Heritage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing